1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

noob

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by littlec7821, Dec 5, 2006.

1. littlec7821

littlec7821 Chieftain

help me im a noob.... anyway.... when i start off playing im usually doing fine with expanding and building and technologically advancing and getting gold. but usually once i start getting into a game i lose money and i end up with 0 money and -300 or something per turn. how do i prevent this from happening/get more money if this does happen? oh and is it bad that it was like, 2020 when i finally got to the industrail age? how can i advance quicker?

2. Elear

Elear Aux armes citoyens

My advice would be to go read the CFC War Academy on the main site. You might learn a few things there ;) (The War Academy is not just about war)

3. madviking

madviking north american scum

First, if you have a happiness problem, don't build temples, cathedrils, etc. Don't 20,000 units per city, usually at most 1 defensive unit and a couple of offensive, next raise your sci slider when you have alot of money and lower when you don't. Don't switch to republic if you have alot of units, units ther cost 2 gold and each city has a low unit support, switch to Monarchy/Commy/something along those line, build roads to increase commerce, build markets and banks, build courthouses anywhere that is corrputed

4. Turner

Turner Deity Retired Moderator

This is the kind of situation where uploading a save file would help out, and people can see what you're doing and give better advice.

5. vmxa

vmxa Deity Supporter

Do read some of the articles in the War Acad. The problems you discribe are very common. It stems from not getting your empire to use it's land properly.