1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Pie AE K-MOD merge Project

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Ancient Europe' started by keldath, May 4, 2021.

  1. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,911
    Location:
    israel
  2. brettschmitt

    brettschmitt Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    136
    Gender:
    Male
    Animals should walk around all over the place (also in player territory), but only attack in 33% of the cases.
    (It's depending on the difficulty settings atm. Maybe go from 25 to 50% over the levels)

    Watchtowers, Forts, etc. should not be attacked.
    Also Cities are save (or if you find a solution with palisade/wall, etc. would be cool)

    Just got the OK from Pie!
     
  3. brettschmitt

    brettschmitt Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    136
    Gender:
    Male
    With the current new version from yesterday, animals are totally passive!

    All predators are fortifying forever and only attacking one tile around them.
    Other animals (e.g. camels) are not fleeing from the player anymore... just sitting there... walking around every few turns, not noticing the player at all!

    I'd say:
    - animals should realm the whole map, not even noticing player's borders.
    - when predators seeing a player unit, they should approach... but only attack 33% of the cases
    - when other (prey) animals seeing a player unit, they should walk away


    _____________________
    We have a really lively discussions in the German forum about different things... many of them are about AI behaviour... and that we are glad to have you!
    Maybe you could make things happen, that always have been said beeing impossible.

    So to say again: I'm really happy that you are helping PAE with such an effort!




    [EDIT] As for animal/barbarian spawning... I think Pie already has his own spawn points for animals, as well as for barbarians. There even are special features like Barbarian Fort, Bear Cave, etc. for that. So I don't know if that pesky thing will hlep us very much...
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2021
  4. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,911
    Location:
    israel
    hey,

    so, animals passive,
    i wonder - can you get me a save game? i can track what are the ai commands its doing and improve it.

    thats cool.

    well, PIE deserves it.
    also, i like to do what i can for civ4.

    i understand,

    ok,
    ill focus on animals now,
    waiting for a save game.
     
  5. Flunky

    Flunky Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    I find that really curious, because for me, animals behave well. Not as suicidal as with AI_ATTACK, but they are attacking from the beginning and snack my hunters.

    I did some fixes to the Unit.xml, but nothing that changes behaviour. For now, animals should stay UNITCOMBAT_MELEE, so the promotions work. There is no UNITCOMBAT_ANIMAL where promotions could help.
     
  6. brettschmitt

    brettschmitt Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    136
    Gender:
    Male
    That's strange Flunky.
    Attached is my actual save. Camels at least walk around every few turns, rest of the animals are standing on one plot most of the time...
     

    Attached Files:

  7. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,911
    Location:
    israel
    I wont have time before the weekend guys.
    But ill look more on tge ai code for animals.
    Maube ill create a new fn for it with adjustments
     
  8. brettschmitt

    brettschmitt Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    136
    Gender:
    Male
    There is no promotion that gives strength against melee! Only Hunters and I think Speermen have a simple +x% against them.
    So I think that could be easily changed from 'against melee' to 'against animals'... or do I miss anything?

    The only other melee unit that I know is the 'Gefolge' in German. Don't know what's called in English...
    That was kind of a good thing, though. Gefolge is a mixture of different speer-, axe-, or swordsmen (the three melee categories). That means, nobody has strength against them, since there is no melee promotion ;)
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2021
  9. Flunky

    Flunky Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Ok, if there's no promotion against melee-animals anyway, I'll change them to real animals :D

    For the animal behaviour, are you certain you are using the most recent dll? Are you using the version with or without Asserts?
     
  10. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,911
    Location:
    israel
    I only pushed debug dll, i removed the first ones
     
  11. brettschmitt

    brettschmitt Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    136
    Gender:
    Male
    I'm using this version. Should be the most recent one... 7-Jun-21, 9.15pm

    Asserts are on (as you can see in my thread). But I never turned anything on...it's your dll, that has turned on that Assert Messages...

    upload_2021-6-9_21-26-7.png



    [EDIT] Or wait! I've only copied the Assets folder... do I also need the other things in the -main folder?
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2021
  12. Flunky

    Flunky Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Assets should be fine. Very strange.
     
  13. brettschmitt

    brettschmitt Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    136
    Gender:
    Male
    Do you have the passive animals too with that save?
     
  14. Flunky

    Flunky Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Yes, but not with my save.
     
  15. brettschmitt

    brettschmitt Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    136
    Gender:
    Male
    Hmmm... that would mean, I have some option or setting on my Civ version, that you don't have?
    What could that be?

    Will try to start a new game on a different map and see what happens to animals.


    Tried it on the standard Eurasia map. No difference... This Pather is already 10% fortified. So hasen't moved since spawn...

    upload_2021-6-9_23-57-20.png



    What could be the problem here?
    I have Level Prince, but that should not matter anyway...
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2021
  16. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,911
    Location:
    israel
    Ill add a version from now on to the dll so every body will be aligned.
    Will show on the flag banner hover
     
  17. brettschmitt

    brettschmitt Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    136
    Gender:
    Male
    I think, we are using the same version... it has to be something else on my end. When I start a new game, animals are passive (at the moment)... strange

    But I don't mid... I'm on my way to Super Forts. Animals would only slow me down anyway ;)



    [EDIT] Just got another idea for animals: They should not (or only very rarely) cross rivers!



    [EDIT2] Another thing I noticed: Camels that I've captured, can't enter my borders... so probably all animals can't.
    Strange, that it's only for me (so far - not many people tried, yet)
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2021
  18. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,911
    Location:
    israel
    dont worry,

    when ill get to checking your save. i will put break points debug and ill see what are the ai steps that prohibit it from moving around.
     
  19. brettschmitt

    brettschmitt Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Messages:
    136
    Gender:
    Male
    You also have implemented 'Land units walk on Ice', right?

    I'm just thinking about that... and I think it should be very hard to go over Ice... or coming with a later Tech, or something.
    Because when you can run on ice easily from turn one, it will lead to stupid results: as Scandinavia would be colonized by East Goths, or by the Britains...
     
  20. keldath

    keldath LivE LonG AnD PrOsPeR

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,911
    Location:
    israel
    well the ice has damage from it , so its not so easy.
     

Share This Page