Platy's Peculiar Pleasant Posh Python

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Mod Components' started by platyping, Jun 2, 2013.

  1. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    Something like this'ish ?

    Or would it be better with OR
    either civ specific OR era specific?

    Ancient Rock
    Spoiler :

    Classical Marble
    Spoiler :

    Medieval Parchment
    Spoiler :

    Renaissance Silk
    Spoiler :

    Industrial Rust
    Spoiler :

    Modern Steel
    Spoiler :

    Future Circuit
    Spoiler :
     
  2. Monaldinio

    Monaldinio Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    415
    Location:
    Rostock
    :goodjob: Oh man, could be my idea
     
  3. platyping

    platyping Sleeping Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,626
    Location:
    Emerald Dreams
    @Vincent
    Ah you meant the overlay pic, not the background itself :D

    I thought you meant, for instance China
    Ancient background would probably be Great Wall
    Classical maybe Silk Road
    Modern maybe Shanghai Tower
    etc

    That would be hard to find suitable pics :D
    I am fine with your idea, but it will indeed still require 200+ pics :D
     
  4. Monaldinio

    Monaldinio Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    415
    Location:
    Rostock
    Thanks again for the IDEA!!!
    15min later...
     

    Attached Files:

  5. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    yeah, its a bit much with 200+ pics (not to make it, as it requires a small function in photoshop) but it will require a lot of space. Especially because the previous pics were low'ish resolution, and I wanted to up them a bit to 2048x1024 (1025KB/pic) instead of 1024x512 (257KB/pic). So I decided to make Era OR civ specific.

    Ancient rock :
    Spoiler :

    Classical Marble
    Spoiler :

    Medival Parchment

    Renaissance Silk
    Spoiler :

    Industrial Bolted metal plate
    Spoiler :

    Modern Steel
    Spoiler :

    Future Circuitboard
    Spoiler :


    Link to image gallery
     
  6. Lib.Spi't

    Lib.Spi't Overlord of the Wasteland

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,708
    Location:
    UK
    the simplest thing to do if you want to go through with it is release it as an add on pack, that you can merge into the UI with all the right folder structure etc. Some people may enjoy it, and with the ridiculous size of hard drives these days and download speeds, the size may not be that big of a deal to a lot of people.
     
  7. platyping

    platyping Sleeping Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,626
    Location:
    Emerald Dreams
    Era AND Civ specific in your style may be problematic for other users because they wouldn't be able to make similar ones for new civs in their mod on their own since they don't have access to the overlay pics.

    Actually, Era OR Civ was in Ultrapack in old edition, where I simply use the era movie as the era specific background. Putting the codes back is pretty simple.
     
  8. Lib.Spi't

    Lib.Spi't Overlord of the Wasteland

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,708
    Location:
    UK
  9. platyping

    platyping Sleeping Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,626
    Location:
    Emerald Dreams
    Ultrapack changes:

    1) Added new graphic option:
    Enabled = Civ Specific Background (Default)
    Disabled = Era Specific Background

    2) Renamed Civ Specific Backgrounds in Art Define Interface to make the python codes simpler

    File Changes:
    CvOptionsScreen, CvMainInterface, all advisor screens
    UltraPack_CIV4ArtDefines_Interface, UltraPack_CIV4GraphicOptionInfos, Ultrapack_CIV4GameText
     
  10. platyping

    platyping Sleeping Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,626
    Location:
    Emerald Dreams
    Great People Mod

    Features:
    Displays a picture of the respective Great People when he/she is born.
    Original mod by Patricius



    Changes:
    1) Removed all other features like random name generator.
    2) Only 2 python files necessary, simpler for merging.
    3) Works with all languages, unlike original which changes all GP names to English to work.
    4) Added pic/movie location to ArtDefineMovie rather than hard coded in python.

    P.S.
    I only bothered to define 6 Great Engineers for testing purposes.
    Can't be bothered to do it for all 200+ GPs.
    All the pics can be obtained from original mod provided by Roamty's BTS version though.... so whoever is bored can define all the Art Defines :D
     
  11. isenchine

    isenchine Empress

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,774
    Location:
    Brussels, Belgium
    Looks great! :goodjob:

    but... wait... your pic is a bit confusing: Imhotep or Heron?
     
  12. platyping

    platyping Sleeping Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,626
    Location:
    Emerald Dreams
    Heron... I spawned 3 GEs for testing.
     
  13. dacubz145

    dacubz145 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,730
    Location:
    Windy City
    In platypedia, if a building is required to be on the coast, the "*valid with coast" does not start a new line and simply attaches itself to the last thing listed

    Not a problem for me as I fixed it, but just thought id let you know
     
  14. platyping

    platyping Sleeping Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,626
    Location:
    Emerald Dreams
    1) Report in correct thread.
    2) Use latest version.
     
  15. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
    Well, hey :D its me again ;)

    2 suggestions :
    1) City specialists being worked.
    I think its difficult to see whenever a city specialst is being worked. My suggestion would be (and dono if its possible) to either bold the numbers whenever there is one active, or to fade image of specialist to 50% (illustrated by the faded scientist next to the normal one) whenever there isn't. The easiest would be the bold i guess (?)

    Spoiler :


    2) Min and Max movement points left shown in left bottom whenever a stack is selected.
    Spoiler :
     
  16. platyping

    platyping Sleeping Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,626
    Location:
    Emerald Dreams
    Min and max requires looping through the whole stack to determine the value.
    Not really a wise addition
     
  17. Lib.Spi't

    Lib.Spi't Overlord of the Wasteland

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,708
    Location:
    UK
    Hi plenty, I was wondering if you might consider the addition of a 'cannot build' filter in the city screen.

    In FTTW we have a lot of buildings that cannot be built in certain types of city, and it would be nice if the player could switch those on and off, I really like the filter options you have :D

    I thought it might already be there when saw the 'crossed circle' icon in the filters, but it doesn't do that.
     
  18. vincentz

    vincentz Programmer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denmark
  19. platyping

    platyping Sleeping Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,626
    Location:
    Emerald Dreams
    1) Buildings that can never be built normally, will not appear in the Built List at the bottom. Eg GP buildings like academy or religious wonders.
    Unless you are talking about the list of buildings built at left column, that is another story.

    So... I don't really understand :D

    2) Min/Max Stack Movement will definitely not appear in Ultrapack because Cost > Benefits.
    Imagine a SoD of 300 units outside a city. Everytime I bombarb the city with one unit, I have to loop through the entire SoD to update the Min/Max. Not worth doing.

    3) Specialist. Looking for the best way to display that, if necessary. The clearest way is to remove civ specific colours from it. 0 = White, >1 = Green, Cannot Alter = Red
     
  20. platyping

    platyping Sleeping Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    4,626
    Location:
    Emerald Dreams
    Ultrapack

    1) Specialists
    Simply bolded for time being

    2) Field of View
    Rearrange the buttons and rephrase the hover text for easier understanding of zoom in/out

    3) City Zoom In Distance
    Added something similar to FoV when City Screen Up.
    These 2 values are different. Currently, the City Zoom won't be refreshed until you reopen the screen.
     

Share This Page