Reading the rules on selling cities, it says that you can reacquire gifted cities, as long as you didn't sell them. What I want to verify, before I waste my time, is whether this would be considered an exploit in the following context: Culture victory via total domination. Step 1) Capture/raze every city on the map except one capital. (Lisbon for example) Make peace. Step 2) Gift the first capital you took to Portugal. (Venice for example) Step 3) Wait for peace treaty to expire and recapture Venice, liberating it. Step 4) Capture Lisbon. Step 5) Music bomb Venice. Basically, what I'm trying to achieve is an early cultural victory by music-bombing an opponent who hasn't been around to gather culture. To do this, I (or someone) has to wipe them out, then later restore a capital. If this is considered an exploit, I'll do it the hard way, which is to say: Fill the map with equal parts warmongers and victims (I'm looking at you Venice!) to ensure someone gets wiped out. But, before I wasted my time attempting what is a very non-trivial strategy to execute, I wanted to confirm that at least one of these two approaches wouldn't be considered an exploit.