Question - Floating texts on map

Leodim

Warlord
Hello,

Not sure where in which subforum of civ 4 modding this should go (a general section for mod makers helping each other), so I post it here.

I just wanted to know if there is an existing mod that include floating text on the main view/map, before I try to do my own.

My goal here is to make a bit like ARPG damages where they appear like floating text, but above the tile any unit died at turn start. For example if 4 units died in the tile show a short floating text saying "-4" there.
Has it been done? I searched in BUGmod and a few other places and didn't find anything.

I'm a decent modder/cpp game developer so, if my goal hasnt been done already, ANY floating text on the map would be a great start for me.
Because while I feel confident to do the logic part and storing the infos, and delaying display etc. it would still save me the trouble (if doable) to create text, then floating text, over civ4 main view from scratch.

Thanks in advance!

EDIT : I'm not a civ4 expert though, and if there actually already is something looking like floating text on the map in raw civ4/btw, please let me know. The closer I saw was city names, which is not floating and quite specific.
EDIT2 : Signs (where you can place a signpost on the map) is the only other text on mainscreen I can think about. Looking at the sdk, I only found clearSigns() to be exposed. So far not much luck with texts over map.

Last edited:
So far I've found CyEngine().addSign, which works fine python side. But CyEngine doesn't seem to be in the sdk (or am I missing something?).
Also since it is unsourced, no way to modify it like "change color" (it uses the player seeing the sign's color), aspect, relative pos to plot and so on.
Maybe I'm dumb but I couldn't find any c++ source related to Signs/texts on map in the SDK.