1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Questions & Answers

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rhye's and Fall of Civilization' started by Rhye, Jul 8, 2006.

  1. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
  2. Rossiya

    Rossiya Fridge Magnet Porn

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    Messages:
    6,981
    can i just a question about the gameplay?

    the immigrants going to america, are they from the poorer civs in the world, or just from random ones?
     
  3. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    they are from a random city of one of the poorest and unhappy civs of the world that have contact with America.
    Playing as America, you'll see where they come from looking at the % of population of immigrants
     
  4. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    19,752
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Just downloaded your MOD today and when i tried to play it, it started at 3000BC and kept going backwards "by itself" and did not stop, whats this all about? Would not let me play the game because of this.
    Dont know what area to ask for sure?
     
  5. HÄI

    HÄI Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    If you pick any civ but China, Egypt or India you will start later than 3000BC and the Ai will play to the point when you start, for example Arabia starts at 600AD or so and USA at the 17th century. The loading time ranges from a few minutes with, say, Greece to perhaps half an hour if you start as a civ which appears very late.
     
  6. Methos

    Methos HoF Quattromaster Super Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    13,100
    Location:
    Missouri
    Two ways to notice when it'll stop. On the start up screen where you pick your civ, if you mouse over the civ it states in what year the game will start. I believe it also states it when you pick the civ.

    The biggest one is when the game has started or is loading. During that time the years are passing by you'll still have the "Test of Time" screen showing. As I recall the first line states what year the game will start at. I usually start the game and than wander off until it's ready.
     
  7. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    19,752
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Got it,thx. will give it a shot later tonite.

    EDIT: Played it, its ok, hated the fifteen minute wait for the USA to start, and whats the deal with the 13 Star flag for the USA?
     
  8. Vishaing

    Vishaing The Son

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    347
    Hey Rhye, this was the only place I could think of to put this.

    Did you know and/or intend it that farms can only be built on floodplains after Biology? They can still be built to get wheat, but never just on a 'normal' flood plain. This severely weakens the Fertile Crescent because with no farms + so many cities, none of the cities ever seem to get very large.
     
  9. Barak

    Barak Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,486
    Location:
    Chicago
    Don't flood plains get 3 food without irrigation? Seems like enough food early on to me.
     
  10. Gunner

    Gunner Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,389
    Location:
    Goochland, VA
    I like how flood plains can't build farms. It prevents those cities from becoming super monsters. Now they can just get as big as any other city with lots of grasslands, just the flood plains get an early game bonus of not requiring you to build the farms.
     
  11. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America

    what's wrong with it?
     
  12. strategyonly

    strategyonly C2C Supreme Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    19,752
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    MN
    Well since i was in the military defending the USA for over 20 years, i never once and never will see a flag of such always has been red/white/blue and always will be. Even Betsy Ross' flag where it all started was r/w/b. The flag i think you are using is supposed to be an UN flag, but the UN will NEVER be the USA flag, for that matter anyother country either. This is "my" opinion ok.

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=132065&d=1152465453
     
  13. Lachlan

    Lachlan Great Builder of Civs !

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,072
    Location:
    European Union
    When next version arrive ? ....

    It is very cool the system of refusing flipping :D

    French has been éliminated by Romans (me)

    Spanish invaded by me too
     
  14. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America

    This is NOT supposed to be the UN flag.

    This is just a replacement for the single star, which has little more in common with USA than with other nations (what about the red star on USSR tanks and planes?). 13 stars for USA is more appropriate than 1 star.
    And it's a replacement that is coherent with the format civ4 is using by default (2-colours symbol with alpha-channel). I'm not using modern one-pole flag like the one you posted.
     
  15. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America

    hopefully today.

    The new system isn't about refusing flipping (that's already implemented), it's the congress system.
     
  16. Barak

    Barak Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,486
    Location:
    Chicago
    Rhye, considering that RFC090 is close in number to version 1.0, are we that close to releasing the mod, or will 1.0 NOT be the "golden" version. Afterall, in RoC and RoCX we were constantly tweaking the final product.

    It always sucks to abandon a good game when a new version comes out :)
     
  17. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,691
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Perhaps 1.0 would be the "final" one for vanilla civ, as the mod will continue to improve upon the warlords content...
     
  18. Arkaeyn

    Arkaeyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    nomad, USA
    It does seem to be going that way, doesn't it?
     
  19. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    i don't know yet
     
  20. Barak

    Barak Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,486
    Location:
    Chicago
    Strange, when I loaded 090 it reset some settings in my Config.ini file
     

Share This Page