1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Turner, Aug 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AAsiK

    AAsiK Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    The Grandest State
    Could someone help me with writing my Scenario Search Folders line? I don't understand it.
     
  2. splunge the 2nd

    splunge the 2nd King

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    741
    Thanks EMan. Lightning fast reply!!!

    Anyone with advice on installation/mods in Complete?
     
  3. watorrey

    watorrey Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rochester, NY, USA
    AAsiK, you may want to spend some time in the creation & customization forums and ask your questions there. Different expansion packs have different file extentions. Vanilla = .bic, PTW = .bix, C3C = .biq and the default search path will be different for each version. Basically it searches the scenario folder with the same name first then the game folders for the files it is looking for. You use the search folders line if you want it to search in a different place or order. I forgot the exact usage of it.
     
  4. manooly

    manooly Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    200
    What is "keepres=1"? I have a 1280X800 widescreen laptop that I just installed Civ3 on. Will this help me? Where do I put it? Any info is appreciated. Thanks!
     
  5. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,879
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    It goes in the ini file. It will let the game play at the desktop setting.
     
  6. BarendC

    BarendC Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Hi you all

    I have a noob question for youall

    how do i enter the editor??
     
  7. hrhomer

    hrhomer Fat Guy

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    195
    What does this mean, exactly? What is the exact file it goes into? I can't find anything in my civ folders that fits.

    C3Complete, BTW.

    Joe

    EDIT: Never mind, I figured it out, thanks!

    Joe
     
  8. sirdanilot

    sirdanilot BBcode owns in sigs!

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    977
    Location:
    Terneuzen, The Netherlands
    Start - Program Files - [The folder that contains your civ3 folder] - Civilization 3 - Civ3 Edit

    Or search it in some other way.

    This varies from computer to computer.

    You can, for some reason, not enter it in the game itself, you have to do it like this. If you plan to enter it more often, just copy it to your desktop.
     
  9. Leowind

    Leowind Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2000
    Messages:
    1,236
    Location:
    Eugene, OR, USA
    So what's the deal with Coastal Fortresses? I have yet to see one bombard an enemy ship, and if one of my cities gets bombarded by an enemy ship the first thing that always seems to happen is "coastal fortress destroyed," with no harm ever done to the bombarding ship. I have yet to see that a coastal fortress does anything. Have I wasted my time (and sheilds) building coastal fortresses in most of my coastal cities?
     
  10. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,879
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    In a word, yes do not build them.
     
  11. Leowind

    Leowind Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2000
    Messages:
    1,236
    Location:
    Eugene, OR, USA
    So coastal fortresses provide no benefits whatsoever, or only minimal benefits that are not worth the expense of building them?
     
  12. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,879
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    That pretty much sums it up. The Ai will tendto stay away form them or bust them.
     
  13. Ansar

    Ansar Détente avec l'été

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    10,555
    Location:
    Ithaca, NY (soon)
    Can you still get War Hapiness if you are in a government that doesen't produce War Weariness?
     
  14. Tone

    Tone Deity Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,548
    Location:
    Singapore
    Yes. I often look to get this to help me out in Despotism. You'll see this confirmed in Oystein's article in the War Acadamy in that he states that all governments can get a -1 WW rating.

    On coastal fortreses, has anybody seen one work?
     
  15. Leowind

    Leowind Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2000
    Messages:
    1,236
    Location:
    Eugene, OR, USA
    What is war happiness??
     
  16. EMan

    EMan HOFer: Milk-Cow? Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,923
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver/Phoenix Born:Hampton Court
    When an AI declares war on you, you get a happiness boost in all your cities!...........IIRC it's like adding a "temple" (viz. -1 WW?) to all your cities (without the culture or maintenance cost, of course). ;)
     
  17. Leowind

    Leowind Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2000
    Messages:
    1,236
    Location:
    Eugene, OR, USA
    Which actually brings up a question that's been on my mind. I haven't reviewed all of the war academy yet, so perhaps the answer is there, but are there tricks to getting the AI to attack you? In CivII you could goad another civ into attacking you (most of the time), but I haven't yet found the trick in CivIII.
     
  18. EMan

    EMan HOFer: Milk-Cow? Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,923
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver/Phoenix Born:Hampton Court
    Yes, you can goad the AI into attacking you. When he has a unit in your territory keep asking him to "Withdraw or Declare War" (on the Diplomacy Screen [F4]). :)
     
  19. Leowind

    Leowind Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2000
    Messages:
    1,236
    Location:
    Eugene, OR, USA
    Yes, but that only works if s/he has a unit in your territory, and assumes you don't have a RoP. Any tricks for either of those situations?
     
  20. EMan

    EMan HOFer: Milk-Cow? Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,923
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver/Phoenix Born:Hampton Court
    If you play on a high enough level or have a weak enough military, the AI will get around to making Demands, then Declaring War on You!

    Sorry, can't give you any more tips...........I'm more of an offensive-genocidal player! :lol:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page