1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Turner, Aug 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tone

    Tone Deity Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,548
    Location:
    Singapore
    If you want to just try them out, COTM7 was with Austria. Also take a look in the GOTM forum as there was a bonus game to give players a chance to play a small game with them.
     
  2. Kool Keith

    Kool Keith Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    I am not able to request a ROP with a rival civ. I have an embassy in their capital, we both have writing...I don't get it. Anything I am missing?
     
  3. EMan

    EMan HOFer: Milk-Cow? Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,923
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver/Phoenix Born:Hampton Court
    Map Making? ;)
     
  4. Kool Keith

    Kool Keith Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    Silly me. :blush: :D
     
  5. btfx

    btfx Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    362
    Ok, I have been wanting to ask this for a while, you know this screen:
    Spoiler :

    1. What improves your ranking in the top 5 cities?
    2. How is approval rating calculated?
    3. Is population your citizens * 1000? Do workers and/or settlers count?
    4. How is GNP calculated?
    5. How is MFG Goods calculated?
    6. Is land area = to the # of tiles you have? Do coast and/or sea tiles count?
    7. How is literacy calculated?
    8. How is disease calculated?
    9. Is pollution just the # of polluted tiles you have?
    10. How is life expectancy calculated?
    11. How is family size calculated?
    12. How is military service calculated?
    13. How is annual income calculated?
    14. Is productivity just the sum of all shields?

    15. Do rankings in all these things roughly increase your score?
     
  6. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
  7. Scratcher

    Scratcher Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,450
    Location:
    Deep in the Jungle
    I do not know how to link things but this was explained in a thread in the war acadamy (by Bamspeedy IIRC)
     
  8. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    Which is what I linked to. ;)
     
  9. EMan

    EMan HOFer: Milk-Cow? Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,923
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver/Phoenix Born:Hampton Court
    NO!.......They have no bearing on the game, just aesthetic.......kinda like the "Palace Screen". (Viz. F9 Key.) ;)
     
  10. Scratcher

    Scratcher Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,450
    Location:
    Deep in the Jungle
    I know. I was interupted while writing my reply. I probably should have rechecked prior to posting, but two answers are better than none!!
     
  11. btfx

    btfx Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    362
    Wow, thanks guys, that explains just about all of it, but what makes a city "better" or "worse" in regard to the top 5?
     
  12. Twonky

    Twonky King

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    671
    Location:
    Hannover, Germany
    The top 5 is simply ranking by culture. Population is used as a tie-breaker iirc.
     
  13. Aceman101

    Aceman101 Emperor

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,522
    ^ Yes, I recently figured this out when I was wondering why a different city had a higher place in the "Cities" screen when I had 2 more wonders in my city. So I investigated it and realised it had much more culture per turn.
     
  14. Yui108

    Yui108 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,590
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ooops! So sorry, now I see it's in FAq. Sorry
     
  15. AAsiK

    AAsiK Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    The Grandest State
    Um, I'm working on a mod with changed Resource icons (um, I think from the TETurkan mods-- which are the most thorough anyway) and when I reopen the .bic file the resources are reset to the default icons.

    So I reload a TETurkan file, import everything to that file and save it again, but it resets back to the defualt. PLEASE tell me how to fix this. It screws over everything that I worked on...

    I have a faint Idea why this is going on. the TETurkan mod is a .bix file, while the file I'm working on is .bic. Would that screw it up? In anyway?
    I have the Atari version, Civ III Complete. FYI.
     
  16. pickle

    pickle Lord of the Preserves

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    what are military police?
    i have never figured it out

    thanks
     
  17. Bartleby

    Bartleby Remembers laughter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,353
    Location:
    Englishman in Cork
    Depending on your government, a certain number of military units may make unhappy citizens become content; One MP unit = 1 content citizen.
     
  18. pickle

    pickle Lord of the Preserves

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    236
    Location:
    Aotearoa
    ok i thought it was something that you accessed through the city screen like the draft or rushing production

    cheers
     
  19. splunge the 2nd

    splunge the 2nd King

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    741
    I'm new to Civ 3 and after trying it and hitting the no CD bug with patching, went on to get Civ 3 Complete. What version is it? The openning screen simply says Complete without a version number. Does it need patching? I'm also interested in playing mods, but I've found some don't work (Star Trek specifically)properly/instal properly as Complete is in Atari file, not Firaxis. Anyone have a suggestion on perhaps reinstalling or advice on installing mods?

    Thanks for any help!
     
  20. EMan

    EMan HOFer: Milk-Cow? Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,923
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver/Phoenix Born:Hampton Court
    Civ 3 Complete has the Final Versions of Civ 3 Vanilla, PTW & C3C.......No patches required. :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page