1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Turner, Aug 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Keroro

    Keroro Dororo: Ninja Frog

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,789
    Location:
    The Hinata Residence
    I believe that the more effective method is to wait until they have units in your territory, then repeatedly (about 20 times) make a demand for one of their cities, then ask them to withdraw or declare war. Works almost every time. :) Of course I believe that some players think that this is an exploit and would therefore not consider it.
     
  2. EMan

    EMan HOFer: Milk-Cow? Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,923
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver/Phoenix Born:Hampton Court
    I like that tip, Keroro. :mischief:
     
  3. Tone

    Tone Deity Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,548
    Location:
    Singapore
    ...and if they don't have units inside your territory you can still make your demands to get them furious and then wait for them to declare war some turns later, which is fine as long as you can afford to be patient about such things.

    Another possibility is to declare war on a far away civ and wait for them to build alliances against you.

    Neither of these is 100% successful but it can be worth trying out if they are not crossing your lands and you are more interested in getting WW than in conquering their territories.

    Iit can be more powerful than this. In Oystein's article he says you get +25% happiness boost. I thought that it was 1 happiness point for every three citizens before checking but either way you get no benefit in very small towns but large cities and metros can get a massive boost to happiness. It can be worth several luxes if your core cities are pretty large and can also induce WLTKD. If you get several rivals to declare upon you, your cities will be setting off fireworks all over the place!
     
  4. Scratcher

    Scratcher Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,450
    Location:
    Deep in the Jungle
    Getting the AI to declare war early in the game can be a big boost to your empire if you can handle the war. The happiness generated means you can put more funds into research or support a larger military.

    You can "lure" the AI into your territory by:
    Leaving space for settlers.
    Leaving border cities undefended (but defenders within a one turn radius).

    Then as stated, make them furious, and then ask them to leave.

    Personally I love it when some far away civ makes a demand, I refuse and war is declared. I would let this war continue for as long as it is beneficial to me (sometimes for ever) as I will continue to get the war happiness.
     
  5. Kool Keith

    Kool Keith Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    When you are about to settle a town, is there a way to choose which tiles you will get? I hate the randomness of it.
     
  6. hrhomer

    hrhomer Fat Guy

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    195
    Double click on the city to open the city view. From there, you can choose to work a particular tile by clicking on it. If the tile can't be worked on, another city is using it - you'll have to open the OTHER city's city view, and de-select the tile. Then the new city can work it.

    Joe
     
  7. Kool Keith

    Kool Keith Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    Thanks for the response, hrhomer, but that's not what I meant. I should have explained better.

    I mean before you settle, can you determine the shape of the town? Sometimes you get a strict 9-tile square, and other times you get something entirely different.

    I am wondering if there is anything you can to choose the shape of the town as you (or before) you settle.
     
  8. Aabraxan

    Aabraxan Mid-level Micromanager

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,314
    Location:
    Arkansas
    It sounds like you're talking about the "footprint" of the town when you're settling near the AI. Is that what you're asking about? Assuming that I'm not settling near the AI, I always get the fat cross footprint.
     
  9. hrhomer

    hrhomer Fat Guy

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    195
    I think not. If the new city is far enough from your cultural borders, it will be a strict 9-tile square. That's the basic shape of a new city. If it's close enough, it will merge with your existing borders. There is no way to choose how, except by settling in a different square.

    Joe
     
  10. Tone

    Tone Deity Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,548
    Location:
    Singapore
    Just to define what 'close enough' means, it is just one tile. Single tiles that are caught wedged between your current borders and a new border will also become part of your territory

    In the diagram below settling in the blue spot leaves a two tile gap between my current (orange border) and the basic 9 tile footprint of the new city so it will have to make do with just the nine tiles.



    The red site has caught a couple of extra tiles between the nine tile footprint and the current borders so that city would be able to work those two shaded tiles as well as the basic nine.
     
  11. Kool Keith

    Kool Keith Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    Metro Detroit
    Thanks everyone.
     
  12. juniortruss1980

    juniortruss1980 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    In civ 3 vanilla, are there any real purposes for cruise missiles or helicopters??
     
  13. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    They're not that bad. Cruise Missiles have lethal bombard, which will finish a unit off after being redlined by arty (Which doesn't have LB) and Helicopters can move Infantry or other foot soldiers to newly captured cities quickly. So they can help set up defense quicker than by transport.
     
  14. cometflash

    cometflash Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    392
    Location:
    Brasil
    Do you learn anything playing tutorial mode, or is it a waste of time?

    I play Monarch all the time now, and I'm thinking about moving one up. Even know I'm doing good, I still come here and learn one or other things that I didn't know, which is unbelievable, going by how long this game is out. And is not just me, as I see other player finding things that know one knew by this day.

    I never play the Tutorial, when I got the game, I just failed a fill times and learn to play on my own, I didn't even knew it had a tutorial (I usually don't read manual), but as I love this game, I start to read everything about it, and a fill weeks ago, I tough about playing the tutorial, just to see how it was, but I don't know if would be such a good deal to do this after playing for so long.

    So do you think I would learn anything, would it be a good Idea to play, or would just be a waste of time?
     
  15. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,880
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    It is very pathetic and not worth playing. It was only intended to show the basic mechanics, like how to move and such.
     
  16. splunge the 2nd

    splunge the 2nd King

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    741
    2 quickie questions

    How do I get the city view where I see the palace/wonders etc.?

    I'm playing on a map with lots of oceans. Early on I conquered my continent and when tha adviser suggested I build the forbidden palace, I did. Now, I've invaded a weak civ across the ocean and am building on a distant continent and getting eaten up by wate/corruption. Is there a way to move the FP or wreck it and rebuild it elsewhere? I've read about the free palace hop, but I'd rather not exploit it and anyway, the cities on the new continent are smaller than those well established back home.
     
  17. vmxa

    vmxa Deity Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,880
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    In Conquest is is the eye in the city view. IOW open the city and click on the eyeball.

    If this is Conquest do not worry about moving the FP or the Palace. If not, you have to evaluate if it work more where it is or in some other location.
     
  18. splunge the 2nd

    splunge the 2nd King

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    741
    Thanks VMXA. I'm playing Civ3 Complete, so I suppose it's Conquest. Is there no way to move it in Conquests? How would I do it in the other versions?
     
  19. hrhomer

    hrhomer Fat Guy

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    195
    You CAN move it in conquests, you just don't need to - the location of the FP doesn't really matter. As for other versions, I've never played them, and don't know how you'd move it without abandoning the city.

    Joe
     
  20. Leowind

    Leowind Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2000
    Messages:
    1,236
    Location:
    Eugene, OR, USA
    So the FP will have the same effect no matter where it is built in your empire? Can you build it in the capital?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page