1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Turner, Aug 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Khan_Asparuh

    Khan_Asparuh Just a Bulgarian Eddie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,032
    Location:
    22 Acacia Avenue, Paris
    Welcome to CFC M3TH.

    You don't need to make all your population happy, the city will live just fine if you have the same number of happy and unhappy citizens.

    Depending on the level you play on there are always unhappy people, you can't do nothing on this. Up from emperor every citizen born after the first one in the city is unhappy. I don't recall how was it on the lower levels, but dealing with the hapiness is always a delicate task.

    In your exemple your situation is ok... 3 lux is good, a temple adds a forth happy face, the market will add 5th one, and under the monarchy you can get 3 more from military police. This makes 8, good enough for a city above pop 6.

    Finally, if you adjust the hapiness slider you'll see that every coin invested turns into happy face so you can get quite some hapiness in a low corruption city with 10% luxes. This is the best way to manage hapiness IMO. (after luxes of course)
     
  2. namliaM

    namliaM Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,792
    Location:
    Amsterdam/Netherlands
    @m3th

    0) If applicable use Military Police
    1) Adjust the lux slider to keep em happy
    2) Get more luxes
    3) If all else fails you may build two or three temples
    4) If you have temples, maybe add one or two Cathedrals
    5) Build happyness wonders like Hanging Gardens or such

    Edit: To late :(
     
  3. eldar

    eldar ChiefTank

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,244
    Location:
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Is Rubber available?
     
  4. Turner

    Turner Chieftain Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    He did say in his first post that all necessary resources were available.
     
  5. eldar

    eldar ChiefTank

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,244
    Location:
    Mechanicsburg, PA
    Hmm. Is rubber connected to the cities in question, though? I.e. is the trade route disrupted? It's not a case of trading away one source of rubber, and the second one being lost due to war/cultural expansion (rubber doesn't expire)?
     
  6. Turner

    Turner Chieftain Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    That was my first thought, but I figured that was covered by 'all the right resources'.
     
  7. axehaxe

    axehaxe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    473
    Is it possible to cause an AI to give you things when you sign a peace treaty without having killed any of his units or capturing his cities? For example, if you had an army in the enemy territory and pillaged about 20 tiles without a single unit being killed on either side nor a single city being captured, could this be enough damage to ask him for money in a peace treaty?
     
  8. Turner

    Turner Chieftain Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    I want to say 'no', but it really depends on the situation.

    That's something to test, and then post your results.
     
  9. axehaxe

    axehaxe Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    473
    hmm, I'll have to make a scenario like that and find out
     
  10. TimBentley

    TimBentley Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,898
    Location:
    Troy, MI
  11. IslandFox

    IslandFox Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    New Zealand
    >.> It was the barracks thing. I'd forgotten to build barracks in all of my front-line cities. D'oh.

    @axehaxe; I believe so- I haven't done that exact thing, but I did get a city off Japan for peace after just killing one Cavalry... I was significantly stronger, so that must play a role in the AIs decisions in peace making.

    Interestingly, just recently I've taken about half of Americas cities- and the most he's willing to pass with for peace is 70 gold. Nice try, Abe.
     
  12. fe3333au

    fe3333au Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    6,979
    Location:
    Fern Tree, Tassie
    >How often do the Best/Wealthiest/Smartest/Sexiest Civs Books get published

    >What are the triggers

    >Can the frequency be altered
     
  13. IRulErrThing

    IRulErrThing Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Show Me State

    Definately. It can take some time, and usually it's when they're at war with another Civ who may, or may not, be giving them some trouble so they don't have the resources to take you on at the same time. It's never a lot. Maybe a couple gpt, or a small bulk amount, NEVER a city. I usually keep em hanging though. For me, it's a sign to attack. Why would they want to pay me off if they "theoretically" have a stronger military? The answer.....they wouldn't. Send a squad and take over a city or two and you'll have that 3gpt turned into 15.
     
  14. superslug

    superslug Still hatin' on Khan Moderator Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    11,363
    Location:
    The Farm
    I can't say for 100% sure, but I think it's based on the game date, every 1000 years?
     
  15. Colonel

    Colonel Sandbox

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    4,151
    Location:
    Back in the Good Ole USA
    I feel real newbish asking this but I forgot, havent played Civ in forever. How do I stack the units? I kept trying combinations of buttons and couldnt figure it out?

    Thx to whoever answers.
     
  16. gmaharriet

    gmaharriet Ancient Crone

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,118
    Location:
    Northern California
    You can make a stack by putting them all on the same tile. You can move the entire stack by pressing letter "J". I believe "X" works also in C3C. I believe Ctl-J and Ctl-X moves all units of a single type.
     
  17. Bartleby

    Bartleby Remembers laughter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4,348
    Location:
    Englishman in Cork
    Also in C3C there are buttons above the info box for stack movement. I don't recall if they were in PTW or not...
     
  18. fe3333au

    fe3333au Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    6,979
    Location:
    Fern Tree, Tassie
    Can anyone confirm this ???

    It is regarding the Best Civilization in the world Books that pop up throughout the game
     
  19. Turner

    Turner Chieftain Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    Well, one of them for sure comes up at 3000bc, I do know that. Not sure about the rest, I usually don't pay attention.
     
  20. EMan

    EMan HOFer: Milk-Cow?

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,884
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver/Phoenix Born:Hampton Court
    Quick & Dirty Answer: Try the Babylonians.....Temples & Libraries are half-price!................easier to Pop-rush them under despotism. Consider switching to Communism when it becomes available. :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page