1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Turner, Aug 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Turner

    Turner Chieftain Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    Keep in mind too that if the babs are the only ones who know Monarchy, you can easily make back what you spent when you sell it to the other AIs that don't know it. You get first chance to buy, usually, and then can sell it off at a profit.
     
  2. deepace

    deepace Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Thanks for your reply Twonky.Insufficient funds was the problem.I should have known,it's the story of my life.
    Terry.
     
  3. Beorn-eL-Feared

    Beorn-eL-Feared Idiot riding pedals

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,772
    Location:
    R³ x T's nbhd of North singularity
    Question about turns and dates:
    What are the time intervals between turns in Civ3 ? I can't find the timeframe manually (well, I haven't got around to it yet with the search function ... there's a mighty lot of threads showing up whatever I write :mischief: )

    I'm basically looking for the first date that finishes by a 4, ie 1504, 1604, 1704... it'd be all my curiosity needs to shut it and go back to the corner of my brain, for a lil' while longer...

    Thanks!
     
  4. watorrey

    watorrey Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,007
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Rochester, NY, USA
    The time intervals are listed in the editor.
     
  5. Beorn-eL-Feared

    Beorn-eL-Feared Idiot riding pedals

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,772
    Location:
    R³ x T's nbhd of North singularity
    Sorry, I found it:
    Spoiler timeframe :

     
  6. Mathias

    Mathias OCC Rocks!

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,444
    For the record, and in the unlikely case that someone doesn't know, yet wants to know, the first date that ends with a 4 would be 1754 AD.
     
  7. chris88

    chris88 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Are there any bonuses, or drawbacks, from having your civ in its chosen/preferred government, or its shunned government?

    If so, what are they?

    Thanks so much for your previous help as well!
     
  8. Turner

    Turner Chieftain Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    There are no bonus' or drawbacks for it. It didn't work out the way they intended it too.
     
  9. Frollo

    Frollo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Location:
    Fhloston Paradise
    Preferred/shunned governments only come into play when dealing with an AI civ. If you are in the AI's shunned government, they may be somewhat more hostile. And if both you and the AI are in their favorite government, they may be a bit friendlier.
    The effect is hardly noticable though. Past actions and other factors are much more important.
     
  10. Pacifist

    Pacifist Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Australia
    For each map size (tiny, standard, large and huge), what's the ideal number of cities should I be aiming for before I stop expanding? By ideal, I mean with the least amount of corruption in any form of government.

    And can someone explain to me what is OCN and how it factors with corruption?

    Thanks in advance!

    -Pacifist-
    "I'm tip seeking"
     
  11. Ginger_Ale

    Ginger_Ale Lurker Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    8,802
    Location:
    Red Sox Nation
    OCN = Optimal City Number

    From the editor: Determines the optimal number of cities before rampant corruption occurs. If a player exceeds this number of cities, corruption dramatically increases, regardless of how far away from the capital a city is.

    Basically, it is the number of cities you can have until corruption gets really bad. It is affected by world size and difficulty level.

    OCN #s:
    Tiny - 14
    Small - 17
    Standard - 20
    Large - 28
    Huge - 36

    (you need half of the OCN to be able to build the Forbidden Palace - so 7 on a tiny map)

    Multiply those numbers by the difficulty level:
    Chieftain - 100%
    Warlord - 95%
    Regent - 90%
    Monarch - 85%
    Emperor - 80%
    Demigod - 70%
    Deity - 60%
    Sid - 50%

    That means, on Sid, on a standard size map, you only get 10 (20 * 50% (or .5)) cities before corruption will drastically increase.
     
  12. clut

    clut Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    140
    I have a question RE forresting and cutting in your own territory.

    When you have more cities than the OCN, can you continually plant forrests in your specialist cities and then chop them down again for the 10 shields, or does that only work once per tile???

    I'm going for cultural flips, and therefore need cultural buildings to acheive this. At 1spt it takes a while to build them.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  13. thetrooper

    thetrooper Schweinhund

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    7,241
    Location:
    Hinter feindlichen Linien!
    Once per tile.

    At least for patched versions.

    :)
     
  14. clut

    clut Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    140
    Forgot to mention version, Vanilla, 1.29f

    Damn!! :mad:
    I was really hoping that I had found a way to make my specialist cities more productive, but while I was playing I found that sometimes I'd reap shields, other times I wouldn't... so I thought I'd ask here to find out.

    Thanks for such a quick response :goodjob:
    I've lowered my research slider to increase gold to the treasury, and I plan to hurry work on the imps. (Republic)

    Now what to do with that surplus of workers???
     
  15. thetrooper

    thetrooper Schweinhund

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    7,241
    Location:
    Hinter feindlichen Linien!
    Your version does not support more than once per tile.

    You can disband units made from your most productive cities in your corrupt cities and pay for the rest of the improvements there.

    Join workers to cities and make specialists or more important - keep them for pollution clean-up!
     
  16. clut

    clut Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    140
    Disbanding did cross my mind, but they'd have to travel a bit to get there.

    Picture the Scene
    Tiny Map (I don't get much time to play)
    1 large continent.

    My empire is pretty well established on the North Eastern quad of the cont.
    The Romans have the South Eastern quad covered.
    The Aztecs have the North West.
    The Chinese were unfortunate to start in between myself and the Romans.


    The Chinese have succumbed to my culture, and many of their cities have flipped :cool: , so they are practically out of the game.

    I expand by sending a settler out ot the remaining quadrant, (South West) with the intent of building FP and thereby a starting point for controlling half of the map.

    Once there, the city is massively corrupt, so I start building colluseum (120 turns) with intent to change it over to FP once it's nearing completion. I merged a few units and chopped forrest to bring the col close to completion, then tried to switch to FP. Couldn't! I guess it knows I've disbanded to speed along the build (which I couldn't do with FP). That plans out of the window :blush: !!

    Change plans, still dominate the SW corner, but with specialist cities. Whilst I've been doing that, the Romans and the Aztecs have closed the gap between their territories so I no longer have a path back to my main empire.

    I considered going to war with the Romans and trashing myself a path, but I had very little military built up, so I've gone with culture flipping the cities that block the path to the SW.

    So far that's been pretty succesfull, but SLOW going!!
    The Chinese do actually have a city in that blockade, so I've sent a few units few (workers for the failed forrestry plan :rolleyes: ) trying to stick to the Chinese territory as much as pos, and ignoring them when they complain.


    I think I can just continue as is, culture flipping my way across the map. (first time I've tried to do things peacefully!)... but I just wanted to get it all down. I feel much better now I've told someone about it!! :D
     
  17. Theoden

    Theoden Chieftain GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,569
    Location:
    Denmark
    Correct assumption. In fact any method of rushing (chop, disband, gold rush etc.) will ruin your wonder production.
     
  18. clut

    clut Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    140
    so on that assumption, if I want to build FP far far away from my empire, There is no way of building it in less that 100 turns?
     
  19. Mathias

    Mathias OCC Rocks!

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,444
    You can rush FP with a Great Leader. You'll need a fair bit of war for that, though.
     
  20. clut

    clut Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    140
    so far this game I've not been involved in any war... I may war with the chinese soon, just to finish them off. All they have left is their capital (slap bang in the middle of my empire) and 1 city.

    I assume you can't culture flip a captial??
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page