Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Turner, Aug 22, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EMan

    EMan HOFer: Milk-Cow? Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,924
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver/Phoenix Born:Hampton Court
    No, no downside to owning Slaves in Civ 3, except they don't work as fast as your workers!

    In addition to what Aabraxan said, if you add slaves from an extinct AI to a city, there is no increase in the chance of the city flipping. (Viz. A city can't flip to an extinct civilization!) ;)
     
  2. Meteor Man

    Meteor Man En Route to M81

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,590
    Location:
    USA
    Slaves are stupid/anoying/sad/infuriating. They only work well if you have a WHOLE LOT of them. and even then it takes so long to moe every one that I usually just automate them.
     
  3. darski

    darski Regent in Training

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,075
    Location:
    Ontario, Can.
    I do try to keep my stack of slaves in a separate pile and I send them to rail mountains and such. it's stuff that has to be done but is not a great priority. if it takes them 150 years, no great loss :lol:
     
  4. ronanp

    ronanp Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Dublin
    Thanks for the answers.

    Yet more questions. I signed a ROP with Perisa so I could finish off the Romans. Thats done ages ago and I am about to kick off against the Perisan's but I still seam to have a ROP with them, It's long passed 20 turns.

    Previosly the other person in a ROP with me would come to me at the end of the 20 turns and cancel or demand more to keep it. This time the perisians are keeping a low profile and saying nothing, they aren't using the ROP and must be worried about all my gavlary being stationed in my two cities deep in their lands.

    So how can I cancel it before the war starts. I am sure it is easy but it has never come up before?


    Also the whole unhappness due to overcrowding is there anyway to specficly deal with that sort of unhappyness or is it just background friction that you just deal with using luxuaries?

    thanks again
     
  5. EMan

    EMan HOFer: Milk-Cow? Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,924
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver/Phoenix Born:Hampton Court
    You can cancel the ROP after 20 turns by going to the F4 screen and opening existing agreements.

    You can eliminate unhappiness several ways, in addition to linking luxuries:

    1. Make unhappy citizens Entertainers or other Specialists
    2. Increase the Happiness Slider
    3. Build Workers/Settlers to reduce the population in the city
    4. End War, if it's causing War Unhappiness :)
     
  6. ronanp

    ronanp Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ok so the unhappyness due to over crowding is caused when for example you are at population 12 and have a surplus of food and do not have a hospital so can't grow anymore?

    I think I have a turn or two left till I get sanation so I can build a hospital then.

    Thanks
     
  7. EMan

    EMan HOFer: Milk-Cow? Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,924
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver/Phoenix Born:Hampton Court
    A Hospital won't make people happy.......But, it will allow you to increase your city's population above 12.

    BTW, a Marketplace will increase happiness dramatically if you have several luxury resources connected to your city. ;)
     
  8. ronanp

    ronanp Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Dublin
    I know about the other happyness influences. I am just asking about the "unhappyness due to overcrowding"

    After I have a hospitial my population will be able to expand with the surplus food it is producing now so It won't be overcrowed and as such I shouldn't be getting the "unhappyness due to overcrowding". isn't that the case?
     
  9. Aabraxan

    Aabraxan Mid-level Micromanager

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,314
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Unhappiness due to overcrowding has zero to do with surplus food or hospitals. It's purely a function of difficulty level. At Chieftain, you get (IIRC) 4 content citizens. Number 5 is born cranky. The number of content citizens decreases up until emperor, where you only get 1 content citizen, & #2 is born unhappy. I think that, above Emperor, you always get 1 content citizen.
     
  10. ronanp

    ronanp Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    107
    Location:
    Dublin
    Ok so it's just hard wired into the game. The whole over crowding bit just got me wondering if it related to living space, and was there other ways to deal with it along side the other ways to generally promote happyness.

    Thanks
     
  11. timerover51

    timerover51 Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3,530
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chicago area in Illinois
    Actually, if you go to the difficulty level in the editor, you can adjust the number of citizens born content at any level. The number is not hardwired into the game, the overcrowding complaint is hardwired into the game.
     
  12. CheeseOnToast

    CheeseOnToast Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Is there any way to turn barbarians off in single player mode?

    I don't see the point of them AT ALL.
     
  13. EMan

    EMan HOFer: Milk-Cow? Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,924
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Denver/Phoenix Born:Hampton Court
    Yes!!

    In the game set-up screen, there is an option for No Barbarians. :)
     
  14. darski

    darski Regent in Training

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,075
    Location:
    Ontario, Can.
    If you turn them off you also remove the goodyhuts.

    Sedentary is a good setting if you don't want to deal with constant barbs. They only come out of GH's.
     
  15. Meteor Man

    Meteor Man En Route to M81

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,590
    Location:
    USA
    Why don't you see the point of them? They make the game fun and interesting.
     
  16. darski

    darski Regent in Training

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,075
    Location:
    Ontario, Can.
    They also pay for a lot of research when you are running close to the wire early in the game.
     
  17. Tone

    Tone Deity Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,548
    Location:
    Singapore
    ...and they also give you opportunities to get your units up to elite status so that when you fight another civ you can fish for leaders.
     
  18. Whythat

    Whythat Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Shunned Government: Republic?

    So is it bad to switch to a Republic if the Summarians shun Republic? Do I really need to play as a monarchy?
     
  19. Tone

    Tone Deity Hall of Fame Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,548
    Location:
    Singapore
    No.

    If you are playing as Sumeria it makes no difference.

    If you are playing against Sumeria then they will like you a little less but it shouldn't be an issue.
     
  20. Meteor Man

    Meteor Man En Route to M81

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,590
    Location:
    USA
    Tone, you double posted.

    So that's what the shun means! Thanx.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page