1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Quick Answers / 'Newbie' Questions

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Turner, Apr 23, 2009.

  1. TheOverseer714

    TheOverseer714 Overseer

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,077
    Location:
    Ohio
    What really sucks is severe WW, in my current game i'm spending 100% lux and still have severe unhappiness(lost 2 cities unexpectedly to an enemy). Fortunately, I have a nice bankroll. Hopefully I can kill that enemy soon.
     
  2. vmxa

    vmxa Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    13,615
    Location:
    Oviedo, Fl
    When you get to that point and need to even use specialist, it is time to get to peace real soon.
     
  3. aintnorock

    aintnorock Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    It seems that I've run out of my supply of coal and can no longer build railroads. What options do I have of finding coal, or moving my troops some other efficient method. Those railroads really worked nice.
     
  4. TheOverseer714

    TheOverseer714 Overseer

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,077
    Location:
    Ohio
    Use clean map to find a new source, if it isnt claimed, build a city there. If it is claimed, trade for it, fight for it, or steal it, depending on where it is.
     
  5. timerover51

    timerover51 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    3,445
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chicago area in Illinois
    When one supply of a strategic resource disappears, another one appears somewhere else as a replacement. By using the clean map, you can find it quicker, if it is an explored portion of the map, and then determine how best to acquire as supply. Clearly the best thing is to gain control of it for yourself if you can.
     
  6. EMan

    EMan HOFer: Milk-Cow?

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,858
    Location:
    MIA Beach/Denver Born:Hampton Court
    And this brings up a good point..........Try and keep 2 sources of coal, so when one runs out you'll still be able to railroad while hooking up a backup source! ;)
     
  7. Snarkhunter

    Snarkhunter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    485
    Location:
    Annapolis
    And if you've dealt for coal & the last of the 20 turns is approaching, remember that whatever tiles your workers are doing they'll still finish even after the deal goes south. So if you don't want to renew or think the AI won't renew, you can always spread 'em out to cover vastly more tiles & maybe finish the job. Slow, to be sure, compared to stacking a 6-pack on a tile. But maybe faster than fighting a war or sending out a settlement party.

    kk
     
  8. Aabraxan

    Aabraxan Mid-level Micromanager

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,106
    Location:
    Arkansas
    It's not always feasible, but when it is, I try to leave one source of iron & one of saltpeter unhooked. I had a run 5-6 consecutive games a while back in which my iron depleted within ~5 turns of getting it hooked up. :gripe:
     
  9. splunge the 2nd

    splunge the 2nd Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    738
    2 1/2 questions 1 1/2 quick, 1 more general:
    Does making a peace agreement in exchange for techs/gold/cities/nothing and then within 20 turns attacking give you a trade rep hit? Is refusing to move after a final move or declare count as a declaration by you or the AI? ANy suggestions on goading them to declare?

    I'm having a hard time keeping up techwise on Emporer. Most of the trades available early in AA seemed not worth it and now I'm being left in the dust by the AI. Any advice? I can post my save once I'm at home if anyone's interested.
     
  10. Padma

    Padma the Inbond Administrator

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    14,395
    Location:
    Omaha, Nebraska USA
    I'll answer the one I can: If you are asked to move or declare, and you refuse to move, then YOU are the one making the declaration of war.
     
  11. Optional

    Optional Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,935
    Location:
    It Dockumer Lokaeltsje
    It's even worse: declaring at such a moment is seen as a breach of RoP (even if nothing is signed).

    Answer to the first question: Signing peace after a conflict is always binding for 20 turns.
     
  12. splunge the 2nd

    splunge the 2nd Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    738
    Thanks for the lightning fast replies, Padma and Optional.

    Anyone want to offer tech trading tips for a bumpy move up to Emporer?
     
  13. TheOverseer714

    TheOverseer714 Overseer

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,077
    Location:
    Ohio
    Research carefully, avoiding low value techs. My typical research for trade strategy is the Republic Slingshot path. Every tech along the way is valuable trade bait if you get there first.
    Alphabet=>Writing=>Code of Laws=>Philosophy=>Republic is my path 90% of the time. If on a Pangaea, you might skip CoL and research Philosophy ASAP, taking Literature as a freebie. Literature is a high trade value tech rarely researched by the AI. After that, I usually research Currency, then if you are lucky you can use that to trade into the MA
     
  14. Lord Emsworth

    Lord Emsworth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,951
    Location:
    On a shipchain
    Make demands. Repeatedly. At least, until the AI is furious. However this is not something that is corrigible, so once you made an AI furious do not count on their vote in a UN election.

    What kind of demand this is does not really matter. I sometimes try my luck though and demand smallish things where I have a realistic chance of actually receiving something. So for instance I might demand 20 gold. If it is not successful I'll retry with a smaller sum. If it is successful, I'll still try again with a smaller sum.

    And only after you made the AI furious, you ask to leave or declare.


    ETA: If you are certain that the AI is going to declare war, you can, if you do not find this too exploitive, sign a whole lot of very favorable deal where you give gpt and receive up front goods. You can easily buy all the techs, maps, gold and end up paying nothing in return.
     
  15. Snarkhunter

    Snarkhunter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    485
    Location:
    Annapolis
    Sounds good, & it's what I did on Monarch, but I've found the AI's are really acting chintzy on Emperor & I can't seem to budge them loose from too much of anything. I can get through the AA ok, more or less, but I'm usually not first out of the box & tech trades become very difficult in MA, IA, or ModA. So I've found so far. It's a bit frustrating. Also, they seem to spread over all branches of the tech tree from MA on & it becomes hard to find a monopoly tech. . . .

    kk
     
  16. Optional

    Optional Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,935
    Location:
    It Dockumer Lokaeltsje
    Getting them to fight to slow down the tech pace can help.
     
  17. TheOverseer714

    TheOverseer714 Overseer

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    5,077
    Location:
    Ohio
    In the next age, the Middle Ages, choose your path and stick to it. There is the military branch, which is the lower branch. I almost always start with Feudalism, possibly trade that for Engineering and set off on Invention=>Gunpowder=>Chemistry=>Metallurgy=>Military Tradition. You can trade those for the upper branch. I'd only do the upper branch if I had a cultural victory in mind, the military techs are too valuable to get last otherwise.
     
  18. Spoonwood

    Spoonwood Grand Philosopher

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,788
    Location:
    Ohio
    The upper branch almost always leads to a faster tech pace. The AIs prefer techs like Feudalism, Invention, and Gunpowder. The military techs make sense if you want to bash the AIs, but if you want to win diplomatically, launch the spaceship, win by 20k or 100k without the ToA, the upper branch makes more sense.
     
  19. aintnorock

    aintnorock Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    One of my enemies is down to just 1 city, but I can't find it. How can I go about finding it on the map?
     
  20. EMan

    EMan HOFer: Milk-Cow?

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,858
    Location:
    MIA Beach/Denver Born:Hampton Court
    Did you try Shift-l? (Locate City). :)
     

Share This Page