• Civilization 7 has been announced. For more info please check the forum here .

"Re-inventing" CivIV

Ermelinho

Child with the Mirror
Hi!

I´m currently thinking of some simple (?) things to change in Civ (+BTS) to make it become a little bit more "realistic".
For i´m at the very beginning of this process i´ll just mention a few things and would like to read your opinion and additional ideas as well as help in concernes of realizing them.

1. right now, if you wanna build mounted units, you have to have horses either as strategic res or by trade.

my idea is: you have to have horses to build stables, that then generates horses for the city in which you built it.

2. you can build farms without having any crop. i wonder what they´re growing there if it´s neither corn nor rice nor wheat. it might be rye?

idea: having crop enables workers to build cropfarms (wheat, corn or rice). these generate bonus res (also for trade) but can be pillaged or changed to another improvement. no other ("cropless") farms allowed.

3. with imported ivory you can build war-elephants... pardon? ah, thanks!

no real idea yet, but elephants should be untradable.

4. some units can be build with either iron or copper, but have same strength.

idea: units with iron weapons should be stronger than those build with copper.
copper-units should be replaced by their iron derivates but reappear if you loose your access to iron.

that´s just some of my major ideas and probably the most practicable among them. I´m pretty much aware that these changes might be difficult to balance, but it´s worth a try. just think of cereals mills or sid´s soushi... e.g.

another point is that i haven´t got a clue about how the AI´s gonna deal with this, well knowing that automated workers already act rather stupid.

get cracking!

Hi!

I´m currently thinking of some simple (?) things to change in Civ (+BTW) to make it become a little bit more "realistic".