Real Tech Tree 3.3

More historially accurate and logical Tech and Civic Trees, balanced beelining

  1. Infixo

    Infixo Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    3,830
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warsaw
  2. Bosworth II VII

    Bosworth II VII Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Gender:
    Male
    That is good news, what about real era stop ? i have not tried it yet but maybe you know ?
     
  3. Infixo

    Infixo Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    3,830
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warsaw
  4. Infixo

    Infixo Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    3,830
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warsaw
    Ok, I’ve tested things and RES works for Renaissance and later eras. It crashes Classical and Medieval. See more in RES thread.
     
  5. Crusader2010

    Crusader2010 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Hi. I keep getting the following error in Database.log. I'm not sure how to check whether the UPDATE statements actually worked or not.

    Code:
    [2360928.191] [Gameplay] ERROR: UNIQUE constraint failed: TechnologyPrereqs.Technology, TechnologyPrereqs.PrereqTech
    [2360928.191] [Gameplay]: While executing - 'insert into TechnologyPrereqs('Technology', 'PrereqTech') values (?, ?);'
    [2360928.191] [Gameplay]: In XMLSerializer while inserting row into table insert into TechnologyPrereqs('Technology', 'PrereqTech') with  values (TECH_SHIPBUILDING, TECH_CELESTIAL_NAVIGATION, ).
    [2360928.191] [Gameplay]: In XMLSerializer while updating table TechnologyPrereqs from file RTT_Technologies.xml.
    [2360928.191] [Gameplay] ERROR: UNIQUE constraint failed: TechnologyPrereqs.Technology, TechnologyPrereqs.PrereqTech
    [2360928.333] [Gameplay]: Validating Foreign Key Constraints...
    [2360928.349] [Gameplay]: Passed Validation.
    Thanks
     
  6. Infixo

    Infixo Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    3,830
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warsaw
  7. Crusader2010

    Crusader2010 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Thank you. I've tracked it down to Quo's Combined Tweaks mod. Commented all the lines related to the research/civics trees, and now everything works properly. Sorry for the confusion!
     
    Infixo likes this.
  8. mythwisper

    mythwisper Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    @Crusader2010
    What did you comment out exactly to get these two to work? im having the same problem and id love to know how you got both working. thanks ^^
     
  9. DanaLea

    DanaLea Prince Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    385
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    yes please, I'd like to use this and Quo's... how did you get both working??
     
  10. Infixo

    Infixo Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    3,830
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warsaw
  11. Infixo

    Infixo Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    3,830
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warsaw
  12. Omniessence

    Omniessence Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    My logs for the future tech 'bug'. Not sure if I have posted the logs though.
    I'm Why Is Water Wet on steam, commented in the steam mod page.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Logs.zip
      File size:
      28.1 KB
      Views:
      138
  13. Infixo

    Infixo Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    3,830
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warsaw
    @Omniessence
    You have errors from:
    JNR_CH_Oasis_Adjacency_Gameplay.xml
    ImprovedAqueduct_Text.xml
    GodKing.sql
    SlowerEras.sql (8 Ages Of Pace)
    Plus several FOREIGN KEY constraint failed.

    I am pretty sure it is "8 Ages of Pace" that causes problems as it updates the tech costs and Future Era is randomized via tech costs.

    I strongly suggest not to use mods that are not compatible with GS.
     
  14. Elhoim

    Elhoim Iron Tower Studio Dev

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,636
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    San Isidro, Argentina.
    Ouch, no wonder I had this issue as well in my current game. And since the random techs are created on game start, the connections are set on stone...
     
    Infixo likes this.
  15. volisas

    volisas Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Hi my first post in 5 years - this is a great mod! Is there any easy way to tweak your mod's files to ensure 0 beelining (i.e. need research all techs in current era to progress to next)? I've hoped for such a rule in Civ since I started playing this 20 years ago
     
  16. Infixo

    Infixo Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    3,830
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warsaw
    I haven’t seen any flag or switch that would do that in one go. You just need to create required dependencies, so basically each tech/civic in the first column of an era requires (almost) all techs/civics from the previous era.
    Vanilla game and my mod have lots of dependencies to n-2 and even n-3 column. If you add all required n-1 dependencies, things will get messy in UI. The trees don’t handle well this stuff.
    It would be much easier and better just to delete all dependencies and create your own from the scratch I think.
     
  17. Infixo

    Infixo Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    3,830
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warsaw
    Dear All, I would like to ask for your preference
    Recently I have received a request to change the "Affects Save Files" flag into YES. Currently the flag is set to NO, because in fact this mod does not affect save files, only changes game config which is not stored in the save file. You can load the game with the mod or without it and still continue to play. When the flag is set to YES, once the game starts with the mod, it will be registered in the save file and loaded automatically later. You won't be able to continue playing without the mod.
    If you have an opinion on this, please let me know what setting would you prefer.

    Edit. The YES setting is helpful for MP games, where it ensures (to some extent) that all players use the agreed mods. The NO setting is probably better for SP games, where you have flexibility to use the mod whenever you want.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2019
  18. Logicsol

    Logicsol Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Gender:
    Male
    I'd Vote for Yes by default.
     
  19. sovereignxy7

    sovereignxy7 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Future tech not working as you intended. It can be researched from the industrial area. To research information era technologies (from the begining) I need the pre 60-63 tech. For future only 29-33. :-\
     
  20. Infixo

    Infixo Deity

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    3,830
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Warsaw

Share This Page