1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[Religion and Revolution]: Mod Development

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Religion and Revolution' started by Robert Surcouf, Sep 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wladyslaw17

    wladyslaw17 Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Thank you for your offer, Nightinggale, but unfortunately other commitments will not let me invest significant amount of time in modding.

    I will have a look at RARE as you suggested.
     
  2. Too Ton

    Too Ton Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Where are the taxes? I played 100 turns and only 0-1% tax
     
  3. bringitonwimps

    bringitonwimps Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    not sure if this is watched or maintained anymore... me and some friends haven't played this in a lil while... maybe a year or a little more... we really want to get back to playing it... but... we cant figure out how to connect to more then one player. I'm seeing stuff about the gamespy servers being taken down and now it cant bounce off of them to link to 3rd player and up.... however i'm seeing for civ 4 lots of people have made their own servers... is that possible to do and play this mod?... any idea how.... i love this mod and it still remains probably my favorite game to play. I want my multiplayer back...:-(
     
  4. Nightinggale

    Nightinggale Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,271
    You need to use direct IP to play network games reliably. If you have the steam version, then you might need to downgrade to get it back (I think it's under some public beta selection or something). One play needs to host a game and then the other players joins in using the IP of the host. All players needs to be able to contact all players. If A message B, A needs a direct connection to B, not A->server->B.

    All this is general civ4 engine issues regarding network games and not mod specific. I know RaR works with more than 2 people because I have personal experience in playing 3 people.

    Also a semi-related note: all computers will do the same calculations in parallel. This mean network latency and bandwidth becomes less important, but at the same time it means the performance will match the slowest computer. Selecting the fastest computer to be the server will not speed up the game.
     
  5. vetiarvind

    vetiarvind Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    Chennai, South India
    taxes are calculated based on total value of goods traded and a die probability. If you only trade cheap goods, it's possible you don't get taxed much initially.
     
  6. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,295
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi Folks,

    after a long time of absence, I have made some changes to the last version of RaR:

    1. specialist butcher: unit graphic changed
    2. specialist unit helebardier: unit deleted
    3. specialist unit townguard: unit deleted
    4. profession helebardier: deleted
    5. profession town guard: deleted
    6. city graphic portugal early: updated
    7. units: terrain boni and mali: decreased
    8. units: combat strength of all units modified
    9. AIWeight for some buildings modified (AI now handles buildings more effectively and produces weapons)
    10. improvement farm: graphics modified
    11. unit graphic settler militia modified
    12. unit graphic african slave modified
    13. ingame map graphic slightly modified
    14. professions/units: changed light artillery and heavy artillery from unit to profession
    15. Some balancing changes

    I think No. 14 - changing artillery from units to profession - is the most important change.

    I'm currently verifying if the AI can handle this. This is currently not the case. The AI buys artillery, sales the cannons and brings the experienced units in the New World...

    I will publish a new version as soon as the problem with the AI is solved.
     
  7. Wombats of War

    Wombats of War Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    You're awesome, Schmiddie! Thanks for the continued hard work on this mod. Will definitely be time to start a new game once you release this.
     
  8. Hrvoje193

    Hrvoje193 Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    151
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Hello,

    I haven't been here for a long time, so I wonder what is the status of mod and where can I download latest version with this changes?
     
  9. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,295
    Location:
    Germany
    Hm, is that a serious question? :dunno:

    As I wrote above four days ago: "I will publish a new version as soon as the problem with the AI is solved."
     
  10. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4,854
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
    There is more than that to be careful about, when changing Cannons from Units to Professions.

    e.g.
    "Bombard Feature" is currently only implemented for Units.
    Professions currently cannot use "Bombard Feature".
    AI logic needs to be adjusted of course.
     
  11. Stefan137

    Stefan137 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Umeå
    I like this but shuld it be posseble to hawe Ortodox to? even if Russia are allone whit this religion?
     
  12. Stefan137

    Stefan137 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Umeå
    I like the shenario Gigantic Amerika :) Shuld it be poseble to hawe a even Larger Map?
    And shuld it be Posseble to hawe an Free Setllers Nation even if They diddnt hawe anny nation?
     
  13. Stefan137

    Stefan137 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Umeå
    i Agre on everything accept that it was 3 Christian Faiths in Europ not 2 but thats not inportant ather than it shuld be fun if Ortodox also was whit.
    But it's Ok for me if its not :)
     
  14. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,295
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi Folks,

    Just a small update in this regard: It's too difficult for me to implement the feature and change light artillery and heavy artillery from unit to profession. Due to the fact that I have only little time and want to play other games as well I have stopped modding again. So I assume this changes will it never make into a new published version of RaR. I'm sorry for that.

    Best regards

    Schmiddie
     
  15. AbsintheRed

    AbsintheRed Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    8,232
    Location:
    Szeged, Hungary
    Can't you get any help from Nightinggale for example?
    I presume switching from unit type to profession needs some changes in the .dll, but the coding itself shouldn't be that hard for someone familiar with compiling and with c/c++

    Also, why don't you upload the rest of the changes?
    New updates, and especially new art is always very welcomed!
     
  16. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,295
    Location:
    Germany
    Update:

    I will try to upload the current version in January. I'm on vacation then and will have time to proceed in this regard.

    The current version should contain 1. - 13. mentioned above. However, the version also contains that I'm currently not able to solve the issue with the profession change. Maybe Nightinggale can really help in this regard.
    I will grant access to the subversion as soon as I have uploaded it. Every hint is highly appreciated then.
     
    AbsintheRed and DKVM like this.
  17. Boby

    Boby Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Great Schmiddie !!! I wait the new version !!!
    Congratulations !
     
  18. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,295
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi Folks,

    short update: I intend to merge RaRE into the next Version of RaR (2.5). Nightinggale - are you fine with this approach?

    Religion and Revolution: Version 2.5 // the current changelog would be:

    Units & Professions:
    - specialist unit helebardier: unit deleted
    - specialist unit townguard: unit deleted
    - profession helebardier: deleted
    - profession town guard: deleted

    Other changes:
    - city graphic portugal early: updated
    - improvement farm: graphics modified
    - specialist butcher: unit graphic modified
    - unit graphic settler militia modified
    - unit graphic african slave modified
    - unit graphic settler modified (female settler added)
    - ingame map graphic slightly modified

    Balancing
    - units: terrain boni and mali: decreased
    - units: combat strength of all units modified
    - AIWeight for some buildings modified (AI now handles buildings more effectively and produces weapons)
    - some small balancing changes

    Features and Bugfixes imported from RaR Extended (Nightinggale's mod):
    RaRE 2.5.2
    Features:
    - added yield change preview when mouse hovering pioneers change terrain buttons (drain marsh)
    - added yield change preview when mouse hovering pioneers change feature buttons (plant forest)
    Fixes:
    - Crash when AI investigated building settlements on the edge of the map when the "Reduced colony distance" game option was on
    RaRE 2.5.1
    Fixes:
    - Autoexport wasn't saved correctly
    - Freeze when an AI transport tried to load a yield, which was required by the building currently under construction
    RaRE 2.5
    Features: (all done by Nightinggale)
    - added ability to switch between 1 and 2 plot radius for colony catchment area (change of CvGameCoreDLL.dll required in the file directory of the mod)
    - feeder service threshold change to supply construction
    - import/export window now has buttons to set and clear multiple yields with one click (like clear all)
    - autoexport to turn off export when there is nothing to export (no real gameplay change, but should prevent a late game slowdown)
    Fixes:
    - export threshold is no longer capped at 8 bit/255 (wladyslaw17)
    - barbarian pirates now only spawn in areas with access to Europe (wladyslaw17)
    - fixed issue where the feature had to be removed to allow building certain improvements, such as vineyards (Nightinggale)
    - fixed broken hotkeys due to command order (ray)
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2017
  19. Nightinggale

    Nightinggale Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,271
    Yes. I never intended to end up with multiple versions of RaR, but I didn't have choice at the time.

    We need to either disable this or remove _Extended. Both are simple to do, but will require recompiling the DLL. Also regarding the DLL, it seems that not everybody got it right in picking a DLL file. I now recommend picking one (presumably 2 plot) and make the mod use that one unless the user actively replace it. It should still have a folder with two DLL files to allow picking the colony catchment radius, but having one "preinstalled" will make the mod work out of the box.
     
    AbsintheRed likes this.
  20. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,295
    Location:
    Germany
    This is interesting - I had not recognized this feature so I never wondered why I do not get this message! I have renamed the mod folder for modding - and I never get this message...so it seems that we do not need to recompile the DLL. :crazyeye:

    This is exactly how I intend to implement this Feature (with 2 plot already working). :)

    However, I will give you access to the Subversion. Could you please send me your current email per PN, please?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page