1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

[Religion and Revolution]: Mod Development

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Religion and Revolution' started by Robert Surcouf, Sep 5, 2011.

  1. JosEPh_II

    JosEPh_II TBS WarLord

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    11,742
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Western IL. cornfields
    This current activity is Good News! :thumbsup:

    Will be watching for it.

    JosEPh :)
     
  2. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,073
    Location:
    Germany
    Great to hear! Since I'm now able to compile the DLL there are new great opportunities for the implementation of new features. I will post the new (developping) changelog here shortly.
     
  3. raystuttgart

    raystuttgart Civ4Col Modder

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    4,440
    Location:
    Stuttgart, Germany
  4. Willi_Tell

    Willi_Tell praefectus praetorio

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    City of the Bears, Switzerland
    Yea, I second that - great so see you're still alive, fellows! :)
    Merge your modding power and the force will be with you! :)
     
  5. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,073
    Location:
    Germany
    The changelog still grows...some small and some bigger features have been implemented so far:

    Religion and Revolution: Version 2.5 // Changelog

    Units & Professions:
    - specialist unit helebardier: unit deleted
    - specialist unit townguard: unit deleted
    - profession helebardier: deleted
    - profession town guard: deleted
    - Promotion "Promotion Homeland Guard 1-3" implemented ((new tag "<iDomesticBonus>0</iDomesticBonus>")
    - Correspoding "Domestic Defense Bonus" for units added (new tag "<iDomesticBonus>0</iDomesticBonus>")

    Other changes:
    - city graphic portugal early: updated
    - improvement farm: graphics modified
    - specialist butcher: unit graphic modified
    - unit graphic settler militia modified
    - unit graphic african slave modified
    - unit graphic settler modified (female settler added)
    - ingame map graphic slightly modified

    Founding Fathers
    - Amendment of the appearance of a lot of founding fathers to a more reasonable order considering the requirements of the early, mid and late game

    Traits (some changes have been adopted from angant86's mod)
    - New Civilization Trait "Agricultural" for Sweden (Swedish civilization trait changed from Forresters to Agricultural):
    ->+10% Food production in all settlements
    ->-10% Food required for population growth
    - New Civilization Trait "Imperialist" for Russia (Russian civilization trait changed from Hunt tradition to Imperialist):
    Imperialist (Russian civilization trait)
    -> Free promotion: Homeland Guard I (+15% Combat Strength inside your Cultural Borders)
    -> -25% Culture required for Territorial Expansion
    The traits of Sweden and Russia have been changed to focuss a bit more on majaor aspects of the game.
    - Amendment Trait "Undemanding": Food bonus no longer fixed at 2 for each settlement. It now scales with the bell-producing building that is present in the city (1 Food per Basecamp, 2 per Village Hall, etc.)
    - General balancing and amendments of traits for the other European nations and overhaul of the traits for the native nations considering their diversity, historic situation, behaviour and - of course - the game Balance. => puh, this was time consuming...;)

    Balancing
    - units: terrain boni and mali: decreased
    - units: combat strength of all units modified
    - AIWeight for some buildings modified (AI now handles buildings more effectively and produces weapons)
    - some small balancing changes

    Features and Bugfixes imported from RaR Extended (Nightinggale's mod):
    RaRE 2.5.2

    Features:
    - added yield change preview when mouse hovering pioneers change terrain buttons (drain marsh)
    - added yield change preview when mouse hovering pioneers change feature buttons (plant forest)
    Fixes:
    - Crash when AI investigated building settlements on the edge of the map when the "Reduced colony distance" game option was on
    RaRE 2.5.1
    Fixes:
    - Autoexport wasn't saved correctly
    - Freeze when an AI transport tried to load a yield, which was required by the building currently under construction
    RaRE 2.5
    Features: (all done by Nightinggale)
    - added ability to switch between 1 and 2 plot radius for colony catchment area (change of CvGameCoreDLL.dll required in the file directory of the mod)
    - feeder service threshold change to supply construction
    - import/export window now has buttons to set and clear multiple yields with one click (like clear all)
    - autoexport to turn off export when there is nothing to export (no real gameplay change, but should prevent a late game slowdown)
    Fixes:
    - export threshold is no longer capped at 8 bit/255 (wladyslaw17)
    - barbarian pirates now only spawn in areas with access to Europe (wladyslaw17)
    - fixed issue where the feature had to be removed to allow building certain improvements, such as vineyards (Nightinggale)
    - fixed broken hotkeys due to command order (ray)
     
  6. Hrvoje193

    Hrvoje193 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2011
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Zagreb
    Has anyone considered multiple production per turn, like in some Civ4 mods?For example if cost is of unit is 100 and production rate is 200, then it should manufacture 2 units.
     
  7. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,073
    Location:
    Germany
    not yet
     
  8. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,073
    Location:
    Germany
    I found an interesting Feature that allows to disable a profession for Units: The modcomp is from Kailric:

    https://forums.civfanatics.com/resources/modcomp-not-allow-specified-professions-per-unit.13368/

    I toyed with the idea of implementing a military profession (line infantry) that cannot be bought or recruited in Europe but can only be used in the New World. However, I had the problem that one cannot disable a profession only in Europe whereas it can be exercised in the new world. Due to searching in the forum I found this interesting Feature. It is not what I expected but it can be used for completely disabling a profession for a unit. E.g. in case you want that a colonist shall not exercise the profession of a statesman - tadaaa, this is your feature.
     
  9. rah

    rah Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,259
    Location:
    Chicago
    Just started playing the game again after a long time. FANTASTIC TO SEE that you're doing more work on it. Will have to download and check it out.
     
    AbsintheRed likes this.
  10. Wombats of War

    Wombats of War Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Is the import/export feature currently working? Using 2.5, hitting "import all" or "export all" doesn't do anything (like check any boxes and such). Anyone else having issues with this?
     
  11. smallfry

    smallfry Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    I noticed you have changed some Founding Fathers. Haven't had the time to check it out.
    In earlier versions most FFs (or rather their bonuses) seem to be placed arbitrarily in the timeline.
    Maybe that has changed now although I believe it to be an almost impossible task with all the different game options.

    Anyway, I usually end up with more or less the same FFs at the end of a game which gets a bit boring.
    I always thought it would be a good idea to randomly distribute the FFs to the various slots within their 'profession' (as in Exploration, Religion asf).
    I mean to leave the point values for the 1st, 2nd ... FF as they are, but remix the Exploration FFs anew on every start of a new game.
    One could also think about making two groups of FFs (early and late) for each 'profession' if there are some that need be acquired early (Malinche comes to mind) or late (e.g. the FF that gives a lot of units).

    I think that should be rather easy to implement and would improve replayability a lot.
     
  12. Juku Salonen

    Juku Salonen Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Hey!

    First, I'd like to tell the RaR team how much I appreciate their work, and I'm amazed that some of them are still working on the mod. Good job! You've changed a mediocre Civ4 mod into perhaps my favourite 'builder' game ever!

    Now that I've properly paid my respects, time for a question/request. Does anyone else find it annoying that animals can spawn pretty much at will near your colonies? I have to hunt them all down every turn (can live with that, free XP as well), and reassign the poor peasants that the wolves chased into a church or whatever. Automation alleviates this a bit, but automation is a bad idea in general, and you still end up with your valuable-wood-cutters reverting to plain timber or somesuch.

    The best solution would be to turn animals into proper barbarians: they can spawn only in FoW and do whatever they like when I'm not seeing them. But they should not appear out of thin air in the middle of my territory, and then be killed or teleport out again.

    Any comments or thoughts about that? This is about the only major gripe I have with the otherwise amazing mod.
     
  13. JohnDay

    JohnDay Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Sorry about my english!

    First great work with Religion and Revolution 2.5 and I still love it but ...

    Here is a save with a problem. If I want to reach the next turn the game stop working. I have to close the hole game and to restart the mod if I want to try it again. So I tryed to load the mod again and again but I can´t reach the next round. It´s the same for me if I use the automatic save ore my own made save. It is reproducible.

    Is there any chance for help with this?

    I upload the save. Please could anyone try to reach the next round with it and maybee post the result here, ore someone could find out what´s the problem with the save?
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,073
    Location:
    Germany
    The bug is noticed, but I'm currently not able to solve the problem.
     
  15. JohnDay

    JohnDay Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Ok an Thx Schmiddie
     
  16. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,073
    Location:
    Germany
    The bug has been fixed by Nightinggale yesterday. The next update (presumably 2.5.1) will contain the fix.
     
  17. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,073
    Location:
    Germany
    I would be happy to hear from you all what you think about the amended strengths of the military units. I have not tested this amendments extensive and would like to understand if the values make sense or need to be re-balanced.
     
  18. Darfnix

    Darfnix Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    After a completed single player game (level: revolutionist) in my opinion the balancing of the military units seems to be ok, especially the kings units.
    In former versions it was sometimes just a "klicking through", now it´s more challenging and you need a lil' bit more tactic, until your units have a higher promotion.

    What about the promotion for the unit "european line-infantry"?
    The new unit european line-infantry normally should have several promotions, but there is any.
    This unit is not able to earn some. In Version R&R 2.5 the level of expirience is at 5/2 and no promotion happened.
    Is that fixed, too?

    Greetings
     
  19. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,073
    Location:
    Germany
    Yes, that has been fixed, too.
     
  20. Schmiddie

    Schmiddie Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,073
    Location:
    Germany

Share This Page