1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Return of the Shadow: The War of the Ring

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Completed Scenarios' started by Lord Malbeth, Jun 12, 2009.

  1. Lord Malbeth

    Lord Malbeth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,837
    Location:
    Tower of Fornost
    HaHa, understandable. I'll look into. Maybe the patch will help? who knows...
     
  2. nick0515

    nick0515 Fantasy World Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,490
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Downloaded. Tried to play on Arnor and Gondor maps. Got same error message straight away both times. See image. It's late and I'm very tired so possibly installed wrong. Will check tomorrow. I did your patch as well. Thanks for making what looks to be a fantastic scenario. I love Lord of the Rings! :goodjob:

    Spoiler :
     
  3. Lord Malbeth

    Lord Malbeth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,837
    Location:
    Tower of Fornost
    Alright, I'm gonna download the DL I posted and see if something is screwed up. My folder contains the 'Rohirrim.INI' file, so my current theory is that the download is 'eating' some of the files. If that is the case, I'll re-post the download to get this thing running. ;)
     
  4. Lord Malbeth

    Lord Malbeth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,837
    Location:
    Tower of Fornost
    Yup, I think that's the problem. I post a new version, ASAP.
     
  5. Blue Monkey

    Blue Monkey Archon Without Portfolio

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,054
    Location:
    Timeless Isle
    hopefully that will solve the problems i had as well. There were different error messages depending on which civ I selected.
     
  6. nick0515

    nick0515 Fantasy World Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,490
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New Zealand
    What's the deal with the four different maps anyway? Are they pretty much the same scenario but slightly tweeked for which ever faction your are playing?
     
  7. Lord Malbeth

    Lord Malbeth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,837
    Location:
    Tower of Fornost
    Yeah, pretty much. Basically, several of the factions get the 'Shire-folk' (AKA, Frodo, Sam, The One Ring, and Gandalf). Originally, I had only the Shire with the One Ring, and the Shire-folk, but then I realized that it was really hard to win as Gondor, so I switched it to Gondor. Then, I realized you can't win as the Shire! :crazyeye: So, I just made several maps with only a certain faction playable, and that faction gets the 'Shire-folk'. Hope that made sense! :goodjob:
     
  8. nick0515

    nick0515 Fantasy World Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,490
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Yeah, perfectly clear. :)

    Let us know as soon as the new download is up. Can't wait to give this a try!
     
  9. tom2050

    tom2050 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,516
    The scenario works fine, there are no loading problems. When you download and unzip the file, you need to make sure that the folder 'warofthering' is the one in the Civ 3/Conquests/Scenarios folder. This folder is inside of the folder 'The War of the Ring Civ III' folder that is created after you unzip the file.

    @Lord Malbeth - perhaps you should add some detailed info regarding installation; making sure that those know after unzipping the file, they need to add the 'warofthering' folder to Civ 3/Conquests/Scenarios, because otherwise it won't work. This is the most common problem encountered getting scenarios to run properly.

    Tom
     
  10. Blue Monkey

    Blue Monkey Archon Without Portfolio

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,054
    Location:
    Timeless Isle
    Thanks, tom2050. I did a hasty install on my PC - forgot that step & it now works. On the other hand, I do have the folder in the proper place on my Mac & get the error message. Which means it's one of the directory path issues we often face & will have to solve. If I figure it out an answer will get posted in the thread we have set up in the Mac forum.
     
  11. tom2050

    tom2050 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,516
    Playing as the hobbits... (emperor level)
    I began exploring the surrounding areas, and started to build up my defensive / offensive forces. Dunland and Isengard were found to be to The Shires southeastern areas, so after building a few Hobbit Spearman and Archers, I ventured down south led by good ole Gandalf.

    By the time I reached Dunland, Rohan had pretty much decimated Isengard already. My hobbit forces were able to take/forced raze Dunland, and Rohan soon after destroyed Druwaith Iaur. I began searching around (with Frodo) for a potential next target.

    Frodo soon found Rohan and Gondor in a tough struggle against Mordor. Frodo stayed back to avoid potential detection, and all the other Hobbits gathered together and began the long march down to assist their allies. Workers assisted by building roads to improve speed. I had about 15 catapults by now (catapults are pretty cheap to build) along with about 15 spearman/archers, and Gandalf. (Sam already bit the dust)

    By the time my first group of troops arrived, Mordor had taken Osgiliath from Gondor. I attempted to maneauver into a good position to provide artillery support to Rohan troops while trying to get into position to retake Osgiliath. Meanwhile Frodo scouted around trying to find Mt. Doom, but was unable to locate it.

    Back in The Shire, Corsairs started pouring in, attacking the Elves and the near defenseless Hobbits. (They were bringing over loads of em across the sea). This created a huge gap in the steady troop flow down to my assault force against Mordor (since they were needed in Hobbit defense).

    This had massive reprecutions, because when my assault started on Osgiliath, Mordor really brought over a steady unending stream of Spiders, Orcs, Trolls, and other nasties. Even with Rohan's and Gondors troops pouring in against Mordor, the battle was a tough one indeed.

    I was able to start producing Sherrifs at this time, and they helped secure The Shire, and were racing down to assist Gandalf, but Mordor overtook the elite Hobbit Spearman Defense and stole my 15 catapults! They then used the small Hobbit catapults and decimated the few reserve forces I had coming in to assist in the battle. Luckily Gandalf escaped (he was in an Army unit) and ran off (leaving his Hobbit friends to die horrible deaths) but he vowed to return with a more capable force!

    Tom
     
  12. Lord Malbeth

    Lord Malbeth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,837
    Location:
    Tower of Fornost
    I'm glad it works on your PC now... I hope we can figured out what's wrong with the directory paths for the Mac. :)

    Glad to hear someone's playing as the Hobbits! They are, by far, the hardest playable faction.

    Your tale sounds like a very epic ordeal indeed, I'm sure Tolkien would be proud. ;) I enjoyed making this scenario just for what other civs will do, such as the Corsairs invading Lindon and the Shire, and Rohan decimating Isengard. Hopefully, when you continue, you can beat the evil forces of Mordor. :)

    Anything that you think needs to be changed? It really sounds like the game is giving you a pretty good challenge!
     
  13. Blue Monkey

    Blue Monkey Archon Without Portfolio

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Messages:
    11,054
    Location:
    Timeless Isle
    It's not a problem you created at all. For some reason the Mac version of Civ stores part of the game data in a completely different directory. Depending on how the drives are partitioned it can even end up on a different volume. So we've got a thread where us MacAddicts help each other. There are some general solutions, but many scenarios need some extra tweaking, for no discernable reason.
     
  14. Lord Malbeth

    Lord Malbeth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,837
    Location:
    Tower of Fornost
    Oh, well, that certainly is good to hear that it isn't a problem with my scenario, I probably would've been driven crazy! :crazyeye: I hope all goes well for you though. :goodjob:
     
  15. tom2050

    tom2050 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    5,516
    Well, it seemed Isengard got wiped out a bit quick. But I don't know how difficult it is playing any of the other civ's yet, so I'm can't comment on anything relating to play balance at this point. I think they lasted maybe 30 turns, but making Isengard/Dunland too difficult would likely make it incredibly tough especially when you have to worry about Mordor later on (especially since Mordor was gaining ground, slowly)... So for now, from what I've seen, for the Hobbit's it seems all ok.

    Tom
     
  16. Lord Malbeth

    Lord Malbeth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,837
    Location:
    Tower of Fornost
    Thanks for the feedback. :goodjob: I guess we do need to realize that Isengard did indeed get wiped out by the Rohirrim, with a little help from the Heroes of course, but nontheless, their attacks failed. As you pointed out, Mordor will start pumping more and more units out. They are the main villain, and they will fight till the end! :devil:

    Any other comments regarding the civilopedia entries or anything like that? Has anybody played Quasidemo's old War of the Ring scenario? How does this rate compared to that work of art? Thanks. :)
     
  17. Lord Malbeth

    Lord Malbeth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,837
    Location:
    Tower of Fornost
    Nick, might I suggest deleting ALL the Scenario files (warofthering Folder; Art, Text, .biq, etc.) you currently have and trying a fresh re-install. NOTE: Do NOT re-install the patch. I realized only after I uploaded it that it didn't really help, and probably hurt.

    Hopefully, after doing this, you'll be able to play. :)
     
  18. nick0515

    nick0515 Fantasy World Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,490
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Will do, have been real sick and haven't had another chance to look at it anyway, so it may well be that I installed wrong in the first place. But I won't do the patch this time. Should be able to test it tonight. Looking forward to it after reading about Tom's hobbit game.

    Nick
     
  19. nick0515

    nick0515 Fantasy World Builder

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,490
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Did as you suggested and all works fine now. However, I had not done this:

    So perhaps it was the patch that caused my original error.

    Looks good so far, can't decide who to start a game with, maybe Gondor... anyway thanks again for a great scenario. I'm always impressed when people produce a scenario. I can't seem to get much further than planning my own scenarios. Never find the time to actually do the hard work of making them.
     
  20. Lord Malbeth

    Lord Malbeth Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,837
    Location:
    Tower of Fornost
    Yeah, after some tests, I realized that the patch was causing your errors. Sorry. :blush:

    Hope you enjoy the game! My favorite civs to play are Gondor, Rohan, and Mordor. If you play as Mordor, you have a very strong army and it's fun to conquer. :devil: Rohan can upgrade into a very powerful war force, and Gondor is fun to play since it is more of a challenge then anything else!

    And yeah, these things do take awhile to make. This took me about 5 years to make! :eek:
     

Share This Page