1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

RFC Classical World ++

Discussion in 'RFC mod-mod: Classical World' started by Sitalkas, Jul 22, 2019.

  1. calad

    calad Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,379
    Some wild ideas
    • remove theodosian walls from game and see what happens
    • remove the required tech from the game and see what happens
    • include theodosian wall to the game and see if it being build (there might be a duplicate building)
    • rename the label of the theodosian walls and see what happens
    Anyway it seems like a broken trigger that forces theodosian wall the be built somewhere. It might be old Byzantine UP that is triggered when Constantinople is built, so check that tilenumber out if there are any references to it. If you remove theodosian wall from the game maybe something else will be built? Renaming the label might also fix it if there is a broken trigger referring it.
     
  2. Sitalkas

    Sitalkas Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    I found the bug that was causing the Theodosian Walls.

    The bonuses of wonders like the Pyramids and the Colossus are not flat, but are implemented as functions from srpt. These function checks were causing the bug.

    I removed these functions from checking and I will set flat bonuses to such wonders.

    I also fixed the Pandyan start mess.

    I will now check with the wonders check for Qin and Ptolemy don't check, and I will upload a new version when I solve it.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2019
  3. Sitalkas

    Sitalkas Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    Update!

    I actually managed to solve the bug with the Theodosian Walls.

    It was the pyramids effect (+1 happiness in Egypt) that was checked every time a new city in Egypt was found. I tracked down srpt's logic and managed to solve it.

    Pyramids and Colossus effects stay the same, +1 happiness in every city in Egypt and +1 trade route in Mediterranean ports respectively.
     
  4. soul-breathing

    soul-breathing King

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    969
    Location:
    Hangzhou,China PR
    A bug occurs in the UHV3 of Han Dynasty. The system cannot check it completed or not
     

    Attached Files:

    Sitalkas likes this.
  5. calad

    calad Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,379
    You are going to love this bug: as a Rome after conquering Babylon in every Mediterranean island spawned a Buddhist wonder. Every time when I found a new city in Mediterranean island the same wonder will be spawned.

    I think the Colossus is bugged and some labels are misplaced. For example there is a lot of declarations of war against itself and making peace "Parthia downed/made peace with Parthia".

    This is not the current iteration but previous. Anyway thanks for your effort to this rather obscure modmodmod.
     

    Attached Files:

    cmakk1012 and Sitalkas like this.
  6. Sitalkas

    Sitalkas Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    I think it is related with the colossus, yes. When I disabled the Theodosian Walls, the wonder that was built on Egypt was the Borobudur, which is the one after the Theodosian Walls in the list.

    I will try your save and let you know, but I think it should be fixed now!

    Yes, I know that bug with war / piece :s I haven't found it yet, but I may have to look in the dll for this.
     
  7. Sitalkas

    Sitalkas Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    Qin and Egypt UHVs #1 now trigger correctly.

    Pyramids and Colossus work as intended.


    I will try to upload a new version later today. Then I will start working the Han bug.
     
  8. Sitalkas

    Sitalkas Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    Updated version has been uploaded :D
     
    stillblackadder likes this.
  9. Sitalkas

    Sitalkas Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    Han bug fixed, that was an easy one!

    The next uploaded version will include it.
     
  10. Sitalkas

    Sitalkas Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    I tried a Bactrian game.

    Xiongnu are super bugged, they spam horseman units and they end up being a super power in China and Central Asia. I will nerf them severely.
    I didn't like the Bactrian's 3rd UHV, maybe I will change it in a future version.
    The Romans are always hesitating to invade Gaul, maybe they need a scripted war.
    Ptolemys are always conquered by Nubia, they need to be buffed somehow.

    I will also start working on the maps of the other 3 scenarios.
     
    cmakk1012 and stillblackadder like this.
  11. cmakk1012

    cmakk1012 Prince

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    430
    It’s complicated, because the Xiongnu should be strong enough to defeat the Han handily and establish a massive empire. On the other hand, they shouldn’t be going too far into Central Asia as that isn’t historical.

    As for Bactria UHV3, could I suggest a cultural goal? Their patronage of Greco-Buddhism was very significant in the cultural sphere.
     
    Sitalkas likes this.
  12. Sitalkas

    Sitalkas Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    The point is, they conquer the Han way too soon.

    Using a spy, I saw that in one of their cities, the Xiongnu had stationed more than 100 (!!!!!!!) horseman units. I just don't get how they can sustain such an army. I think that if they behaved like other civilizations, having a max amount of units that they can build and actually paying for their maintenance, it would greatly balance the game.

    I am open to suggestions, of course! A cultural or trade/gold goal might be better than the 3 settled great people, yes.
     
    cmakk1012 likes this.
  13. cmakk1012

    cmakk1012 Prince

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    430
    Huh, you know, a general rework of the Xiongnu into a not just balanced but even playable civ could be worthwhile in the long run. I’m not sure if they’d need a new set of civics to represent them properly, but considering how common nomadic hordes were in this time making them playable and giving them a unique play style in some way (which could be applied to most of the in-game hordes) could be cool.

    For now, at least, it does sound like balancing them would be a good idea.

    As for Bactria, the thing I don’t like about the current UHV3 is that it’s difficult to guarantee the GPP and the religious spread in time while accounting for fighting barbarians and enemy spawns. Of course, I haven’t gotten to play recently and the Saka rework may make this more feasible.
     
  14. Sitalkas

    Sitalkas Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    That's my ultimate goal, adding civs. And of course nomads are some of the civs that I would like to add.

    But it is not that simple to add a civ, it requires modifying many c++ and python files. So, I will start working civs once everything is fixed and balanced!
     
    cmakk1012 and stillblackadder like this.
  15. calad

    calad Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,379
    What about rebalancing civics?
     
  16. Sitalkas

    Sitalkas Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    That's something that I will work really soon yes! I already have introduced the slave market building, which produces an extra unhappy citizen if you use it with the slavery civic.

    More civics tuning will come for sure :D
     
  17. DC123456789

    DC123456789 Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3,067
    Location:
    Canada
    I really hope you can come up with a proper unique nomad/steppe horde civic to represent the Gokturks and such (especially if you start adding playable others). Not that it's surprising given that Civ is based heavily around cities, but no (RFC) mod that I've seen has ever come close to doing any of them true justice.

    Also I didn't see, have you looked at the Tamil spawn bug yet?
     
  18. Sitalkas

    Sitalkas Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    The Gokturks are already in the game :p

    Ideally, I would like the nomads to work as in Attila: Total War, but I am not sure if this is possible in Civ4. I will investigate it though. But yeah, it would be cool if all nomadic civs behaved the same; from Scythians to Khazars.

    Yep, I solved the Tamil issue a few revisions ago! You can download the latest revision from the link in page 1!
     
    bluepotato likes this.
  19. Mxzs

    Mxzs Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Messages:
    520
    Hey, great to see this mod-mod being updated and revised again! I just downloaded and played it a little, and what you've done is already a great improvement. I'm really looking forward to seeing what else you do.

    One quick note on this topic, and the only thing I noticed while playing my first game (which was, as you may deduce, as Egypt):

    It's nice to have barbs nerfed earlier in the game, but it does complicate the Egyptian UHV strategy to not have slaves available. Is the barb-nerfing going to be permanent or is it only temporary?
     
  20. Sitalkas

    Sitalkas Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    521
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens

    Hello, thanks for trying the mod!

    The barbarian nerf is on the entire map, I didn't like that some vast areas of the map were black after some point. To compensate the loss of lots of slaves, I have added 3 buildings that enhance productivity.

    I haven't tried Egypt yet, I will do so shortly. Maybe the date goal is too strict, we ll see!
     

Share This Page