1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

RFC Multiplayer Sign Up Here

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall MP' started by Radunz, Oct 13, 2007.

  1. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,580
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    I'm up to play right now, anyone else ?
     
  2. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,580
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    Memdee, did you open the UDP or TCP port ?
    "Civilization IV will have problems negotiating through 2 levels of network address translation", is your public IP on the router the same you have when you navigate outside your ISP ? (check www.ripe.net on the top right to see your IP).
     
  3. memdee

    memdee Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Wiesbaden, Germany
    I opened up both TCP and UDP.

    And yes, it sure is the same IP.

    Oh, and my connection did work for some of you guys yesterday - I had no problems connecting to you, for example.
     
  4. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,580
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    I'm pretty sure it's the routing between the 2 ISPs, for example a double NAT on one side or both could create problems depending on the configuration of the ISPs border routers. In my case if I had a router I would not have the same IP outside my ISP because it further NATs my IP.
    Btw, shall we meet in the lobby ? ;)
     
  5. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,580
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    we have an ongoing game on GameSpy if anyone is interested, started in 800 BC
     
  6. Zhuge_Liang

    Zhuge_Liang The greatest strategist

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    734
    Wait............ I hosted a game like 12 people and there's a lag just in the modern age. It's not just like more than 4 Players.

    @onedreamer

    No thanks, for me because my history teacher wasn't satisfied with the score that my classmates have and also, I have assignments like in all aspects of the subjects.

    Hope it will be well.
     
  7. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,548
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    really? On Gamespy?
     
  8. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,548
    Location:
    Japan / South America

    Just tried to enter and could't as all 4 slots are taken. The cap definitely works :goodjob:

    Please later report here if you experienced any problem
     
  9. Úmarth

    Úmarth Megalomaniac

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,184
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    So there's definitely a problem with over four players then? Shame.

    I still haven't played a proper game yet, so if anybody wants to get one started please post here.
     
  10. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,548
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    as we'got this new forum, you're all free to open a new thread for your games.
     
  11. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,580
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    one slot free if you're interested, anno domini 1200
     
  12. memdee

    memdee Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Wiesbaden, Germany
    Wow, that was an intense game.

    I was Japan, having the UHV requirement to be 1st in score in 1500, and I missed it by 15 points against Jet (Carthage).
    That's when we called it a day and decided Jet had won the match :)

    Btw, we had Scientific Method in 1450, and I believe Jet had Rifling, too...
     
  13. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,548
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    did you have problems?
     
  14. memdee

    memdee Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Wiesbaden, Germany
    All in all, I think we had three OOS-errors, and we discovered that when someone tries to reconnect, the others should not choose "wait for player" because that will cause the reconnecting player not to be able to chose a civ and therefore get stuck in the process of reconnecting.

    But, apart from that, everything went well, as far as I remember.

    edit: And, personally, I love the "simplified" plague mechanics :p

    edit2: One more thing: onedreamer switched to Turkey when they spawned, and I think what he said was that he didnt have any gunpowder units. Intended?
     
  15. Jet

    Jet No, no, please. Please.

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,364
    We did have occasional intermittent OOSes from different people, but for the most part they could reconnect and fix it. It was generally playable.

    Edit: ha! I played on a bit by myself, and Rome finally collapsed just now (1555).
     
  16. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,548
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    Turkey? Wasn't intended. Probably AI disbanded them before the switch
     
  17. Zhuge_Liang

    Zhuge_Liang The greatest strategist

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    734
    Rhye, to tell you, I hosted it on Gamespy. I had just hosted a game of 14 players(in BTS, not in your mod) last night and it worked well I tell you!
     
  18. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,548
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    Ah, not the mod.
    yeah of course.
    But here the scale of the world and the complexity of the code is much bigger. We've proved it.
    4 isn't the best number for performance (would be 2) but is still playable and allows a 2v2
     
  19. redifederal

    redifederal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    US of A
    I have seen most earth games launch with 12-14 (some with with 18). The host just has to be a rock solid host with a great system.

    I want to try playing a game on the new RFC MP.

    I wouldnt doubt that we should be able to get at least 10 players to play the mod without large amounts of lag (AS LONG AS EVERYONE CLOSED PROGRAMS AND DIDNT ALT-TAB). The same rules that we use for earth games should apply when playing this mod in mp.

    However, I wont play direct IP games because i have seen way to many crash because for any reason host would have to rejoin the game will crash (nothing worse then wasting 8 hours of work because host cant rejoin and rehost wont work).
     
  20. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,580
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    rehost WOULD work. If the "host" crashes anyone can save and rehost, or you can continue anyways, this because direct IP doesn't work as a client-server application.
     

Share This Page