1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Rhye's Terrain Graphics Modpack

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Graphics Modpacks' started by Rhye, Nov 20, 2003.

  1. Hyronymus

    Hyronymus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,847
    Gender:
    Male
    I find the terrain mod a big improvement, I wonder if noone at Firaxis ever considered redoing the original terrain. I agree with Smirk that polution is hard to notice in forest and jungle squares. Switching to the old doesn't appeal to me although it would certainly be a solution. I also think there is a small glitch in the irrigration on desert tiles. In the upper left corner of these tiles are two lines in player colour I think. They're orange on my piece of map anyway, as is my player colour. But to end positive: great work Rhye!
     
  2. studsoccer06

    studsoccer06 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    45
    I was wondering if there is a way to install this graphic so i do not have to load a scenario.
     
  3. Civrules

    Civrules We the People

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,621
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    US
    Replace the graphics from your "art" folder with the new ones. It will take time, but it's wotrth it/
     
  4. studsoccer06

    studsoccer06 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    45
    I went through and made backup of the original files and moved them from that folder. I then pasted the terrain from the download. AFter tring to start the game it said files could not be found and then shut down. Did i mess up somewhere?
     
  5. Civrules

    Civrules We the People

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,621
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    US
    Yep, most common reason for that.
    When I first replaced my graphics a long time ago, I got some big errors. But eventually I got it.
    Gotta be real careful what and where you are moving things. ;)
     
  6. studsoccer06

    studsoccer06 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    45
    lol yea i figured it out. i replaced the files in civ folder not conquest. AFter moving files everywhere i finally got it working
     
  7. Thunderfall

    Thunderfall Administrator Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    12,131
    Gender:
    Male
  8. Civrules

    Civrules We the People

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,621
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    US
  9. Snoopy

    Snoopy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    522
    Location:
    New Zealand
    This is a good mod, suttle and earthy. :goodjob:

    I see you used my new forests :goodjob: They weren't very popular when I released them.
     
  10. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    oh, the greay snoopy! Thank you!
     
  11. tjedge1

    tjedge1 Writer of writerly things

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,682
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Really? It's funny how a lot of folks use them at least as LM Forests now.
     
  12. PenguinKommando

    PenguinKommando Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    I was wondering how to get actual blue water until Isaw the link to here in the gallery. I dont like the original graphics because they were odd, with ugly seagreen water and ugly mountains. ANyway I was swondering if this worked with Civ III Complete?
     
  13. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    yes it should work
     
  14. twinmfg

    twinmfg Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    The Great Nation of Texas
    I've just recently began playing with some of the graphics mods, after seeing a screen shot of Snoopy's. I installed it and then began poking around and found several others to try. I finally settled on this one. Good job Rhye! The irrigation and goody huts are what sold me. BTW, I'm using the Greener version.

    And for the record, all mods I've tried so far work with Civ Complete.
     
  15. Dragar

    Dragar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Download links aren't working. Any idea?
     
  16. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
  17. Dragar

    Dragar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    You rock. :goodjob:
     

Share This Page