1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Road Building in Civ 6

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Woobyluv, Nov 2, 2016.

  1. Woobyluv

    Woobyluv Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    While I like the idea that the Trader is used to make roads between cities, I find that the coverage of roads in my territory to be terrible. I'm really not liking that I can't easily build roads within my territory. Military Engineers only have 2 charges and road building consumes 1 charge? Asinine! I really don't like Builders or Military Engineers having such limited charges. I can understand not wanting to have the bloat of extra units on the map but, there has to be a better way to handle this.
     
    Zuizgond, Roald Amundsen and Securion like this.
  2. Dida

    Dida YHWH

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    3,426
    Using military engineer for roads is atrocious. If you need to build a stretch of road over 10 tiles, you must manually select to build 5 engineers, move them into place and manually order them to build road 10 times. This is ridiculous! Military engineer works okay for things like fort. I imagine people don't spam forts much.

    I think Firaxis should have gone a step further and completely virtualize builders and MEs. At this point they work just like the Public Work concept from Call to Power, except you have to manually build and move them. This is really not fun anymore.
     
    bbbt, Woobyluv and Chinese American like this.
  3. Ozisl

    Ozisl Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    It is also lacking because sometimes you don't want the road to go to a city, which makes the entire system useless.
     
  4. KmDubya

    KmDubya King

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    632
    Location:
    Nong Bua Lam Pha, Thailand
    I really like the new road system. Roads get built between trading partners to help trade which is like real life. If you want a road to nowhere you'll need to invest in order to build it. It's easy enough to send a trader towards a neighbor's city to build an invasion route if you need one.

    cIV had the atrocious road and rail spam on every single tile, ciV was better in that you had to pay for roads but was still a pain to build out. Now with civ 6 roads are more organic and logical.

    Having builders and military engineers have limited charges forces you to make choices, previously you just had idle workers who you set to do things just to keep them busy. Combined with government cards that can improve builders you have multiple layers of strategy. Its a much better system.
     
    marcbyrne and narmox like this.
  5. Dida

    Dida YHWH

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    3,426
    I do like how roads are built organically thru trade routes. I just don't want to deal with builders and MEs. They are more of a hassle now. So annoying to having to keep building/moving/ordering military engineers to build roads.
     
    Woobyluv likes this.
  6. KmDubya

    KmDubya King

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    632
    Location:
    Nong Bua Lam Pha, Thailand
    Where are you needing to build all these roads to that don't go towards a city?

    In three games so far (King, Emperorx2) I've never built a road with an engineer, couple of forts for a boost and a few airstrips to help biplanes but that's it.
     
    marcbyrne likes this.
  7. redwings1340

    redwings1340 Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,408
    Location:
    Maryland
    I've personally enjoyed the road system. I just generally use my first trader to connect a nice network of roads in my empire, it takes a little while, but I mean, it took your workers a little while to create roads in V too. Then after I have a good set of roads I can go external a few times.

    Traders are great units anyway, and you get the option to build one at an early civic, so its not that big of a hassle to build one relatively early and connect up the place you want connected the most.
     
    marcbyrne, George Abitbol and nzcamel like this.
  8. Kingreaper

    Kingreaper Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 21, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    I like the road system, but I feel like a mil engineer charge should be good for more than one tile. It takes two tiles to bridge a river, three to get over a hill, a charge should be enough for that.
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  9. Nathair

    Nathair Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    At least.
     
  10. Ozisl

    Ozisl Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Around terrain obstacles to minimize 1upt, leading around to an enemy's position...

    Like I said, I like the "organic" system, but that shouldn't be (effectively) the only system.
     
    nzcamel and Woobyluv like this.
  11. Magil

    Magil Monarch

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Given that military engineers require an armory, are fairly expensive production-wise, and have a high maintenance cost (4g per turn!), I feel they shouldn't use charges to build roads. With 2 charges, you feel like Firaxis went out of their way to make them as terrible as possible, only really worth building for the Eurekas right now.
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  12. redwings1340

    redwings1340 Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,408
    Location:
    Maryland
    I've found they can be somewhat useful placing down airstrips and nuclear silos late game.

    But yeah, their road and fort building ability seems moderately useless.
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  13. kampori

    kampori Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    Messages:
    287
    Location:
    UAE
    I've only ever used MEs to build silos on the edge of my borders. With only 2 charges they aren't worth doing anything else.
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  14. dturtle1

    dturtle1 Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    390
    Location:
    Mackay, QLD, Australia
    The only thing i dont like about the trader roads is their routing logic, it can be bloody terrible sometimes. :cry: In my Rome game i have a section of my empire with 4 !! roads running parallel with each other. They need to bias towards existing routes rather than absolute minimum distance. Of course if the route doesn't run through the city you dont get the trading post, so it is infuriating when you plop a city as Rome and the road goes next to the city, not through it, or rather than go through cities in a line it will just bypass them and make its own road. Unless you plop your cities in perfectly square grids it can be a nightmare to get it to work properly.

    Although as Rome it is Bloody annoying it also affects other CIvs as well with foreign trade. You know sometimes when you trying to trade with a city that is <than 15 tiles from your nearest trade post but it is not available !??. Likely because the routing logic doesn't go through your Trade Post city, thus being out of range. The Trade Post system is great but the road routing logic just shoots itself in a foot time and time again.

    You wanna see Road spaghetti,.....Play as Rome on a map with growing room.... Forward settle like a madman and then back-settle :mischief:...... and behold. the ugliest road system you have ever seen. :crazyeye:
    I was kinda OCD in regards to roads in Civ5, Making sure only 3 roads entered or exited a city at anyone time(with gap either side).....minimising t-intersections and when you can hide them in tile improvements where possible etc, even when it costs an extra tiles to make sure it looked nice.... I miss this.....Civ6 roads are the devil :cry:
     
  15. Deggial

    Deggial Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,345
    Location:
    Germany
    I also like the road system itself, including the road net crossing your realm.

    Mil. engineers, though, are tedious and too limited. I would like, if...
    a) their "road charge" would be at least 5 tiles and
    b) their use would be something like: "Build a road from where you stand now to THIS (click on a map tile in a 5 tile radius highlighted in green) place!"

    Furthermore, I would like to see a change in how traders select their target.
    The list as it is now is fine (providing that Firaxis adds a sorting functionality).
    Additionally, I want to be able to select my trading target city directly on the map. Sometimes, I simply don't care about the trading yields; sometimes, I simply want to get this road built!

    This functionality is already present when relocating traders and great persons. Why not expand it to trade-route-targeting? (Oh, and spy placement, when we are at it ...)
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2016
    gillskill likes this.
  16. TomBeard

    TomBeard Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    CT
    How bout a tweak ME uses 1/3 charge for a road. Still get a fort or 2. Or up to 6 road tiles.
     
  17. Deggial

    Deggial Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,345
    Location:
    Germany
    In principle: A possible solution!
    The problem here is to keep track of it. You want to display whole numbers as charges. So maybe increase the engineer's charges to 6 and let the fort cost 3 of them?
    The downside of this approach is, that it doesn't fit to the established ruleset. You want consistency in a game. (Consistency is important.)

    As proposed above: Consume one charge per road building order, but let this charge built roads up to(!) 5 tiles. If less than 5 tiles are choosen, the unused tiles are wasted.
     
  18. bladex

    bladex Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    just use a trader each time don't even bother with them useless engineers
     
  19. skyclad

    skyclad Prince

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    488
    Yeah only use engineers for eurekas.
    Early roads are **** Anyway so not worth building. Late game when you get good roads i have traders going back and forth all over my continent so dont need more roads at that point.
    I think a "build in a line up to 5 tiles per charge" would be a lot better.
     
  20. stealth_nsk

    stealth_nsk Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,513
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    The idea is - you build roads with Traders, Military Engineers are really for... military purpose - to build roads in areas you can't send your traders to due to war.
    It's actually fun, I like the new system a lot.
     
    warpus, Hammurabbit and marcbyrne like this.

Share This Page