• Civilization 7 has been announced. For more info please check the forum here .

Civ 6: Five Months In

Widdershins

Warlord
I started playing Civ 6 in August last year. I've played no previous versions of the game. Started with the vanilla flavor, then Gathering Storm, then Rise & Fall, then back to Gathering Storm. I've played a total of 16 or 17 games. Maybe 18. Over time I've progressed from prince level to king, and then emperor level on a huge map of continents (12 players). I've only lost one game: my first one, playing as Japan. Then I played as Germany time and again, later progressing to England (led by Vicky) for 4 or 5 games, and then in my last game I played Greece under Gorgo. Almost all my wins, and certainly all my recent wins, have been science wins. I won two games with a domination victory, and one with culture. In one game a diplomatic victory was fated to occur on the same turn as a science victory, curiously, but it was the science victory that triggered.

Anyway, I intend here to give voice to some of the things I still don't get about the game, as well as make certain observations about its dynamics and whatnot. I've never read the manual, if there even is one. If I don't understand something I do a search online, but some things just cannot be easily looked up because the necessary keywords lend themselves to a low signal to noise ratio.

1) Attacking cities: defense. I've got an artillery unit approaching an enemy city. Silly red-triangle bric-a-brac festoons some tiles adjacent to the city's center. Are these the tiles the city can hit with its defenses? No: repeated maulings in August and September have taught me that the city can shoot at many other tiles not festooned with silly red triangles.