1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

roads & rails

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Graphics modpacks' started by bernie14, Nov 24, 2010.

  1. bru

    bru Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2001
    Messages:
    390
    Location:
    Victoria Canada
    Thanks for the Mod. It works well for me.
     
  2. ambrox62

    ambrox62 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    Does anyone know if now it's possible to modify terrain arts through a mod (i.e without overwriting vanilla dds)?
     
  3. Dearmad

    Dearmad Dead weight

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,525
    I think you just have to update the XML that references the art file to the new DDS file/name you have created.
     
  4. ambrox62

    ambrox62 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    Which XMLs?
    Where are they located? :confused:
     
  5. grandad1982

    grandad1982 Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,552
    Sadly the pre G&K patch reverted my roads back to the original rubbish style. I wanted to reinstall this mod but Nexus is broken as well. Any ideas of how I can get it to install?
     
  6. bernie14

    bernie14 Filter Manipulator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,973
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    coastal flood plain
    this is your lucky day...this has been sloved by the awesome gedemon in the thread

    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?t=467009


    __________________
     
    ryanmusante likes this.
  7. grandad1982

    grandad1982 Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,552
    Hmmm. I tried putting the .dds file in the assets forder (after extracting it and deleting the (grey) from the name) but the roads are still the vanilla roads.

    Am I missing something obvious?
     
  8. bernie14

    bernie14 Filter Manipulator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,973
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    coastal flood plain
    perhaps....once i left a space when renaming a file and couldnt figure it out for about a week...

    in any case, these are the files i put in assets.....i also updated the DL to these files, copied straight from my assets folder
     

    Attached Files:

    ryanmusante likes this.
  9. bladex

    bladex Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    is there a way to install this as a mod file?
     
  10. JA_Lamb

    JA_Lamb Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    231
    Location:
    The changing Dark Continent
    I've been successfully using these for sometime now. Dale somewhere said that the position overrides original files iff it is a newer file. ie latter date. So all I've done is simply delete the previous file, resave in my computer my backup file and copy/paste it back in it's position. Problem solved after every Steam download that messes with this.

    I really like your art, can't you do some modern tar roads for the end game?:goodjob:
     
  11. Iridescent Rain

    Iridescent Rain Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Hi, bernie.

    I love this mod. May I please use it for the Mars mod I'm working on? It really wouldn't make any sense to build old dirt roads (like the original Civ V ones) if you have the technology to go to Mars, would it? ;)
     
  12. Zenobia42

    Zenobia42 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Is there any mod that makes the roads actually connect each tile to the next tile with a road... rather than loop back on themselves? It drives me nuts - it makes it look like I don't have a road connection because a tile will show two totally separate roads (one looping from northeast to southeast and the other from northwest to southwest) instead of on road across the middle then splitting up or down. Or if you have a corner with roads on all 3 tiles, it shows as the road coming up from the bottom tile, then looping across and back down to the tile it started from, which is totally pointless and useless - no one would take that road. And it gives the appearance of no way to go across the top tiles without going down and back up again. The roads should be a simple triangle which is 1) the way they would actually work and 2) doesn't needlessly obstruct tons of tile space.

    I know that my units will move as though the roads were not arse-backwards as depicted. But the visual is so wrong it drives me batty. I had such high hopes that the game making roads cost you money instead of earn it as previous Civs did would mean the map doesn't look like a giant ball of twine by mid-game any more. But due to the graphics being making roads loop rather than connect, it looks just as bad even with only 25% as many roads.

    Many thanks to any who can help.
     
  13. ryanmusante

    ryanmusante Regular Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2018
    Messages:
    1,078

Share This Page