Roleplaying and custom rules

Lzz

Chieftain
I wanted to share something I've discovered recently that I've been having lots of fun with and I would love to hear if some you do something similar in your games :)

After completing a few UHV's which were enjoyable but ultimately quite stressful due to keeping track of so many things and laying out my strategy methodically from the start, I started playing somewhat differently recently.

I set up my own way of playing a civilization based on how I feel I would enjoy playing them, their civics, their UHV goals and their general situation. The key is to enjoy the journey, rather than the destination. For that, each civilization has what I call 'Unique historical directives' that I then play out.
The unique historical directives are for my personal taste and come from what simply feels right when playing a civilization. To illustrate I'll just quickly describe the game I had with the Vikings last night which was great fun.

- At the start I worldbuildered their starting civics, changing Vassalage to Authority (can't be done in game). The rest of the civics I felt were great for how I saw the Vikings so I kept them.
- I never got Theology because it didn't seem appropriate for the animist Vikings to entertain such things
- The description at the beginning of the game describes how there is a scarcity of food which made great sense to me so I didn't build any harbors in any of my cities. It doesn't feel right to have a population of a million people in Roskilde (Kobenhavn) in the medieval era for example.