1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

RtW: v1.2 Beta Test!

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Road to War' started by Dale, Jan 23, 2008.

  1. danrh

    danrh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    Port Hedland, Western Australia
    I think Hilter's problem was more a lack of warships and air control than actual invasion barges etc. And the cost of building warships is pretty high. Unfortunately the scale involved with a civ map is the real problem. A landing force can sortie and deploy in the UK with out the Royal navy ever having a chance to inferfere. Unless you are prefared to deploy them in the channel to be hit constantly by the Luftwaffe. I really think submarines should have an opportunity fire option to allow the deployment in chokepoints like the channel or Straits of Denmark or wolfpacks in the Atlantic. Also destroyers should only have a 25-50% chance of seeing subs.

    Dan
     
  2. jefmart1

    jefmart1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    463
    I still have my entire navy and I can build new warships in 2-3 turns. That seems awfully quick.
     
  3. jefmart1

    jefmart1 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    463
    Maybe planes could be put on anti-ship patrol, and/or there was discussion about ships being put on intercept missions in the main creation forum. Perhaps something like that or opportunity fire for warships?
     
  4. HiRezAudio

    HiRezAudio Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    It is far too fast & easy building ships in this scenario. No doubt about it the build times should be quadrupled at the very least.
    Germany's industrial strength all went underground too - this is how they were able to carry on fighting whilst their cities & industries were being hit day & night for years.

    An interesting option is to play as the UK - it's quite easy to keep Germany out.
     
  5. danrh

    danrh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    Port Hedland, Western Australia
    As a matter of interest what are you guys playing, 1939 or 1936 start and which of the history settings, full, random or free play?

    Dale will the 1938 scenario's be back in the final release. I quite like them, they seem to have a very good balance for tech research v actual time line.

    Dan
     
  6. HiRezAudio

    HiRezAudio Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Showstopper Bug found.
    Playing 1936 Scenario, Open Play.
    First thing I did was went through all cities, and set production & then a research chain to save time.
    Problem occurs when the research chain ended - all research options are red, and inaccessible completely.
    Saved game available for analysis - where should I upload it to please?
     
  7. Yakk

    Yakk Cheftan

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Maybe you bypassed the "open vs closed research" event?
     
  8. HiRezAudio

    HiRezAudio Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Admittedly, I did not see this event appear a all.
    And I do look carefully for these.
    But I don't think that is it - I was able to set my own tree at first.
    Things were fine right up to the point where that completed - this is when it all locked out apart from 3 right at the end.
    Which said 1 & 2 turns, but cannot be researched as the qualifying techs were not researched yet.

    It has to be a bug caused by setting the tree.
    I have the saved game if anyone wants to check it out.....it's now broken as I cannot research anything now.
     
  9. danrh

    danrh Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    Port Hedland, Western Australia
    So is there an ETA for the final release, or will there be another beta with the stuff that is missing from 1.3?

    Dan
     
  10. Fin Imperial

    Fin Imperial Monarchist

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Kingdom of Finland
    I was playing Pacific as USA, and when the war begun, all was going well, but then, I noticed that China's research was beyond the other Allies, same thing happened later to UK, except they couldn't research a thing.
     
  11. Eadro

    Eadro Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Yeah I am having the same problem in the pacific Hirohito scenario. After I researched improved jap. infantry, I set the research goal to heavy tanks.

    Rounds later when that goal was reached, the only option left was improved anti air. And after that, research stopped beacause there were no more blue research fields. There were all red, except modern bombers at the end.

    I also noticed that china is quite fast on research. They made heavy tanks the same round as I did...

    Oh and I chose the open play method, so no random or fixed historical events...

    EDIT: I used the 1.2 Beta3 version of RtW
     
  12. Fin Imperial

    Fin Imperial Monarchist

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Kingdom of Finland
    I'm not sure if someone has already mentioned it, but in my game, (1936, England) Germans occupied Metz without any problems. Perhaps Maginot should be made immune to opportunity fire or strength increased? Now they are coming straight into heart of France with me fighting them where I spot them, with the exception of Metz. (20 tanks, about 30 infantry and several artillery out there ;))
     
  13. VeteranLurker

    VeteranLurker Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Just started a 1936-historical game as Italy. I suppose it is somewhat realistic, but is there any way for same-religion factions to spy on each other less? Germany and I will be allies in less than a year, but I am intercepting their spies and they may be sabotaging me.

    Also, is there any way to change the order-of-play for multiplayer/PBEM? The six major countries come first, which means that only Germany (first) and USA (sixth) can be given a second country to run without screwing up the human order of play (i.e., play for humans with multiple countries needs to be consecutive, though AI countries can be interspersed no other human countries could be in between). Example: If USA player also controls Norway and German player also controls Finland, order of play is fine (both USA countries play consecutively, then both German countries play consecutively); however, if Italy player also controls say Yugoslavia, then Italy would send their turn to UK, then to USSR, then France, then USA, then back to Italy(Yugo's turn), then on to Germany for the next round, then back to Italy. Hopefully this shows the potential for confusion and inefficiency. Maybe it is hard-coded and cannot be fixed, but I wanted to raise it.
     
  14. Dale

    Dale Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Messages:
    6,986
    Sorry, can't be done. The order of play is determined by the WBS. It determines the player number for each civ.
     
  15. Eadro

    Eadro Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    This bug can be circumvent by repeatedly loading your save game. After each reload, some of the red research fields would turn blue so that research can continue.

    After a while I had at least some options left to choose from. Not pretty, but at least it allowed me to continue with the mission...
     
  16. VeteranLurker

    VeteranLurker Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    View attachment 172707

    Having a problem with an Open Mode game as Italy started in 1936. Game crashes with a memory error, even upon reloading and rebooting.
     
  17. Eadro

    Eadro Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Hmm, I can load and play your savegame. Just when I exit to desktop I get the crash message due to memory error. I get the memory error twice actually uporn exiting to the desktop. Also noticed red technology icons in you version tree... still wonder if these are normal or not. You still have many options to choose from though...

    However I do have continous problems with crashing save games myself. I sometimes need to reload 10 times until the game runs properly. And then it just might crash at turn's end or when I promote some unit. Sometimes it will bring me an emprty Technology adviser screen, with no options at all, run without the user interface until save and reload.

    Sorry Dale, the beta3 is not working well for me to say the least.
     
  18. Eadro

    Eadro Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Oh and one more thing, in the pacific scenario, Australia seems to be building new cities. One was founded (or already existing, I'm not sure) just below East Timor on the mainland with the name TEXT_KEY_CITY_NAME_WWW2_AUSTRALIA18.

    The other one was definately founded. The location is where Auckland, NZ would be, but the name is also cryptic (TEXT_KEY_CITY_NAME_WWW2_AUSTRALIA19).

    Up to you if you want to add a list of City Names for newly founded cities or not. Banning settlers could also be an option...
     
  19. Fin Imperial

    Fin Imperial Monarchist

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    Kingdom of Finland
    I don't get it why it comes. One time I was bored and added some cities(they actually come in settlers) in Worldbuilder around the world to fill it. All names were just like that, but later playing Yugoslavia, I decided to build a settler, and the default name was Canberra:confused:
    Also, when AI build cities, the names are are weird ones.
    Hint for AI using worldbuilder all the time?;)
     
  20. VeteranLurker

    VeteranLurker Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Am now getting the memory allocation CTD with a Random Events game. Any ideas?
     

Share This Page