1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Sound Bug: Field Cannon won't stop wheel sound when done with moves.

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Bug Reports' started by Dearmad, Oct 23, 2016.

  1. Dearmad

    Dearmad Dead weight

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,436
    As above. Field Cannon only. Sound stops when my turn is done but goes throughout my turn if I move one. Or if the AI moves one. Annoying.
     
    nzcamel likes this.
  2. Tuvok694

    Tuvok694 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    I can confirm this.
    Once the sound was even still there when I had started a new game.
     
  3. Tuvok694

    Tuvok694 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    After the recent patch I have this problem even more often than before. Very annoying.
     
  4. nzcamel

    nzcamel Nahtanoj the Magnificent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,210
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    I used to have this problem when the game first released. Haven't had it in ages....
     
  5. Tuvok694

    Tuvok694 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    I have the problem very often, but it seems to be connected to the location of great generals. Very very annoying.
     
  6. nzcamel

    nzcamel Nahtanoj the Magnificent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,210
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    I've been having it more lately...
     
  7. gimper42

    gimper42 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Messages:
    176
    This happens to me a lot. I would call it normal at this point, in fact.
     
  8. Tuvok694

    Tuvok694 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    Not much traffic here, so the problem seems limited to some players?
    This "never ending sound" appears in EVERY game of mine at some point in time.
    I hope so much that they fix this soon, pleeeease!!!
     
  9. nzcamel

    nzcamel Nahtanoj the Magnificent

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,210
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Christchurch, New Zealand
    I find it's the siege tower and generals as much as cannons.
     
    evanaurora likes this.
  10. Sir Stanczyk

    Sir Stanczyk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    I have that problem which is part of the greater sounds problems (sounds slowly fade away until game is silent and has to reopened...)
    Anyone will find a solution - I will be greatful (also I would be greatful for creators to make a patch fixing sounds ;) )
     
  11. Tuvok694

    Tuvok694 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    This horrible horrible bug is driving me crazy. In my current game I've been hearing the "humming" sound of some great general mercilessly for about 300 rounds.It's giving me a headache.
    If there is anyone who knows how to fix this, pleeeeeeeeease let me know!!!
     
  12. MarcoFurio

    MarcoFurio Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Brazil
    It's true.
    Such annoying sound in after renaiscence or industrial era.
    When the map is crowded with units, the non stopping cannon's wheels sound makes the game irritating.
     
  13. sonicmyst

    sonicmyst Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2016
    Messages:
    788
    Location:
    Philippines
    workaround: focus your camera far away from the bugged unit. note this will not eliminate the looping wheel sound when your camera refocused on that unit. in my experience, sometimes when I do this, the looping sound stops when I refocus.
     
    evanaurora likes this.
  14. SaMatra

    SaMatra Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    I'm on very good PC and this starts happening for me only in late game when FPS drops and micro freezes occur, this bug happens exactly during this moment of micro freeze in the game. Friend of mine is on slower PC and he can get this bug very early in the game. I guess sound engine omits sound stop command in case of game freezing or something.
     
  15. Tyroq

    Tyroq Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    I've had this problem sometimes too.

    Possible explanation/workaround:


    I only seem to have this occur when I give orders to a new unit while another is still moving. For example: I order a field cannon to move 4 tiles along a road, then because I'm impatient I order a nearby musketman to move while the FC is still moving. Sometimes this causes the FC to continue looping the movement sound, but it only does so if I'm looking at it on screen. And when I click new turn, it eventually goes away as all sounds are refreshed with the new turn. I wonder if anyone using quick moves has this problem?
     
  16. Tuvok694

    Tuvok694 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    I'm using quick moves for a long time, and I have that stupid sound problem sooner or later in EVERY game. I am no IT expert but is it really that hard to fix?
    When do we get the next patch?
     
  17. spfun

    spfun Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    652
    I also get this, had it in Civ 5 also. Looping sound bugs get pretty annoying.
     
  18. Dearmad

    Dearmad Dead weight

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,436
    Amazingly for me this bug still exists... only the field cannon though...
     
  19. Tuvok694

    Tuvok694 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    ...and in the latest patch it is NOT fixed!!! :mad::mad::mad:
    I was hoping sooooo much...
     
    SaMatra and kamex like this.
  20. Piruparka

    Piruparka Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    562
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Germany
    I can confirm, this seems to be a possible source of the problem, I noticed this, too. However, it also seems to appear with the battering ram, so I am not sure this really is linked to a certain unit type.

    Agree, in civ 5 this happened as well, but the reason was another: IIrc, it only happened when you unfocused the game while moving a unit, e. g. when alt-tabbing to another program while a unit was moving.
     

Share This Page