1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Specialize cities by building districts of the same thing

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Spartan_X, Jun 22, 2016.

  1. AriochIV

    AriochIV Colonial Ninja

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    5,774
    Location:
    Nehwon
    The tooltips in the first video seem to support this. For example when the Holy Site tile is hovered over, the only yield shown is the 1 Faith, and not anything from the plains tile it's on.
     
  2. historix69

    historix69 Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,242
    They said that a city needs a certain population before it is allowed to build the first district etc. ...

    Example (numbers might be wrong):
    size 3 : 1 district allowed
    size 5 : 2 districts allowed
    size 7 : 3 districts ...
    size 10 : 4 districts ...
    ...
    size 30 : 12 districts ...
     
  3. stiiknafuulia

    stiiknafuulia King

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    Messages:
    603
    Although it may have been unclear, this is what I meant; imo, if a screen is on the map, that is close enough to it no longer existing. :p

    I didn't notice before, though, that you have to click on a button to enable the pseudo-existant metaphysical city screen ('PEMCS' :lol:). That is a mistake, imo, as it's still interrupting the game's flow for no good reason. It might even be worse, since you now have to click on a tiny icon in the lower right corner of the screen, instead of clicking on the city itself. Why not simply show the yields when you click on the city one time (or double-click, if one click chooses a unit that's in the city)?

    EDIT: Re: district yields: How disappointing. I suppose there's still time for them to change it... It's in the minor league of disappointments, and ofc we can't get everything that we want from any game, but it seems like a careless blunder to me because it's so obviously non-immersive and non-interactive ('what, my blacksmiths cannot be assigned to the furnaces to add further to production?'). What's worse, I fear that it will be the same for wonders as well... :scared: Oh well, modders to the rescue I guess.
     
  4. KrikkitTwo

    KrikkitTwo Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,316
    They said Probably. There is almost certainly no hard cap, so a city could have 12, it would just lose a lot of Wonder and food/growth tiles

    Some of those buildings will probably allow specialists (which may be important for the base yield now that there are other ways to get GP points.)

    They may also improve the specialists.
     
  5. King Jason

    King Jason Fleece-bearer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,027
    Two things;

    First, It would probably be sub-optimal, and the person I quoted is trying to say that cities will just build every district and be great at everything, which is the main thing I'm contesting. I highly doubt a city containing all 12 districts will be normal.

    Two, I think it's entirely possible there's some form of a cap considering we know that district count is tied to population, which is therefore tied to growth (which is why I higlighted it in your post). Pretty sure we've seen something to the effect of the first district being available at pop 3, 2nd at pop 7, or some version thereof. So as an extention of the initial point - I highly doubt it will be the norm that cities would reach the population levels required to support all 12 districts.
     
  6. KrikkitTwo

    KrikkitTwo Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,316
    I think it would definitely be sub optimal,

    We know one of the districts (space port) seems strictly to be used for a Space Race victory (and looks like you only build 1/empire). If there is another district that is strictly/strongly based on a victory type, then it could be something you would never build along with a Spaceport in a real game.

    We know the first is available at 1 and the 3rd at 7.... I would definitely hope your biggest (core) cities could get to supporting 12 fairly easily (assuming that you focused on that somewhat and didn't clutter the space up with too many Wonders)
     
  7. King Jason

    King Jason Fleece-bearer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,027
    Personally I hope it's rare and dependent on location, not jut whether the city is "core" or not; like in civ4, sometimes you just find spots that allow you to reach ungodly populations... but that wasn't the norm.

    I think the emphasis should be in specializing.
     
  8. KrikkitTwo

    KrikkitTwo Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,316
    I think a large city would specialize more in what districts have prime positions rather than which districts it has (possibly also which districts it puts specialists in ...ie multiple people working the tille)
     
  9. King Jason

    King Jason Fleece-bearer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,027
    Fair point in fact. Since we know mountains provide both a bonus to faith and science districts, if you founded a city with hex that had say, 3 adjacent mountains - your choice becomes does that city produce an a lot of science or a lot of faith.

    So even in this counters the statement of the original person whom I quoted because no two cities would be producing the same yields even if they had the same number of districts, the same districts, and the same general improvements - or even, to go to the extreme; the same terrain.

    Because city A.) may have used the hex with 3 mountains to place it's science district; city B.) may have used the 3 mountains for the religious district.

    With all other variables being equal, the two "identical" cities produce different yields.
     
  10. Acken

    Acken Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Messages:
    5,635
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    QC, Canada
    I hope not. The possibility to stack the same district would not be as fun as it sounds if you factor in % bonuses. One of the major reason I cannot stand GalCiv.
     
  11. historix69

    historix69 Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,242
    Don't forget about Housing and Amenities ... a Farm provides +1 Food and +0.5 Housing ... there are adjacency boni for connected farms (maybe like the maori statues in Civ5)
     
  12. chaosprophet

    chaosprophet Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    160
    The first gameplay video shows a city building it's second district at pop 4.
     
  13. chazzycat

    chazzycat Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,873
    That's not exactly what I meant. I was talking more about empty hexes NEXT to the resources. Assuming districts get an adjacency bonus for resources nearby, (maybe this is where I'm wrong?) you would want your industrial district to be in between two coals for example. But you didn't know there would be coal there, so you built a science district already.
     
  14. rastak

    rastak Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    1,553
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Them's the breaks. Like building a city on a fault line you didn't know existed.

    Oops.....
     
  15. KrikkitTwo

    KrikkitTwo Immortal

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,316
    So far none of the adjacency bonuses/restritions for districts have included resources. (And the only known Wonder resource restriction is bonus -stone for stonehenge- rather than strategic)
     
  16. King Jason

    King Jason Fleece-bearer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,027
    Not technically true.. The industrial district gets adjacency bonuses to mines and quarries.. and while mines are likely to be planted on hills as usual (although, can we talk about the fact that we actually haven't seen a mine that wasn't on a resource so far?)*, It's unclear if quarries are restricted to things like stone and marble.

    I assume so, based on previous games. With that assumption, The Industrial district bonuses at least partially include resources by extension of their improvement.

    Spoiler :
    *I decided to look at one of the videos for a mine that wasn't on a resource. I believe I've found one.
     
  17. chazzycat

    chazzycat Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,873
    I believe we have seen a "generic" mine with no resources (top right):
    Spoiler :
    So I'm guessing that hills will take predominance over resources when it comes to planning industrial districts.
     
  18. mjs0

    mjs0 The 4th X

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    1,063
    Location:
    Central Florida
    I was under the impression you could build districts as follows:
    • No more than 1 for population 1-3
    • No more than 2 for population 4-6
    • No more than 3 for population 7-9
    • etc...

    So basically:
    Code:
    districtsAvailable = RoundUp(population/3)
     
  19. chaosprophet

    chaosprophet Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    160
    That's one way to say it. Or you can say at least 4 pop for 2 districts, at least 7 pop for the 3 districts, and so on. But it's the same, yeah.
     
  20. Stringer1313

    Stringer1313 King

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    920
    Was hoping to resurrect this thread. It doesn't sound like cities will be allowed to build two districts of the same type. SHOULD they be allowed to though? Was curious about this GalCiv comment -- why was that system so bad?
     

Share This Page