1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

stupid ai

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by kristopherb, Jul 16, 2006.

  1. kristopherb

    kristopherb Protective/Charismatic

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,210
    Location:
    British Empire Soul:Tesco
    the title says it all
    Civ4ScreenShot0010.JPG
    :eek:
     
  2. Artanis

    Artanis King

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    673
    Wait..so you have sent a massive force of one of the most powerful units in the game against an AI that you have outsized and outteched (and which has probably already been beaten up a few times by Isabella)...and the fact that you somehow managed to win is suddenly proof that the AI is stupid?

    C'mon, you can do better than that ;)
     
  3. Mongolia

    Mongolia Khan

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Farnham, Surrey, England, UK
    Plus you can always turn up the difficulty level.
    (Unless you are playing at the top difficulty level which I am almost certain you are not)
     
  4. Gam

    Gam Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Ghandi is last in score for a reason.
     
  5. jimbob27

    jimbob27 Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,430
    Location:
    London
    I'm fed up with people cussing civ's AI. The AI in civ4 is absolutely fantastic considering the immence task it has.... and I challenge anyone who says otherwize to a duel to the death.:ar15: :ar15:
     
  6. GenocideBringer

    GenocideBringer King

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    628
    IF anyone's ever played GalCiv 2, that's a prime example of good AI.

    Not how it started...the AI was rather so-so then...but through patches, the devs improved the AI immensely. Every time the players would point something out about the stupidity of the AI, the devs would fix it. Although, to be fair, GalCiv 2 is more simplistic than Civ IV


    I know Civ 4 has done the same thing...I recently came back to Civ IV and Noble difficulty is FAR harder than I remember it. But what I'd like to see is even more AI improvement in patches
     
  7. King Flevance

    King Flevance Deity

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,612
    Location:
    Kansas City, MO
    I agree the screenshot does not prove the AI's stupidity. Merely its current position. Unless there is an amusing story behind it in some way.

    Also to throw in, the AI doesn't get smarter on the higher levels. Just cheaper stuff.
     
  8. migthegreek

    migthegreek Back In Black

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    459
    I think there is something amusing about the picture - it looks like they've opted for suicide, and set their city on fire. :lol:
     
  9. vsipinen

    vsipinen Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    233
    Why doesn't the AI try to take the settler and worker to safety with the galley, even as it seems unavoidable that it will loose the city very soon ?
     
  10. kristopherb

    kristopherb Protective/Charismatic

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,210
    Location:
    British Empire Soul:Tesco
    the resourse is corn dalis on
    that stack was hlf my invasoin force
    i cant raze because of the cant raze optoin +i like keeping the capitals as tropeys
     
  11. Columbkille

    Columbkille Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    92
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    I'd watch out for that fast worker if I were you. You need like 50 redcoats to bring one down.
     
  12. Tekee

    Tekee Bahama Mama

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,162
    Location:
    Pidoria
    Ah I see, unless the Ai wanted to get at those Fish and Clams.
     
  13. Tekee

    Tekee Bahama Mama

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,162
    Location:
    Pidoria
    But I think the AI is brilliant in Civ4 but it sometimes annos me when they AI is about to capture my City then just stops attacking.
     
  14. kristopherb

    kristopherb Protective/Charismatic

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,210
    Location:
    British Empire Soul:Tesco
    the ai has settled on corn
     
  15. Rael

    Rael Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Location:
    Rzeszów, SE Poland
    Wheat actually.

    The reason for this is that AI always settles right in its starting position (the city on the screenshot was capital, right?), which is pretty stupid. This is a small problem but I don't know why AI is unable to change its capital placement. In other cases AIs avoid placing their cities on resource tiles
     

Share This Page