1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

tech level of rebelling new nations

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall RAND' started by bitparity, Dec 2, 2009.

  1. bitparity

    bitparity Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    IMO, it's rather unrealistic that whenever a new nation forms from within an existing empire it takes on the tech level of the current average of technology of the world. Is there anyway to set it so that the tech level of a new nation formed from an existing one is the same as the old nation?

    I say this because it'll be very disconcerting if i have a large, but very low tech empire that mass produces infantry for defense and offense (the chinese) and a sudden revolt from the newly arisen egyptians gives them mechanized infantry.

    Which file would would this tech level setting be in?
     
  2. Arkaeyn

    Arkaeyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    936
    Location:
    nomad, USA
    The thing is, a new nation isn't necessarily going to be coming from a single existing nation. If it's on the borders, it could take cities from several at once.
     
  3. Ready_set_go

    Ready_set_go Too Late

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    I think the way it is, for now, is accurate, as they could of learned technologies, let's say from civs you have open borders with.
     
  4. CheeseWalrus

    CheeseWalrus Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    155
    Location:
    Virgo supercluster
    Well then, just give it the average between all the nations it gains cities from.
     
  5. Ready_set_go

    Ready_set_go Too Late

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Still, they could be learning things from other civs. Even though I've had games in the classical periods when they were way ahead of me, wasn't fun, but they lost quickly.
     
  6. Metal Alloy Man

    Metal Alloy Man Back in Black

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    761
    Wait, what difficulty level are you playing on?
     
  7. Ready_set_go

    Ready_set_go Too Late

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    333
    Location:
    Massachusetts, USA
    Wrote that up wrong. Take out that part where it "shouldn't matter." I don't know what I was thinking. It was a Monarch game, I was Mayans, and started about 17 turns in. Then Mali spawned with like 7 more techs then me. It was a decent amount of time later, but it was almost like 50 turns later. It was almost like my UP wasn't working.
     
  8. bitparity

    bitparity Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    so which file in rfc rand holds the calculations on the tech level of emerging civs?
     
  9. Crimson Phantom

    Crimson Phantom Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    54
    Location:
    Coolsylvania
    Hey, mods are never perfect. Maybe it's "cheating", but I prefer realism: I refuse to allow Ethiopia to respawn in 1750 in the Industrial era when all of Europe has yet to acheive such a tech level.
     
  10. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,561
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    No they couldn't. Or otherwise any civ should/could. The game mechanics are that a civ doesn't learn techs with other civs it has OB with, so this explanation doesn't really work.
     

Share This Page