1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The AI "THINKS" on Sid!!

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Strategy & Tips' started by axehaxe, Jul 30, 2006.

  1. axehaxe

    axehaxe Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    473
    :eek: :eek: :eek:
    :mad: :mad: :mad:
    I can't believe the AI has 6 to 8 spearmen guarding each city on Sid!!!!!

    I attacked an Egyptian city with a stack of 3 swords and 11 archers and I managed to redline the next to last defender! :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: !!!!!!! ARRRRRRGGGG!!!!!!!!

    Things looked really good until THAT happened :cry:

    I retired b/c it was OBVIOUSLY a lose having failed that rush and I only had 7 cities while they had 19.

    Plus it looked like Spain was going to beat me to the GL.
     
  2. Sir_Lancelot

    Sir_Lancelot Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Europe
    Nah, how can you say it "thinks" because of that? It just happens to be very productive on sid. :)
     
  3. metamike

    metamike Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    224
    How is starting out with extra defenders, and fortifying them in cities by stacks of large amounts thinking? -.- That's more like...not thinking, I mean, he prolly didn't have any on strategic resources did he? :p
     
  4. Ansar

    Ansar Détente avec l'été

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    10,555
    Location:
    Ithaca, NY (soon)
    AI starts with about 40 extra units on Sid.... :coffee: :hammer:
     
  5. axehaxe

    axehaxe Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    473
    :eek: 40!!!!!!!????????????

    omg...
     
  6. Sir_Lancelot

    Sir_Lancelot Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Europe
    no way!!

    .
     
  7. Virtual Alex

    Virtual Alex King

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    It's written somewhere. They start with 3 settlers, 5 workers, like... 3 offensive units and 10 defensive units or something of that nature.
     
  8. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    Yeah, it's an insane number of extra units. I don't recall rightly what it is, but just looking in the editor can tell you.

    No to mention the 40% build cost for the AI....
     
  9. handy900

    handy900 Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    2,411
    Location:
    Tennessee, USA
    Actually they don't think. Many of those spears will leave the city to chase a lone archer. You need develop a plan to bait the units out of the city so you can take it. If you can bait them to a remote area you can move in behind to take cities. You'll need to do some planning & pillaging on the front end, and mass naval landings work best. It takes along time to beat Sid and becomes so tedious it is more like work than play (for me anyway) after the first couple times.

    Example of a bait here to draw Sumeria to a remote unimportant part of the map. Once you draw them out the usually just camp on the grass and watch while you raze their cities (now occupied by far fewer units). Some feel this tactic is exploitive, but how are you conna kill 50 rifles in a city with trebs & knights? If you thinks it's an exploit, don't use it.


    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showpost.php?p=2713629&postcount=62

    And the large amount of free unit support allows for a huge army.
     
  10. guare

    guare Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    91
    Location:
    Bras-damn-zil.
    until what level the AI dont get ANY starting bonuses?
     
  11. AutomatedTeller

    AutomatedTeller Frequent poster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    7,540
    Location:
    Medford, MA
    They start getting bonuses at Monarch.

    At Regent, you and the AI are equal.

    Below Regent, you actually get bonuses.
     
  12. Tomoyo

    Tomoyo Fate

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    9,698
    Location:
    Boston, Mass
    You mean, below Regent, the AI gets penalties.
     
  13. AutomatedTeller

    AutomatedTeller Frequent poster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    7,540
    Location:
    Medford, MA
    actually, both.

    if regent is normal, you research faster, and they build slower.
     
  14. Tomoyo

    Tomoyo Fate

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    9,698
    Location:
    Boston, Mass
    Psh, using my correction from another thread against me. :p

    If you really want to get technically, it's a "discount", not a "bonus". Bonus implies that you get something extra that you don't otherwise. The discount prevents you from spending too many resources to get something you otherwise would have anyway.

    :p
     
  15. Turner

    Turner Deity Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Messages:
    28,169
    Location:
    Randomistan
    So then it would be accurate to say that below Regent the AI gets the penalties. Above Regent you do.
     
  16. Cheezy the Wiz

    Cheezy the Wiz Socialist In A Hurry

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    25,238
    Location:
    Freedonia
    Which is why I refuse to play at any other level than Regent.
     
  17. azzaman333

    azzaman333 meh

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    22,877
    Location:
    Melbourne, AUS Reputation:131^(9/2)
    If you can make the AI better without giving it bonuses, please do that, otherwise the system is the best it can be.
     
  18. Virtual Alex

    Virtual Alex King

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Yeah I used to think like that too. But the bottom line is, and it's be stated a MILLION times. The human brain is an unfair advantage. Forethought is an unfair advantage. A human can plan something out thousands of years in advance, the AI can't. The human can say, I will have the Glib in 20 turns, so I can't stop concentrating on science, and starting building a huge army, so I can spend my free science time to dominate the world. The AI couldn't do that.

    Also the ai has certain handicaps at all levels like, the inability to bombard, the inability to use armies, inability to take risks with ships for contacts ect. Even the simple dumbness of how it improves it's tiles. So I got over my "even playingfield" mentality. I play on the diff level that makes me sweat the most, while still allowing me to win :king:
     
  19. adog

    adog Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    442
    ^^^ Well said, Virtual Alex.
     
  20. Sir_Lancelot

    Sir_Lancelot Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Europe
    It has been proven difficult to make an unbeatable chess program. A game like Civilization is much more complex than chess.
     

Share This Page