The Grom Empire (custom alien sponsor)

GravityGames

Chieftain
I figured that I might as well make a thread, as a good bit of the heavy work is done (outside of making the custom sponsor image), so here's my progress thread for a sponsor based off of the Grom Empire. I've seen a lot of people want some sort of alien sponsor (TBH I'd like to see one as well), but I'm not really good at making things that are scientifically plausible, so instead I'm doing the Grom Empire.

Here's the current sponsor icon:

Not final, I think I made the glow too big, and the outline doesn't start dark enough, when compared to the other sponsor icons. Also, the glow needs to be manually edited so the glow better matches the icon shape (I made the graphic in Inkscape with vector art, rather with bitmap art in GIMP)

...and here is the current perks. If anyone knows how to affect the rate of science, let me know, as I was originally going to have the downside of playing as the Grom be a decreased rate of science development. Until I can figure that out, we have

I was able to figure out the problem, the current Grom perks are:

+ Covert Ops take 50% less time (the Grom are supposed to be stealing their tech, point of advice)

- 50% less science is generated

...not sure if I should bother typing out cultural background, I'll just save it for when I write the Civilopedia entry that no one will read...

I'll update this post when I make the sponsor image, until then, I guess I'd like criticism on the icon and whether or not the Grom are balanced.

Well, here's an update since I'm almost done with the model, here's the WIP:

...and here's the updated icon (though without the frame or anything):