1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

The new patch seems to have arrived

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Clement, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. jomorisin

    jomorisin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    i can't tell if anything has been downloaded. all i know is my CiV version is 1.0.0.20.

    Is this the patch version?
     
  2. salaminizer

    salaminizer Colorado Internacional

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    221
    Location:
    Porto Alegre, Brasil
    great,finally back to CiV!
     
  3. dexters

    dexters Gods & Emperors Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,182
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    Sadly no, these are baby steps, there is at least one more patch to come, probably two (one for MP fixes) and I'm worried the baby may stumble.
     
  4. atteSmythe

    atteSmythe Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    243
    Mostly looks good, but any idea what this means?
     
  5. BobDole

    BobDole American Leader in Civ VI

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    811
    Unfortunately it looks like saved games before the patch won't work (forget what the error was, but forced the game to close once, forced me to shut down the comp twice because I couldn't see the error message). Oh well.....there goes my Gandhi 3 city cultural win that was upcoming.
     
  6. Seanirl

    Seanirl U-Boat Commander

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    629
    Location:
    Éire
    Producing Wealth in city used to give 10% of its Production as Gold. Now it gives 25% like Research does. I was confused by it at first when I saw it a while ago too...
     
  7. Clammo

    Clammo Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Yeah, same problem here. My huge map marathon game I'd put on hold to avoid the 70 city bug seems to not load anymore. Grr, game was pretty closely contested and nearly finished too.
     
  8. Osetjka

    Osetjka Gondorian Armor Command

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    71
    Probably 25% hammer to wealth conversion?
     
  9. Senethro

    Senethro Overlord

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    5,037
    Location:
    The cutest of cephalopods
    Given that you already need Steam to play the game, why are you objecting to using Steam to guarantee a fast download and smooth install?

    Could it be you're a pirate and bitter that patches are not for the likes of you?
     
  10. Ashwind

    Ashwind Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    100
    :crazyeye:
     
  11. Sonereal

    Sonereal ♫We got the guillotine♫ Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    14,877
    In the corner of your screen, a pop-up will say Civilization 5 has finished downloading.
     
  12. atteSmythe

    atteSmythe Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    243
    Ah, Wealth production in a city. Duh, thanks.

    Definitely makes Wealth better than disbanding Scouts now. ;)
     
  13. jomorisin

    jomorisin Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    unfortunately i walked away while it was loading so all i have is the splash screen now.
     
  14. cmddata

    cmddata Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    There better be another patch forthcoming within 24 hours for this oversight. How could something this severe not get tested?
     
  15. atteSmythe

    atteSmythe Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    243
    Steam has a Downloads page that will/should show the progress of any current download, and the resolution of any download that happened this session (that is, until you close Steam again). Unfortunately, I'm away from my home PC, so I can't tell you exactly where that is...I think it's under View, though.
     
  16. SammyKhalifa

    SammyKhalifa Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    5,821
    Just start a new game. Sheesh.
     
  17. dexters

    dexters Gods & Emperors Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,182
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Canada
    1st Patches from nearly every Civ game/expansion always break saves. I sort of expected this to would happen given how much they were changing.
     
  18. Ashwind

    Ashwind Warlord

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Messages:
    100
    Patched version seems to be 1.0.0.62
     
  19. cmddata

    cmddata Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    310 turns in on a huge map with 20 cities that I've had to grind out every few turns between crashes and was looking to play all 500 turns. I'll be very disappointed if I cannot continue this through to the end.
     
  20. SlothMD

    SlothMD Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    You can use the regular steam.
     

Share This Page