The Refugee System

River Otter

Chieftain
Hello, I am new to the forum. I have looked on the Steam Workshop and on this site for anything like I'm trying to do, as I'm relatively new to coding, and I realize the project I'm attempting is not a simple model replacement. Unfortunately, other than this post on Workshop and an old thread about creating faith based refugee camps, it looks like this is so far an untested idea.

The following is a summary of what I'm trying to do. Any help on what functions I should be looking for to edit, or how to visualize a new system would be greatly appreciated.
__________________________________________________________________________________
I've looked at the code of the mod on Workshop, and it looks like it deals with only if a city is razed. I want to adjust population growth rates of surrounding cities not currently at war, or if there are none, increase barbarian spawn rates. The original mod maker listed the rate of population transfer as 25% of the razed population.

I want to do something similar, but have effects that change depending on the era.
__________________________________________________________________________________

The Refugee System aims to simulate the movement of people not killed by an event within the cities of a Civilization. In vanilla Civ, population takes a hit whenever it is captured. It's assumed that a portion of the population is killed or driven out of the city proper. In reality, many try to gain asylum in neighboring civs not involved in the current conflict.

I want to incentivize neighboring civs to respond to threats outside their borders by having repercussions to wars close to home, regardless of involvement.

MAIN MOD:
1) When a city is captured (early game) increase the spawn rate of barbarians surrounding that city (Up to 6 tiles away from city center)