1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

this game is boring

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Mr_Wonka, Oct 25, 2010.

  1. klokwerk

    klokwerk Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Messages:
    433
    Location:
    Paris
    No, Civ 4 was a lot more boring than Civ 5. Endless stacks of dooms. Yeah, I manage a 120 units stack, that's so cool. No, not really.

    I have a lot more fun with Civ 5 than I ever had with Civ 4, so no.
     
  2. zonk

    zonk Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    572
    Well, that's the fault line in the debate.

    Seems pretty clear that you play the series as a wargame. Nothing wrong with that. In fact, I would suspect that perhaps a slim majority of Civ players probably trend more towards that style of play.

    BUT - it certainly isn't a supermajority. A lot of Civ players don't view Civilization as a wargame. Sid himself said years ago that he never thought Civ was supposed to be a wargame.

    For the player not interested in solely managing the military and tactical battles -- V is boring.
     
  3. vandyr

    vandyr Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    How is unit movement no gain? That statement is asinine. There's no difference, its just a different part of empire management.


    Speak for yourself. I generally play small empires and late game wars, and don't find it any more boring than Civ 4 was during my "growth" phase.
     
  4. sketch162000

    sketch162000 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    The early "growth phase" was the best part of Civ IV, IMO while the later part of the game got tedious. The early game drags for me in Civ V. Ah well, different strokes, I guess...;)
     
  5. lschnarch

    lschnarch Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,296
    There is no gain in having to micro-manage your unit movement. And I am quite sceptical about the "empire management" aspect of having to wake your units every now and then because they may have run into a city, or to give new ordes just because another unit is (for just this one turn) sitting on their intermediate destination hex.
     
  6. vandyr

    vandyr Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    That's exactly the point. People can't accept it for what it is, but instead want to shed rivers of tears about how the game has personally insulted their deceased mother.
    Everybody will bring something different away from the experience of playing it, and its not meant to be Civ 4 2.0.

    That's not directed at you, by the way :) Just sayin
     
  7. vandyr

    vandyr Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    Yea, you're right...clicking one stack of 120 units into XX Enemy Capital was so much more rewarding. :rolleyes:

    Obviously there is gain to micromanaging your military, and I'm going to assume you're just arguing for the sake of argument here.
     
  8. zonk

    zonk Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    572
    I thought you were claiming upthread to be "builder"?

    Builders generally were pretty neutral on stacks - not big fans, but didn't particularly see them as "boring" because military action wasn't the gameplay focus.
     
  9. vandyr

    vandyr Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    I am, I generally run small empires and late game wars. I focus on all aspects of the game at some point, including conquest, and yes, I much prefer the 1upt combat system to Civ 4's SoD which to me was incredibly lame and generally boring as all hell. Micro managing military and support units is just another aspect of empire management.
     
  10. sketch162000

    sketch162000 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    At the same time, a lot of people paid their money for the next iteration in a game series that has thus far given them a certain enjoyable experience, only to find that Civ V is a major unexpected departure.

    They come on the forums to discuss their negative experience with Civ V, only to be instantly shot down by Civ V fanboys who act like critics just personally insulted their deceased mother.

    There's something to be said about the people can't accept the others have a different opinion of Civ V and feel that they need to defend the game at all costs as well...

    Ditto. :)
     
  11. vandyr

    vandyr Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    Well, from what I've read, a lot of people paid their money for Civ 4 2.0, and anyone with experience in the Civ franchise knows that's not how it works. Also, the vocal majority on this forum aren't the fanboys, so you can guess where the "shooting down" is really coming from, at least from where I sit. I mean c'mon...its been made painfully clear here that if a review doesn't bash Civ 5 its not a good review.
     
  12. lschnarch

    lschnarch Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,296
    Well, if you would have just "clicked" your stack of 120 units into an enemy city then you would have done something wrong.
    Fighting a battle with so many units would have been quite time consuming if done properly.

    But at least you could move them without hassle, and that is what we were talking about.
     
  13. vandyr

    vandyr Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    You're not talking about anything, you're complaining about a feature you don't like. People cry that there's not enough micro management in the economic management of the empire and then turn around and cry that there's too much micro management in the military aspect, when they both go hand in hand. You consider tactical unit management to be a hassle over the simplistic SoD armies of Civ 4, but then everyone decries Civ 5 for being "dumbed down". Amazing.
     
  14. lschnarch

    lschnarch Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,296
    What I am complaining about is the tediousness of having to move my units one by one while marching in complete safety through my empire.
    What I am complaining about is that one "friendly" unit sitting on a rough terrain tile within my own borders can block my army marching from the northern front to the southern one.
    What I am complaining about is that if one of these units hits one of my own cities, it will stop there (and I won't be notified), so that I have to check every turn, where they are.
    What I am complaining about is the pure fact that if one unit A is sitting on the end hex (for that turn) of unit B, unit B will stop and require new orders.

    Nothing of these things adds even the slightest bit to tactical movement. It adds a lot to unnecessary, redundant manual action with no gain.
    It is just that simple.
     
  15. Jharii

    Jharii King

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    696
    Location:
    Walled Lake, MI
    I have never had this happen to me one single time. I saw you post on this same item recently (yesterday?) and went so far as to try to force this behavior. I was unsuccessful in doing so. My units travelled seamlessly through cities, following their path, even when they stopped on the city in mid-path.

    I agree that your other items are definitely tedious. But not game breaking. Grouping/following/rally point functionality would address this.
     
  16. vandyr

    vandyr Prince

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    Good lord dude, should the AI just move your units for you? Why do you even bother playing? I bet you automate all your workers too, don't you?

    I don't find any of the above tedious, then again, I appreciate having a grasp of the tactical situation at all times, which moving units individually affords you. Like Sketch said above, to each his own.

    I also haven't experienced a unit with orders to pass through a city stopping in one, which sounds like a bug. Everything else about your list doesn't bother me in the slightest, with the exception of neutral unit stacking (military and support).

    Like Jharii said, unit grouping ( not stacking ) and setting rally points etc would be a good addition, but again, the lack of them is hardly game breaking.
     
  17. lschnarch

    lschnarch Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,296
    Well, I have happened this now several times. And I am quite sure that sometimes I am even not noticing it, as I may have got distracted and just lost kept tracing them.

    I don't know what the determining factors are, most probably (but this is just my assumption at the moment) it happens when the unit ends in this city and the next turn the designated next end-hex will have been occupied by another unit.

    What I remember now that I am typing is that it happens with mounted units trying to attack an enemy in front of your city, while the mounted unit itself is coming from the backside.
    The unit will stop in the city. And even then you cannot directly order it again to attack, but you first have to move it out of the city, and THEN to attack.
     
  18. JLoZeppeli

    JLoZeppeli Prince

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    598
    Jharii, to be honest it happens to me quite often, i set the movement than i forget them only to discover them hiding in a city on the path... Probably it's a something in the path that blocks them, it not happens ever, so i think it was some other unit passing by, but i'm not sure of that... Maybe is the setting of the path, maybe if some other unit cross-path it set the city as last hex...
     
  19. lschnarch

    lschnarch Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,296
    Indeed, it should do so, when I have given a "move to" order. Where's the point in that feature, if I have to correct it all the times manually?

    This constitutes a broken feature.
     
  20. Jharii

    Jharii King

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    696
    Location:
    Walled Lake, MI
    Maybe I am missing some element to the issue. I'll play with it again tonight.
     

Share This Page