1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Dismiss Notice
  6. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

Trading Posts

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by EgyptRaider, Apr 14, 2013.

  1. EgyptRaider

    EgyptRaider Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I've been hoping for a while that the cottage system of Civ IV would return, the Trading posts are just... mehhhh... and their look is a bit out of place for me. While I guess that the change of getting the cottage system back is small, I still hope that there will be changes to the Trading Posts..

    Now I've noted that in every screenshot the trading post seems absent. Did I miss one hidden in a video preview or in a corner of the screenshot or are there really no trading posts sided? Can this indicate that they're either removed from the game, which makes sense with the new trade system, or that their concept is changed?
     
  2. AriochIV

    AriochIV Analyst

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    4,961
    Location:
    San Jose, California
    It is true that Trading Posts are conspicuously absent from every screenshot I've seen.
     
  3. Petiscator

    Petiscator Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2012
    Messages:
    785
    Location:
    Brazil
    I also looked for TPs and found none. I think there is something there. We saw a "fortified trading post" in that poster, maybe the cottage system IS back? What if, as time passes (or upon entering a new age) your TP becomes a fortified TP (?) and yields something else?
     
  4. Ogenvi

    Ogenvi Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    There isn't any image of BNW which shows a trading post. I think that cottage system won't return with this expansion, and that is a shame.
     
  5. Inhalaattori

    Inhalaattori Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,251
    Location:
    Up North
    I think you should be able to build trading posts only along rivers and/or on the coast. It is stupid that you can spam them everywhere.
     
  6. Securion

    Securion Civ Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    730
    Location:
    Earth (mostly..)
    Maybe Trade Routes will give enough gold so building TPs wont be necessary?
    God i hope so. TPs are so awful.
     
  7. ferretbacon

    ferretbacon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2012
    Messages:
    691
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    North Texas
    And on roads. That makes the most sense.
     
  8. strijder20

    strijder20 Wallowing in irony

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    5,047
    Location:
    In Dystopia
    I actually think I saw a reference to that somewhere.
     
  9. Hakan-i Cihan

    Hakan-i Cihan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    Netherlands
    I do agree partially. I hope that trade routes give part of the gold you could get from TP's. And the other part by a restricted cottage system replacing the TP's.
     
  10. Muzzway

    Muzzway Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    I suspect it may just be for aesthetic purposes. I noticed that many of the hills are left unmined, as well. Notice the hills around Lisbon:
    Spoiler :


    There aren't any lumber mills in Portugese borders, either.

    Many people criticized Civ 5 for reducing meaningful choices for worker management. If they did actually remove trading posts from the game (assuming they aren't replaced by cottages, for which there is no screenshot evidence), it would almost reduce that choice completely. So, you're left with deciding whether to put a mine or a farm on that riverside hill?
     
  11. EgyptRaider

    EgyptRaider Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    If they've removed all the trading posts only for aesthetic then they at least have the idea that there is something wrong with the current trading posts.
     
  12. Kennan

    Kennan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Sweden
  13. JSMCAG

    JSMCAG Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    780
    That's old Gods & Kings footage, as you can see by the UI (Baroque inspired UI, Adviser button on top right, no Internation Trade Routs or Tourism counter on top) and, therefore, doesn't reflect the new expansion.
     
  14. Inhalaattori

    Inhalaattori Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,251
    Location:
    Up North
    No. That is from old version. As you can see there is no tourism output or trade routes.
     
  15. ShallowGrave

    ShallowGrave Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Yeah, thats G&K footage. I think they scrapped trading posts altogether in favor of internal and external trade routes.
     
  16. Securion

    Securion Civ Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    730
    Location:
    Earth (mostly..)
    That looks like Gods and Kings footage though.

    EDIT; Im late as usual...
     
  17. Tinker

    Tinker Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    535
    That's a G&K screenshot, though.
     
  18. Dark_Jedi06

    Dark_Jedi06 "Deus ex Machina."

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,282
    Gender:
    Male
    I swear that I read somewhere that one of the new civs had a UA that allowed trading posts to be built on coasts, I could have imagined this though.

    Perhaps they've changed the way trading posts function and they're still waiting on the big reveal, keeping them absent from screenshots to see if we notice. :p
     
  19. Bechhold

    Bechhold Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    490
    Just bring back cottages while making Trade Posts related to CS in terms of Influence, Spheres of Control, Economic values etc.

    Or is that too complicated?
     
  20. Gamewizard

    Gamewizard Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,213
    In one of the recent articles it was said that Portugal had this special ability, but the article could have been referencing the Portuguese UI.
     

Share This Page