Optional
Deity
Now and then still new things are being discovered about the game mechanics, so I wouldn't rule out the chance. When I tested resource depletion a while back, I discovered it made a difference whether a resource was hooked up through a colony or not, and I don't think that was discovered before.Obviously it's tough for me being objective in this matter, but if this were a feature, we'd not be the first to recognize it.
I've never heard about anything that would affect movement in enemy territory, but I haven't tested it either, so I can't be sure.
But how was the turn order here? Did it go Calis > Eclipse > Hawklord? And Hawklord was able to use Calis' railroads but Eclipse was not? That would still be weird, if that was the case.