1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

UI size?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Macintosh' started by contrasupra, Mar 2, 2017.

  1. contrasupra

    contrasupra Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Gender:
    Female
    This might be a weird question but is anyone noticing that in the Mac port the UI is really really large? I'm playing on a 13" MBP (not recommended I know, but it seems to be running basically fine, if a little sluggish in the late game) and for me the UI is HUGE. The panels take up a ton of screen real estate, especially in the city view. I'm already on the largest resolution allowed (I only get two options for some reason) and UI upscaling is definitely not on. The weird thing though is that previously I was running the game in Bootcamp on the exact same machine and the UI was if anything, excessively tiny and I had to scale it up to see it. I'm not sure if this is an issue with the Mac port or the Bootcamp version or just my computer - has anyone else experienced anything like this?
     
  2. Siptah

    Siptah Eternal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    3,279
    Location:
    Lucerne
    I'm playing on a 13" MBP too but I don't seem to have this issue. The UI feels in good proportions to the 'main view'. Can you post a screenshot how it looks for you? Are you using any mods?

    I read elsewhere that you are using CQUI. So that's the reason for it. You can get some of that stuff without using that whole mod package (for example the better trade screen and the unit report screen mods) and I think you can disable parts of the mod anyway.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2017
  3. contrasupra

    contrasupra Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Gender:
    Female
    Does CQUI actually make the interface bigger? Or does it just make things seem more cramped on the city screen because it pops out more panels at once?
     
  4. Siptah

    Siptah Eternal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    3,279
    Location:
    Lucerne
    I don't think it enlarges stuff per se, but as you say, more panels appear. Especially when you click on a city.
     
  5. contrasupra

    contrasupra Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    84
    Gender:
    Female
    Yeah. I'm just wondering why the panels are so big to begin with, when in Bootcamp on the exact same machine they were nice and small. It seems like some sort of difference between the Mac and PC versions but I don't know what it could be.
     
  6. iamliberal

    iamliberal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    307
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    Can someone link to the cqui mod? I'm having trouble finding it...
     
  7. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    10,414
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    You can find it in the Steam Workshop (just search CQUI). But please note that it does not yet appear to have been updated for the new patch, so your game may not even load (much less play correctly) with CQUI enabled.
     
  8. iamliberal

    iamliberal Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    307
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    Thanks Brown, I'll look on steam. I'm using a Mac, so I don't have the new patch yet anyway ;)
     
  9. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    10,414
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    Well, there is that. :)
     

Share This Page