1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Units still attacking units in fog of war through move command

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by homan1983, Oct 17, 2016.

  1. homan1983

    homan1983 King

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    692
    Location:
    London
    Link

    time = 16m42s

    The knight is told to move 2 squares into a fog of war and it attacks the enemy scout without asking the player.

    :hammer2::hammer2::hammer2::hammer2:

    :nope::scared::scared::scared:

    edit2: fixed video link
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2016
  2. Lord Shadow

    Lord Shadow General

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    2,001
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Buenos Aires
    Unfortunate, but if the point of this thread is to call attention to a specific bug, you're not notifying the right people.

    It'd be more productive if you sent an email to the devs, or waited till Friday to file an actual bug report if this issue is still present in the release version.
     
  3. ExemplarVoss

    ExemplarVoss Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Messages:
    349
    I'm unclear what the problem is. It was told to go to that tile, so it went to that tile. That the player was dumb and moved where they couldn't see was user error.

    It isn't like it auto-declared war on someone with the move.
     
  4. IcyAngel

    IcyAngel Prince

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    544
    The same behavior is found in CiV. Not an error I think.
     
  5. joncnunn

    joncnunn Senior Java Wizard Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,621
    Location:
    Missouri
    Indeed, a unit on auto-move in Civ III would auto declare war on subs that weren't visible that they bumped into. (And in Conquests scenario Assassins.)

    In this case, it's a scout of someone you are at war with; if you are worried that attacking a mere scout would cause too much damage to a Knight it had no business advancing anyway.
     
  6. ls612

    ls612 Deity Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8,073
    Location:
    America
    One would think they could display the move normally but cancel the remaining moves when the enemy occupying your path becomes visible.
     
  7. narmox

    narmox Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,345
    Location:
    Canada
    That's the logical thing to do.
     
  8. Nick31

    Nick31 Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Messages:
    421
    I'm positive I saw some early build devplays where moving a scout 3 spaces through fog of war, and the 2nd move showed barbarians, resulted in a stop-move on the scout. The dev could change the last move.

    Now, in war... it'd certainly be helpful to have a similar mechanic, but I "think" the solved the barb issue already, which was most annoying in BNW if you moved too fast.
     
  9. pholtz

    pholtz King

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    665
    Location:
    California
    I have no problem with this. If you barrel into unknown territory without looking you may get into an unwanted fight. If you want to be careful about this, then move a hex at a time. I've seen so many moves in the let's plays' where if the player had moved one hex at a time, he would have done something different on his second hex move. If you hurry, you occasionally pay the price.
     
  10. narmox

    narmox Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,345
    Location:
    Canada
    Disagree. Especially with the unti cycling UI problem, this can lead to problems.

    I'd rather my units stop their orders and wake up when they see some trouble, rather than being dumb and simply forging ahead. Having to move one tile at a time was finally solved with the goto command and pathing in CivIII, so it should work WITH the player not against.
     
  11. Jaybe

    Jaybe civus fanaticus Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2001
    Messages:
    2,569
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    Impetuous tactical commanders are expected to mess up the strategic command (in Civ5 I extended the range of combat results to provide more variation). I don't know how happy I will be with stumbling into an unanticipated combat in the game.

    Also, there is a ranger promotion making the unit invisible until you are adjacent, so the situation may occur more often than we anticipate. Surprise!

    Actually I would prefer ALL units in woods or hills to not be seen from 2-3 hexes away.
     
  12. Magil

    Magil Monarch

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Surprising there's some anti-player sentiment in this thread. I don't feel like an attack should be executed unless a player specifically clicks on the enemy unit while its visible. It's nothing but a trap for inexperienced players, or players who get a bit lazy because 1UPT movement can get somewhat tedious when shuffling large amounts of units around.

    So I'll go with "unfortunate that they couldn't be bothered to change this". In this case, they should cancel the rest of the move and allow the player to see the unit in question.
     
    skyclad, c4c6, narmox and 1 other person like this.
  13. Lord Yanaek

    Lord Yanaek Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,497
    One would think this would require a more complex pathfinding algorithm. This algorithm is called so often that it probably accounts to 90-95% of the computing cycles used by the game.
    I'd sure love to have units stop whenever they would attack something unseen, but if the trade of is 2* longer turns, i'd rather learn to not send units into the FoW and move them one tile at a time.
    I might be wrong on this thought, you're the one who edited the dll for Ea mod so you might know better.
     
  14. mnf

    mnf King

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    659
    Could it be the one where they were talking about auto exploration? I remember that they said the auto-exploring units will abort their order the instant they reveal a barbarian.
     
  15. joncnunn

    joncnunn Senior Java Wizard Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,621
    Location:
    Missouri
    From the videos I've seen on the press preview build, that's extremely dubious. What I see is consistent with at the beginning? end? of a turn if the auto-exploring unit sees a barb that it's order gets cancelled but there's no check while it's moving.
     
  16. homan1983

    homan1983 King

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    692
    Location:
    London
    It's so sad to see people attacking players behaviour for something that should be fixed by the developers.
     
    narmox likes this.
  17. stealth_nsk

    stealth_nsk Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,513
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Novosibirsk, Russia
    Yep, that's surely need fixing.
     
  18. Mercade

    Mercade the Counsellor

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    2,636
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    This isn't a path-finding problem. It's a move problem. Path-finding is used only when you direct a unit to go hither and explore.
    The moving only happens when the unit actually moved. Then it checks if the next tile is a mountain, water or occupied.
    Currently a visible route that is later blocked by a unit (civilian, barbarian or fighter) will cause your move to be interrupted.
    Same for an auto-exploring scout when he gets near the zone of control of a barbarian brute. This is a Civ6 new feature.
    If you send a unit into the fog he won't suddenly climb mountains and he won't drown if you sent him into the ocean.
    So it should likewise be possible to stop the movement when the fog clears and there is a unit (which actually may not have been there when you directed the unit in the first place).
    This won't cost a significant processing. It should be part of the standard move checks.
     
    narmox likes this.

Share This Page