1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Unofficial BTS 3.13 patch

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by Bhruic, Oct 5, 2007.

  1. Bhruic

    Bhruic Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,457
    Update:
    • Extended spy ejection protection to Great Spies (and any other unit considered "always invisible")
    • AI Civs under Theocracy will no longer accept gifted Missionaries
    • Units withdrawing from combat will be removed from selection group (thanks Moctezuma)
    • When bumping naval units from cities, preference will be given to water tiles
    • Tweaks/bugfixes to improve starting city locations (thanks SevenSpirits)
    • Cities no longer require a Monument to allow Spies to sabotage buildings

    Bh
     
  2. obsolete

    obsolete Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,201
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Thank you very much for updating that critical spy-bug Bhruic. Now I have an excuse to start deity all over again.

    Now I wonder if there is a mod or other gui thing around which lets me see how long a spy has been fortified if I hover the mouse-icon over it. Every time I have to go through a stack I currently have to do the mission thing just to see if it's 20% or 50%, etc. Obviously this is very tedious.
     
  3. Psyringe

    Psyringe Scout

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2001
    Messages:
    3,394
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    Thanks, Bhruic, for your continuing effort to fix those pesky bugs! :thumbsup:
     
  4. Roland Johansen

    Roland Johansen Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,292
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    I wasn't expecting another update of the unofficial patch. Great work Bhruic. I was wondering what the 'Tweaks/bugfixes to improve starting city locations (thanks SevenSpirits)' means. Is it related to the extremely heavily forested starting spots with relatively few resources? I remember reading some discussion about that, but I don't know if this fix is related to that.
     
  5. Bhruic

    Bhruic Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,457
    Yeah, it's the stuff from around page 77 (I think). Combination of a couple things that should help even out starting locations without first resorting to massive forestation. That'll only come if absolutely necessary.

    Oh, and I didn't expect to be doing anything else either... But honestly, I did expect to see an official patch sooner. This is more of a stop-gap.

    Bh
     
  6. Roland Johansen

    Roland Johansen Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,292
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Ah, I've found it again. It's around post 1304 and goes on for a bit after that. It's very good that you changed this as the pure forest starts with very few food resources were a bit boring and made bronze working too important. I'll have to wait till my next game before I'll be able to enjoy these changes.

    There were a lot of people who had expected a patch by now and thus I understand that you were expecting it any day for the last few months. That's of course a bit demotivating when you're considering patching some stuff. You'll see that the patch will now arrive within a few days after this latest update. ;)
     
  7. Harrier

    Harrier Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,406
    Location:
    UK
    I doubt it. :scan:

    I am sure the patch has been ready in USA/English for many many months.:goodjob:

    But for some unknown reason, the patch has to be translated into every supported language. :confused:

    So it only needs one country (France, Germany or others etc.) who can not be bothered to do the new text translations. This indolene and apathy delays the patch to the rest of the world. :sad::sad:

    Come on Firaxis - ignore those who refuse to speak English and translate the changes. Just release a localised USA/English patch first. The way you used to do. :king::king:

    Then let the rest of the world wait for the shirkers to get their house in order. :nuke:

    The flak they get from their own people - may make them get off their backsides and do the woirk they are paid to do.

    So thanks Bhruic - for all your efforts much appreciated.
     
  8. obsolete

    obsolete Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,201
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    I just tested the fixes this evening.. I confirm so far the spy/obelisk bug is fixed. I almost couldn't believe it, I'm so used to getting screwed by that.
     
  9. Jabarto

    Jabarto Emperor

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,025
    Location:
    Colorado, U.S.
    Well, I'm glad you did it, in any case; those all-forest starts put me off BTS for a while. Much obliged.
     
  10. grumbler

    grumbler Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    In front of the screen
  11. Dagta

    Dagta Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    97
    Much thanks Bhruic!!

    I don't know if it's a bug or something that changed when I installed the BUG mod. when I have the Sistene Chapel, my religious monasteries and temples no longer display the extra +5 culture. I hope it's only a display issue and not the culture not being included.

    I had this problem before this latest version, too.
     
  12. DagHammarskjol

    DagHammarskjol Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    So just to be sure, to get the updated version of the unofficial patch, I just go to the same place I got the older version, and download the "same" (i.e. identically named) file, correct?

    Because that's what I'm doing right now.

    -Kris
     
  13. Bhruic

    Bhruic Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,457
    You should be downloading a file called "CvGameCoreDLLpatch-v1.2.zip" (the previous version was called "CvGameCoreDLLpatch-v1.11.zip").

    Bh
     
  14. Titer Bloodred

    Titer Bloodred Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Canada
    Bhruic and grumbler (for your automated installer), you two are the patching saints of Beyond the Sword. Thank you so much for your work!

    Now, a quick question: do I simply delete the old Bhruic mod folder from the Beyond the Sword/Mods folder and rename bhruic_1.2_1.03 (or something) to Bhruic and everything will work swimmingly?
     
  15. grumbler

    grumbler Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    492
    Location:
    In front of the screen
    I assume that you used my installer and want to continue a game which was started with Bhruic's previous patch? Then yes, that should work.

    (I'd suggest you don't delete the old mod folder and rename it instead, so in case of trouble, you can go back to the old version.)
     
  16. Bhruic

    Bhruic Emperor

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,457
    Update:
    • Rivers added for starting locations will generate flood plains if they pass through desert tiles
    • Spy unit help popup will display the percentage espionage cost decrease from fortification

    Bh
     
  17. Titer Bloodred

    Titer Bloodred Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Canada
    Looks like that automated installer update was TOO quick. ;)

    EDIT: Bhruic, I also noticed that the help text for Priests on the city view screen doesn't have the red text warning you what is required to make a priest citizen. Every other specialist has the red help text warning you what you need to build to have them, but Priests lack that tooltip. It's a minor bug and most people can guess what is needed to make priests, but it's just a bit annoying.
     
  18. obsolete

    obsolete Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,201
    Location:
    Planet Earth
    Woohoo!

    Re-downloading patch AGAIN.
     
  19. Mesousa

    Mesousa -8.38 -6.67

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    478
    Great to see you continue your work Bhruic, though it's sad you have to, i.e. that the official patch is taking so long.

    I think the river gets added for the river benefits (fresh water, trade routes), not to improve the overall terrain by creating flood plains, so this might not have been unintentional. Still, I like this change, it's just annoying and irritating to find those desert tiles.
     
  20. Rusten

    Rusten Deity

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    3,198
    Location:
    Oslo
    Nice! Thanks a lot Bhruic. Your effort is truly appreciated. :)
     

Share This Page