1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Unofficial Patch for 3.19

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Unofficial Patches' started by jdog5000, Jun 12, 2009.

  1. ruff_hi

    ruff_hi Live 4ever! Or die trying

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    9,049
    Location:
    an Aussie in Boston
  2. GravityWave

    GravityWave Deposed Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    290
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    According to the event log they died attacking my grenadier (screenshots attached) they also appear to attack from the forest but that could just be screwy graphics? Not sure what you mean by counter attack(?)...
     

    Attached Files:

  3. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    Regarding the Korean SoD, did they perhaps lose Open Borders with Russia and get kicked out . . . next to your city?
     
  4. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    I gave a somewhat detailed look to GravityWave save and IMHO there is definitely a bug in here....

    First things first: This is a game with 18 civs, all of them alive ATM besides Babylon, that was player #6 ( you can check this easily ). The human player is Bizantium, that is player #4. The players before #4 already played ( including England, the master to be of America )....

    When the human finishes its turn in 1714, the game goes to player #5 ( Russia ), skips #6 ( Babylon ) because it is dead, passes to #7 ( Egypt ) and so on ( I had checked friendly and enemy moves to keep track of all ).... all is normal until the ( BUG ) warning that England founded Dover and the diplo window of Lincoln ( that gets to be player #6 instead of Hammurabi of Babylon ), followed by the Rifling tech window....

    After that the game shows Egypt, ... , moving the units again and it is in this phase that the flying pikeman attacks the city and the korean Speedy Gonzalez gets to that forest. This can be checked by the Event log, that shows the mongol pike attacking in 1716, before the human move , a thing that shouldn't happen because Mongolia is suposed to play after Bizantium by the player order.

    Seeing this I decided to mark some units of various civs to check for double movement. All of the tested civs showed it, except Russia ( player #5 )....

    The conclusion I can take from this ( that will require obviously code check ) is that the game started the year 1716 playing with the newlyfounded colony ( player #6 ) instead of starting with player #0 ( England ) and that continued the order until player #17, resuming to #0,1... until the player #4 , the human, giving a effective 2 turn period in the IBT to all the AI except for poor Russia :D
     
  5. GravityWave

    GravityWave Deposed Emperor

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    290
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    England
    According to the diplo screen they have Open Borders - I guess it is possible for Peter to of cancelled the agreement and then Wang Kong resigned it, and done the same with Genghis which kicked out all the units in to the same square, enabling the Mongols to attack Adrianople.... I have no idea how to check/test this though...

    Just read r_rolo1's post, and I'm sure that's the problem. Thanks for looking in to it... at least it's an improvement over the living dead civs mucking up any chance of a diplo victory... though I can see a lot of times when this could be a game ruining, if not breaking bug.
     
  6. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    It was not that what happened, because in that case the mongols would had attacked in 1714 and not in 1716 as stated by the events log.
     
  7. MadmanAtW

    MadmanAtW Knight

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    San Leandro, CA
    So it sounds like there's a problem in 3.19's fix for spawning new colonies in games that have all the AI slots filled?
     
  8. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    I would definitely say so ......

    GravityWave, maybe it would be better to post something in the bugs forum. The firaxians are scanning that forum regularly ( even now alexman is seeing it )
     
  9. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    Did 1716 happen twice for all the AIs #6 through #18 or did #0 through #5 get skipped in 1717? My guess is that when spawning the colony there is some code that allows the new colony to move in that turn that assumes they will get the last slot. When they take an existing slot, everyone after them gets another turn.
     
  10. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    I haven't tested what happened to all the civs .... But I think that I seen a portuguese unit ( portugal plays before bizantium ) moving.... I'll test it as soon as possible.

    P.S That can't be... if that had happened, the mongols would had attacked in 1714 and not in 1716, I think....
     
  11. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    I rechecked and indeed it looks that the players #0-3 ( England, Netherlands, Portugal and rome, by that order ) have only played 1 turn in the IBT as expected.....

    So a chronology:

    -1714, end of turn for player #4 . Players 0-3 already played.....
    -1714, IBT, usual moves for the alive AI from #5 to 17
    -1714, Colony is created and it has slot #6 assigned
    -1716 - Colony plays once ( queues confirm that .... btw didn't knew that colonies also received the initial 10 hammers as the other AI in the start :p )
    -1716 - AI from #7 to 17 play, then the ball passes to #0 and from there to #3. In this period the Mongols attack Adrianopole and the koreans get to that forest. This makes the AI that ocuppy the slots between 7 and 17 to have played two turns in the human IBT. Players #0-3 and 5 only played once ( players 0-3 probably already in 1716 and 5 in 1714 )
     
  12. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    So does the year advance twice, skipping players 0-4? Or do players 6-17 get two moves in 1716? Towards the end of your chronology, you stop showing the year so it's unclear.

    Also, what player # is England who spawns the colony? If they aren't #17 (last player), do the AIs between England and the barbs get two turns or do they get skipped during the first normal set of turns?

    Finally, do the barbs get two rounds during this hiccup? They are player #18 here, right?
     
  13. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Ok.....

    England is player 0 and already played in 1714 when the human finishes it's turn. Player 6 ( the colony ) only plays once ( not sure if in 1714 or 1716 ( turns 752 and 753, respectively ... this is marathon ) ). Players 7-17 play once in 1714 ( after the human ) and another in 1716, this one before the human turn ( that is player #4, remember ) instead of being after, making them to play 2 turns in the human IBT . Players 0-3 play one turn in the human IBT ( as they should ), as well as player 5 ( also as it should be ). Haven't checked barbs....

    Between 1716 and 1718 ( the next turns ), everyone plays only one turn in the human IBT, btw.... I would say that the colony creation messes up the play order...

    I might do some more testing later, but there is a unrelated detail that stroke me: the colony has the artstyle and the flag of the dead civ ( babylon ), but not the color, that is the regular american blue. Wierd.....
     
  14. MadmanAtW

    MadmanAtW Knight

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    San Leandro, CA
    Wait, so, if you keep playing out the game from there, in the end everyone will have taken the same total number of turns- only the turn order was rearranged?
     
  15. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    I would say that it looks that way....
     
  16. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    Since England is player #0, the colony had to be created in 1716--not 1714. It sounds like when England split the colony, the "current player" jumped from #0 to #5--skipping #1-#5.

    After players #6-#17 get their turn in 1716--the second turns for them during the single IBT for the human, it goes to 1718 where players #0-#3 play and then it's the human's (#4) turn.

    It sounds like players #1-#5 got skipped in 1716, so not everyone gets the same number of turns. I wonder if this happens when the new colony isn't taking a previously-played slot.
     
  17. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    The players 0-5 are not skipped in 1716. Players 0-3 already played in 1714 and they have a extra played turn in the IBT ( in 1716, most surely ). Player 5 plays ( in 1714 ) after the human and only plays once in the IBT and has one turn played in the 1716-1718 IBT ( meaning that it played in 1716 ). The Human ( player #4 ) obviously play in both turns.
     
  18. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    Player #0 (England) surely plays in 1716 because they spawned the colony (#5), right?

    They are supposed to play in 1716, so that's not extra. They're turns during 1714 are before the human's--not in the IBT.

    Since player #5 is created by player #0 in 1716, surely it plays its turn in 1716 as well.

    Which turns do you mean by "both" given that there seem to be three turns involved here: 1714, 1716, and 1718.

    This is what I'm thinking to be the timeline, but it's getting quite confusing.

    1. 1714 starts
    2. Players 0-3 play
    3. Player 4 plays -- HUMAN TURN
    4. Dead player 5 skipped
    5. Players 6-17 play
    6. Player 18 plays -- BARB TURN
    7. 1716 starts
    8. Player 0 frees a colony; player 5 created anew
    9. Players 1-3 play -- DOES THIS HAPPEN?
    10. Player 4 skipped -- HUMAN SKIPPED
    11. Players 5-17 play
    12. Player 18 plays -- BARB TURN
    13. 1718 starts
    14. Players 0-3 play
    15. Player 4 plays -- HUMAN TURN
    The bold parts are the ones in question, and the second one (player skipped) is the problem. Is this timeline accurate?
     
  19. r_rolo1

    r_rolo1 King of myself

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,818
    Location:
    Lisbon, Portugal
    Colony is #6 . Besides that it is correct ( England even enters in anarchy )
    I never said they were extra turns ( in fact , I'm getting increasingly convinced that technically there are no extra turns played by anyone ) And technically the IBT means "in between (human) turns" :D
    Like I said above the colony is player #6. Player #5 is Russia
    I meant 1714 and 1716 in this particular regard. Sorry for the confusion. Human plays all the turns involved.
    Red text is my comments/corrections
     
  20. EmperorFool

    EmperorFool Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Messages:
    9,633
    Location:
    Mountain View, California
    So it seems that the human player #4 gets permanently moved to the end of the queue. I really don't see how this could be given the game mechanics of looping over players, but I'm not very familiar with this area of the code.
     

Share This Page