1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Use of Mods in GotM

Discussion in 'Civ6 - Game Of The Month' started by torsteinvh, Nov 30, 2016.

  1. BWS

    BWS Big Bradd Wolfe

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    @comatosedragon That's not a change; those are mods with AffectsSavedGames set to false. That feature been supported since the release of the SDK at least. It does not apply to CQUI, which leaves AffectsSavedGames set to true (the default), so you cannot add CQUI to a game in progress. Most newer UI mods set it to false, including Sukritact's work and my own Map Tacks mod.
     
    comatosedragon likes this.
  2. comatosedragon

    comatosedragon Emperor

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,125
    Location:
    Rockingham VA {616}
    Well, nuts. I got all excited for nothing.
     
  3. Lord Yanaek

    Lord Yanaek Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,495
    A few things on the subject.
    • It's perfectly possible to open a GotM saved game with CQUI enabled. I've done it for several of the previous GotM but i didn't submit them Until it's officially tolerated like EUI for Civ5 was (if it ever happens) i'd rather play with a decent UI than get the ranking. However you have to manually alter the modinfo file to add <AffectsSavedGames>0</AffectsSavedGames> This is easier if you keep the mod outside of the workshop's mod folder so steam won't auto update it (but you might be late to get improvements and bug fixes of course).
    • While it's perfectly possible to load a save created without CQUI, the mod will alter the save and i don't know if a save created with CQUI could be opened without the mod. There's a number of features that wouldn't work without storing additional information in the save game file. The ones i can think of are :
      • Production queue as mentioned by BWS
      • The mods options are stored in the saves themselves as there's no real way to store global options (a rather unpractical system which was originally my idea sort of allows it by using sql files but it's not terribly user friendly)
      • Trade routes auto-renewal mechanism have to be stored somewhere, if only the details of which TR should be auto-renewed.
    • As a result while CQUI doesn't change the way you play, apart from allowing a larger number of cities before player boredom becomes the factor limiting expansion:wallbash:, it will alter the saved games which probably is the reason they didn't add that tag. Unfortunately, there is no way to tell the game a mod allows you to open a vanilla save but you then need to keep the mod (as far as i know). It's both way or neither.
    At least since CQUI alters the saves, this could probably allow the GotM team to detect whether the mod was used unlike EUI which could be totally hidden so they can choose to allow (or tolerate) CQUI willingly rather than because they couldn't do anything about it anyway.
    As far as i'm concerned i'll keep playing with the mod even if it means i never submit a game as long as this workaround works for me.
     
    comatosedragon likes this.
  4. Lord Yanaek

    Lord Yanaek Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,495
    Such as?

    I don't think it has any meaningful impact on game mechanisms. Overflow (including cutting trees) is added to the "bank" even if you have nothing currently in production, i've cleared forested tiles to place a district there and got the production when the district started. If you add a district to the queue, you have to select it's location immediately when you add it so it's not different from placing it, starting something else and then building it when you really want it to "lock" the cost. You can't EG add a district to the queue to lock it's cost and then place it after your borders included the tile you wanted. The queue won't allow it.

    Again, i don't have any issue playing the games for fun without the ranking but i'd be extremely surprised if any feature of the mod could be used as an advantage compared to players without the mod (apart from being able to manage more cities before you want to throw your computer out the window of course :gripe:)
     
  5. BarbarianHunter

    BarbarianHunter King

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2016
    Messages:
    983
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Is the HELLBLAZERS WORLD INFO INTERFACE and the PRODUCTION QUEUE valid mods to use for future games? I have always assumed that SHOW YIELDS was harmless as well. Or should I just turn them all off for the games going forward?

    Moderator Action: Moved to appropriate thread. leif
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 4, 2018
  6. leif erikson

    leif erikson Game of the Month Fanatic Administrator Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    26,702
    Location:
    Plymouth, MA
    You guys need to understand that I do not use mods, so I have no idea what these mods are. If you think you should be able to use a mod, you need to make a case for it here. The mod cannot alter game play and be usable by others if the mod provides a significant advantage in playing the game.

    I am willing to listen but do not have time to chase down every suggestion and test it myself.
     
  7. BarbarianHunter

    BarbarianHunter King

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2016
    Messages:
    983
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Leif, thank you for switching my query to the appropriate thread and clarifying your mod position. I had either forgotten you are 100% completely mod free, or never knew. Either way, I don't need them enough to carry on with the discussion. I'll just turn them all off. I wonder if we could save time with newcomers like myself and not go through all this again by adding a large font green colored notice to the standard template reading something like: PLEASE DISABLE ALL MODS BEFORE PLAYING 6otM.

    It might also help some more seasoned 6otM players who just click and start playing, and forget that no mods are allowed in the 6otM's.
     
    Monthar likes this.
  8. leif erikson

    leif erikson Game of the Month Fanatic Administrator Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    26,702
    Location:
    Plymouth, MA
  9. lordofcivs

    lordofcivs Lord of The Civilizations

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Civland
    In Civ 3 we used to special gamemods for GOTM. Why can't this happen again in Civ 6? Can't you please test out a few mods and select one out of those best, and use it for all future GOTM, same as in the past?
     
  10. leif erikson

    leif erikson Game of the Month Fanatic Administrator Supporter GOTM Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    26,702
    Location:
    Plymouth, MA
    That is not how it worked. Mods were developed specifically for GOTM. We do not have the .dll code to allow us to do so with Civ6. Have been in contact with some of our modders and they cannot do what needs to be done without the .dll code.
     

Share This Page