1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Utility requests thread.

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Utility Programs' started by The Navy Seal, Aug 6, 2007.

  1. musicfreak

    musicfreak Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    274
    I'd really like to see a program that can merge C++ files if the modcomp authors use a certain format. For example:
    Code:
    //#START
    //...some code here...
    //#END
    Would sure make the lives of us modders a lot easier. :)
     
  2. Zebra 9

    Zebra 9 Emperor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,554
    Location:
    Middle of Cyberspace
    That wouldn't be hard, just depends on how much interface you want. I could have a small python script (you'd have to have python installed on you computer) in minutes and it would just be a prompt.
     
  3. musicfreak

    musicfreak Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    274
    Yes, I have Python installed. That would be great. :) Thanks in advance!
     
  4. Zebra 9

    Zebra 9 Emperor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,554
    Location:
    Middle of Cyberspace
    Well I hate to tell you this but I wasn't able to begin work on this despite its relative simplicity. I have spent the last few days getting ready for college. I leave tomorrow but I should be able to write it up sometime soon. ;)

    P.S this won't be able to merge code that has been changed in more then 1 altered file. For example file 1 is being merged with file 2, and function A has been altered in both file 1 and 2. This snippet will only use the file 2 version of function A. Of course if function A altered in file 1 and file 2 but neither makes changes to the same parts then it will use both. But if there is any overlap anywhere in the file it will cause the compilation to fail.
     
  5. musicfreak

    musicfreak Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    274
    Actually that's fine, I've written my own little script because I realized I needed more than just split()ing by comment lines. But thanks anyway! Have fun in college! :)
     
  6. Grumbul

    Grumbul Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    How about someone converting one of the excellent xls city planners into a small program that could read in the hexes assigned to a city from a save game file. That would cut city planning time extensively and let people realistically plan a city's future growth. Attach a way to save your plans for review and refinment would make this overly awesome.
     
  7. SomeMan

    SomeMan Modder who can't mod!

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    211
    mmm, I'd like this for Civ4:Col.
    Also: Maybe a utility to make a unit all in one screen, instead of having to run around everywhere in order to make a unit that pops like a Great General, but has different values....
     
  8. AutomatedTeller

    AutomatedTeller Frequent poster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    7,540
    Location:
    Medford, MA
    Is there a util that will take the data from the demographics charts and actually give numbers to them, in BtS? It would be nice to see what the actual values are, as opposed to 'well, it looks like my opponents are a little weaker than me' I'm especially interested in something like this for multi-player, so it's possible that this would be considered spoiler info, in which case never mind ;)
     
  9. ashley26ph2003

    ashley26ph2003 Prince

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Manila ,Philippines
    Fog of war

    To have Options to turn on or off?
     
  10. Duneflower

    Duneflower Warlord

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    SW Utah
    Uh...how about a util to convert a :bts: savefile into a WBS so you can continue the game after a patch? I lost a fun game that way... :mad:

    Edit: Would also be good for instances like I just had, where I found myself wanting to take a multiplayer game I was involved in and play a solo version. :sad: Any help here?
     
  11. Some guy

    Some guy Warlord

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    213
    A utility that enables you to edit civic effects in game; the utilities I've tried usually don't let me go far enough as I've seen some civic editors have gone.
     
  12. BTSformac

    BTSformac It Happened!!!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    a macintosh worldbuildersave editor (like MapView) would be much apreciated.

    also, this should be stickied.
     
  13. CivalGanjaman

    CivalGanjaman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Hi Guys I'm an amateur coder just messing about with XML.

    I have attached an exe that lets you modify all X and Y co-ords of all the techs in a tech tree in seconds by a chosen factor.

    I use it to let me add extra techs at the beginning by shifting all techs to end.

    To use click "Import XML" then navigate to file, it should populate the grid on the left. (this is there for no reason but to let you see its worked although you can edit the xml and use "save")

    Enter your desired X and Y shift then click shift. Wait a while depending on your pc (mine it takes 1 second) and its done. Please can someone let me know if it runs on there pc as I have Vista 64 and I not sure I have all the right setup?



    Im also looking for any other suggestions of tools regarding editing XML? such as the one in March 08 if its still wanted?


    "
    Could we get a building cost editor:
    a unit cost editor:
    a wonder cost editor:

    "
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Senap

    Senap Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    81
    It doesn't work for me, I tried importing CIV4TechInfos.xml and successfully shifted the techs by an arbitrary amount.

    Anyway, it's the saving part that doesn't work. I get an error saying that it can't find C:\Programming\Civ4XMLEditor\VB\CivEdit\CivEdit\Assets\tempXML\CLV4TechInfos2s.xml.

    The grid should be larger in order to be useable. It's a pain to scroll through all those tags and only see 1½ column at a time.

    Anyway, nice work.
     
  15. CivalGanjaman

    CivalGanjaman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    yeah that was a real rough effort I shouldn't have posted, I have a much better one created now that can do more that I will post up in a few days (must have left an absolute reference to a testing file in there) :) but thanks


    Hey a few question (on TechInfo.xml) that doesn't deserve a thread if anyone can answer (as I dont really mod myself):

    I notice that the "Description" and "Civlopedia" entry are always a variation of the tech name, should I make it auto correct these entriies based on the tech name or is there a reason that could cause trouble?

    And is there any other fields / other xml fields in other files? like that I can auto complete as you edit a field?
     
  16. civ editor11

    civ editor11 Ruler

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    U.S.
    I would like a program to combine the dlls in different mods without causing crashes
     
  17. phungus420

    phungus420 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,296
    Your request is simply not physically possible.

    In order to combine various SDK modcomps you must combine the source code yourself, and compile the merged source into a new Civ4 gamecore that combines the components you want. There is no way around this.
     
  18. MadmanOfALeader

    MadmanOfALeader Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,487
    Can we get a program that automatically creates CIV4DiplomacyInfos.xml files? Adding diplomacy text is tedious as hell.
     
  19. zellfaze

    zellfaze Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    /bin/null
    I could probably do this one.

    Would anyone mind looking through this thread and making a bulleted list of the requested utilities. Make it a lot easier to find one that you can make.

    Ok from what I have gathered the file is in the following format.

    Code:
    	<TEXT>
    		<Tag>NAME_OF_TEXT</Tag>
    		<English>This is the text in English</English>
    		<French>Ceci est le texte en français</French>
    		<German>Dies ist der Text in deutscher Sprache</German>
    		<Italian>Questo è il testo in italiano</Italian>
    		<Spanish>Este es el texto en español</Spanish>
    	</TEXT>
    
    I could write a PHP script that lets you select a title and enter the text in English. I could then likely have it use Google Translate to have it translated over to the other languages.

    EDIT:
    Contacted requester. What I had built before was not what he wanted. Therefore it has been removed from this post. I will update this post once the tool is completed again.

    Tool is completed

     
  20. nerd

    nerd Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    I am only minimally familiar with XML, so forgive this if its stupid.
    I would like to change the game length in BTS, preferably at the same time as the cost of techs would change, either separately or tied together.
    Can this be done by a simple change in a save game, say saved at year 4000bc? would the game create the required calendar?
     

Share This Page