1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Utility requests thread.

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Utility Programs' started by The Navy Seal, Aug 6, 2007.

  1. Howei

    Howei Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Near Hamburg, Germany
    the WBS-editor: can you insert injured units, put some hammers to a building and put some food into the store of a city?
    that would be :cool:
     
  2. Zebra 9

    Zebra 9 Emperor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,554
    Location:
    Middle of Cyberspace
    Well I'm limited by the World Builder Save, but I plan on having different file versions that will support unit names, city production and anything else I can think of.
     
  3. Howei

    Howei Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Near Hamburg, Germany
    :thumbsup: looking forward
     
  4. spoooq

    spoooq Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    221
    I would like a way of dumping statistics about the players Civ into a log file, preferably in CSV or XML format. Id like to see things like city pop, beakers per turn at 0% and 100% slider, and so on. I dont mind if it runs during the game (can it be kicked off with a custom button or at a set date?) or on savegame files. If anyone has a dll capable of handling the savegame format and knows if this information can be read directly from there, then Ill write the rest.
     
  5. ruepelzahl

    ruepelzahl Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    hi.

    does anyone know of a tga-editor, that doesn't make a bloody hell of a mess out of the GameFont.tga? Everything I tried out leaves the GameFont.tga crippled, if I do as much as open and save the thing without any further changes.:confused:
     
  6. NikNaks

    NikNaks Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    England
  7. ruepelzahl

    ruepelzahl Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    :(

    Thx for your efforts, but it didn't work for me. I found that just copying GameFont.tga to ...\My Games\...\res makes a complete mess of the citynames and the icons above it. No changes whatsoever, just a copy of the original.

    Making changes according to the tutorial you suggested, and placing the changed file in the original folder C:\progrmas\...\res yields correct letters in citynames but no icons whatsoever, just none, not a single one. Must have messed up something by just copying an pasting tiles, because all the letters are located before the icons. I think I call it quits due to frustration.
     
  8. NikNaks

    NikNaks Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    England
    Did you also edit GameFont75.tga ?
     
  9. ruepelzahl

    ruepelzahl Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    yep, done that.

    I think it might be a clue, that all the letters are ok, and are located before the religious icons I changed. But I really did it exactly according to the tutorial.

    In addition, just opening GameFont.tga with the BTX-thing, and saving it with "replace --- yes" shrinks the file by 26 bytes. But the smaller file is still working, albeit not in the My Games directory, but in the original location only.

    Would you agree, that this behaviour is a bug?
     
  10. NikNaks

    NikNaks Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    England
    That's really strange. Are you sure you have all the pink dots in the right place?
     
  11. SerriaFox

    SerriaFox King

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    751
    Location:
    Texas
    Vilu made a really nice technology cost editor:

    Could we get a building cost editor:
    a unit cost editor:
    a wonder cost editor:

    ??

    be really nice, :):)
     
  12. ruepelzahl

    ruepelzahl Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    I#m positively dead sure. What I did was paste a 21 x 20 area from the Gods of Old GameFont.tga over a 21 x 20 area of the original BtS GameFont.tga with carefully leaving all the green dots in place right where they were.

    Even if I should have happened to make a mistake - though I could not think of any - it remains, that just relocationg GameFont.tga from the games' original folder to the My Games folder, makes a mess out of the towns' icons. How come?
     
  13. Celebithil

    Celebithil Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    219
    I'd like a map statistics utility. Just count how many sea/ocean/grassland etc. tiles there are and what resources they contain. I want to do some testing on map scripts and right now want to know the amounts of resources (to answer questions like "how does the number of resources scale with map size?"). Manually counting the number of resources gets boring real quickly though :).

    An automated map script runner would also help here, but I don't really mind to run them myself a few times. However, given that there is a utility regenerating maps until you find a brilliant starting position, this should be possible as well, so if someone can help here I'd be grateful.
     
  14. General Tso

    General Tso Panzer General

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,547
    Location:
    U. S. of A.
    Celebithil,
    I just wrote a quick little program to do what you need. Here it is.

    It shows the amount of each Bonus, Feature, and Terrain type. With the exception of Hills and Peaks. The information for them must be stored differently. If you can tell me how they are stored, I may be able to print them also.

    Just unzip the downloaded program, open the folder, and double click on the "Map Stats" icon to start the program. Then click on the load button to load a file. Let me know if you have any problems.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. MadmanOfALeader

    MadmanOfALeader Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2,487
    Okay, folks.

    I don't need nothin' fancy here, just something that'll let me add leaderheads and Civs easily. No tinkerin' with the Pythons and the Game Rules. Just new Civs and Leaderheads. I enter the leaderhead, unit art and infos and it generates a mod for me.

    I need something that'll take away the HRE and let me add Italy, for example.
     
  16. CivalGanjaman

    CivalGanjaman Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Im eager to get started on some of these (such as above) except I dont have all the skills, I have time and determination so if anyone has good VB coding skills (esp in manipulating datasets) for a small amount of help I believe I could get quite far.

    I am currently self learning so making slow progress :(

    If you have these skills and a spare 20 min or so you could help speed me up a lot so drop me a line. I can upload my very basic code that I have so far if you reqd.
     
  17. Rixile

    Rixile Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    I would like a vanilla civ 4 utility.

    Make a simple utility that allows players to change music for certain eras.

    So i could put jazz music in modern, classical in others, etc. Make it a free thing where music styles can go anywhere, even in ancient if you want it to. Also make it so it doesn't conflict with multiplayer.
     
  18. Bigben34

    Bigben34 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    131
    Has any of you yet made a saved game editor, like the one Gyathaar had for Warlords?

    I host ongoing multiplayer epics/marathons on high difficulty levels and frequently have the need to add/remove players or change their difficulty level.

    Anyone who can design and post an update for this utility for BTS would be much appreciated.

    Bigben34
     
  19. Firestorm94

    Firestorm94 zuh?

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    895
    Location:
    In a state of confusion
    a scrollable scoreboard, for games with more than can fit on the right side of the screen, please
     
  20. Dresden

    Dresden Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,081
    ThomasSG made a scrollable scoreboard as part of his CCV mod. Never used it myself, but I've seen the pictures.
     

Share This Page