1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

v1.27

Discussion in 'Rhye's and Fall RAND' started by Rhye, Jun 7, 2010.

  1. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    Here it is. Changes are quite big, as usual.
    It's intended to be final, so keep in mind that I will ignore further suggestions. Only in case of a bug or a heavy unbalancement that makes playing impossible or frustrating, I'll keep in consideration releasing a small fix.



    download:
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=10152
    updated faq:
    http://rhye.civfanatics.net/wiki/index.php?title=Rhye's_and_Fall_of_Civilization_RAND_F.A.Q.


    CHANGES
    - Updated to RFC 1.187
    - Added “Start in 3000BC” option (active for Low and Very Low only) in Custom Game
    - Many more rivers
    - More food around starting locations
    - Improved terrain around tundra and jungle starts
    - Persia starts with 3 settlers because there is no Susa around
    - Because land type is unpredictable, requirements for Persian and Mongolian UHV are lowered to 7% and 10% of world land
    - Super-Greece starts with less units, without Hunting and The Wheel and has lowered modifiers
    - Jerusalem can’t flip on civ spawn
    - Elaboration after map generation now produces more natural shapes when separating continents (not “cut by knife” anymore). This should be especially visible on Low likeness
    - American UP is enabled when Democracy is discovered
    - Map scripts now include a check for too low landmass ratio, and add some islands
    - Spawn dates are more random: Very high is the same as RFC; High can vary of 4 turns (instead of being the same as Very high); Medium can vary of 10 turns (instead of 4); Low is semi-random (instead of 10); Very low is totally random (instead of partially random)
    ADJUSTMENTS
    - Tuned some modifiers
    - Updated city names lists
    - Reduced barbarian pressure on China, increased on Rome, Persia, Mali, Babylonia and Greece
    - Rebalanced research modifiers in favour of European crippled civs, slightly worse for Mali, Inca and Maya instead (which get better land than in RFC)
    - Smaller Greek spawn area
    - Refined flip system during both spawn and resurrection
    - Flips more likely to happen on spawn, for civs with lots of cities
    - During resurrection, flips now depend on original founder too
    - No bonus will appear on seaice
    - Disabled some time consuming debug prints
    - Adjusted European spawn areas in Very high
    - Civs starting in 3000 BC on Low and Very low start 2 random techs (Fishing more likely for coastal starts)
    - Adjusted starting techs for civs spawning in the very early game on Low and Very low
    - Mayan UP begins in Classical Age
    - Greece, Carthage and Maya won’t spawn after Medieval Age, in order to be able to use their UP
    - Egyptian UP adapts to starting date: Representation and Burocracy are granted in case of late start
    - Independent cities spawn slightly earlier in Very low; applied to Low too
    - Wine and Silk swapped when on plains, on High and Very high
    FIXES
    - Fixed assignment of key resources near starting locations
    - Contacts bug fixed again
    - Improved code about unit flips
    - Christianity founding bug fixed; thanks to Fierabras
    - Barbarian units won’t spawn on seaice
    - Cheap settler bug somehow fixed
    - Spawn in very small islands should be less common on very low
    - Fixed bug of camera not centered on Egyptian units at start of very low
    - Fixed wrong culture count on Very low
    - Rebalanced worker speed on Very low
    - Fixed python exception
     
  2. MrBanana

    MrBanana Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    380
    Location:
    Toronto
    Nice... fixed the river problem. I like the more varying spawn dates too.
     
  3. nody

    nody Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Noviomagus, Batavia
    Rhye venit, vidit quod victum.

    Gratias ago vos! :worship:
     
  4. Fierabras

    Fierabras Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,114
    Thank you very much for all your hard work, Rhye.
     
  5. Niksu

    Niksu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Finland
    Got this error during american auto-play in very high
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Fierabras

    Fierabras Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,114
    Rhye, I noticed Greece now starts with 1 settler instead of 2. I advocated balancing Greece, but the 3 adjustments together might be a bit too much:

    - Super-Greece starts with less units, without Hunting and The Wheel and has lowered modifiers
    - Jerusalem can’t flip on civ spawn
    - Smaller Greek spawn area

    I consider the no-Jerusalem-flip the most important one and it might be enough to balance Greece.
     
  7. Barak

    Barak Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,494
    Location:
    Chicago
    Game as dutch on very low likelihood never received workers (start date 950BC)
     
  8. AnotherPacifist

    AnotherPacifist Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,878
    Still too many mountains in Europe in very high likeness.
    And Spain is, well, still too big, compared to France and Germany.

    :D
     
  9. AnotherPacifist

    AnotherPacifist Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,878
    Um, are the Egyptians supposed to have Bureaucracy in 1300 BC (in very low)? (I see Monarchy and Slavery enabled, but Bureaucracy was also an option)
    Or is Rhye weighing in on the Civil Service debate? :lol:

    Addendum: using Monarchy, Bureaucracy and Slavery I've built ALL the classical wonders up before 1AD. (my capital is a desert city but has stone and marble) And all the wonders up till Statue of Liberty. This is in monarch BTW.
    Probably the only game that I've founded or captured the 6/7 religions and won a religious victory in very low before 1900.
     
  10. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    please read the log or the pedia about Egyptian UP. In case of late start, free civics have to be replaced. In your case, you already had Bronze Working, so the free civic became Burocracy instead of Slavery
     
  11. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    as for the python exception, please use this file:
     

    Attached Files:

  12. nody

    nody Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    Noviomagus, Batavia
    What do you mean by this?
     
  13. AnotherPacifist

    AnotherPacifist Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,878
    Wow, 1300 BC isn't such a late start, and as I said, I got free Monarchy/Slavery, but Bureaucracy was an option I could switch to (it wasn't enabled). That's really powerful for a "Classical" civ starting around 1300 BC.
     
  14. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    otherwise, which civic would you grant? Keep in mind that the UP should be simple - I didn't intend to remake a complex mechanic. It could have been serfdom, but it's enabled by feudalism. So, for a Medieval Egyptian start, serfdom too must be replaced.
     
  15. AnotherPacifist

    AnotherPacifist Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,878
    Well, monarchy and slavery are civics enabled by techs that are enabled by techs just 1 era beyond the starting era. What if you enable two extra civics that just 1 era beyond your current era: e.g.
    1300 BC to 200 BC: HR and slavery enabled but allow bureaucracy as an option
    200 BC to 400 AD: HR and slavery enabled but allow bureaucracy and serfdom
    400AD-1450AD (medieval), bureaucracy and representation but don't get the techs
    1450AD-1700 AD, bureaucracy and representation (and the techs) and enable US and free speech (but not the techs)
    1700AD and beyond: police state and nationhood are available
     
  16. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
    isn't it overly complicated? How would you detailedly describe the power in one line...?
     
  17. AnotherPacifist

    AnotherPacifist Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,878
    The power of Pharaoh: you get the next generation civics...lol
    But seriously, having Bureaucracy in 1300 BC is like having a supercity in the ancient times that can outproduce any other civ, if your capital is well endowed.
     
  18. Jusos2108

    Jusos2108 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,698
    You are right that it is powerful, but so is, for example, the Greek UP on the classical era and the German UP on the industrial era. So what I am saying is that it isn't over-powered, because it only benefits you for one era.
     
  19. KMRblue1027

    KMRblue1027 The Crown!

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,087
    Location:
    Hamilton, NJ
    I wasn't a major fan of RAND b4 but you've really outdone yourself Rhye. The ability to spawn as anyone at 3000 BC on low was your greatest idea ever. Now there's no 50 min wait for America just to have a crap spawn. The sad thing is that I like RAND more then regular RFC now. Oh well... I'm sad to see you leave Civ 4 but good luck in your future projects and have good good summer :D
     
  20. AnotherPacifist

    AnotherPacifist Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,878
    There seems to be a bug with China--starts with more settlers than others?--I got 2 in the early 3rd millenium BC.

    But the remarkable thing about this game, if you look in the logs, is how I got conquerors in BC, and not just one set, but multiple ones (Inca, Persia, Russia, Vikings, America, Greece, Babylonia) which allowed me to win a superearly domination victory, with Indians, Mongols, Persians, Russia and Vikings as vassals.
    In real life the Chinese regarded nearly all other civs as "barbarians.":lol:
    Maybe conquerors should be disallowed until the discovery of optics.
     

Share This Page