1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

What about allow cities work 4 tiles away from some tech\building?

Discussion in 'Community Patch Project' started by bigcat88, Aug 18, 2017.

?

Does we need such think?

  1. Yes

    7 vote(s)
    17.9%
  2. No

    32 vote(s)
    82.1%
  1. bigcat88

    bigcat88 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Messages:
    630
    Gender:
    Male
    I saw many times when some resources(fish\attols\some sheep\etc) are 4 tiles away from your city, and there is not always a way to build a city there(no more space, or some terrain trouble). And it is terrible.
    So I think that there will be a good solution to add some building in industrial era or during some tech in that era to allow cities work one tile more.
    I know that there is a mod allowing that, but it's unbalanced I think(he modifies Hanging Gardens and imperialism branch as I remember) and I want to see such change without mods.

    And what do u think? Will such change add some troubles or some unbalance? What cons of such change can appear?
     
    balinte likes this.
  2. SLGray

    SLGray Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    823
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    United Sates
    Well does not the resource fall in the city radius when its borders expand?
     
  3. tu_79

    tu_79 Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,227
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    Why is it terrible? You are still working a 3 tiles radius. Resources, like SLGray says, can be acquired, only not worked. Just missing a fish here and there is not reason enough. Not really needed.

    But I also see potential problems. If the expected radius of a city working tiles is 4, some players would try to play hyper tall, leaving not 6 but 8 tiles between cities. A tradition player succeeding with this strategy might be too strong for the current balance.
     
  4. bigcat88

    bigcat88 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Messages:
    630
    Gender:
    Male
    Ok, looks like it's only my problems - I just cant look at tiles with some res that cant be worked.
    Just too greedy :D
     
  5. StugLife

    StugLife Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    I´d like that too but only for one city challenge. Not sure if it´s even possible for player only though.
     
    phantomaxl1207 likes this.
  6. Asterix Rage

    Asterix Rage Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    875
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2017
    vyyt likes this.
  7. Jarula

    Jarula Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2016
    Messages:
    680
    Gender:
    Male
    How about as a Pantheon, or a policy?

    The imperialism finisher?
     
  8. LukaSlovenia29

    LukaSlovenia29 Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    1,500
    I think it would bring too many balance problems, open the question of suitability of the minimal distance required between cities as of now, and ultimately not resolve the main crux of the issues, i.e. that sometimes even with the best planing some tiles will remain unworkable by any city.
     
  9. bigcat88

    bigcat88 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2016
    Messages:
    630
    Gender:
    Male
    That's why I say about building or tech in Industrial era, not earlier. Till industrial era, u will get an enemy city between ur cities if u place it far then usual. So u cant just go tall that way, u will get all cities separated )
     
  10. Valvts

    Valvts A Plant

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    268
    Maybe a wonder or a special civ ability that will make you use 4 tile distance! That could be interesting.
     
  11. Beniito

    Beniito Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    106
    Indian cities can work an additional tile~
    Hanging garden allows you to work an additional tile (only in the city in which it is built)
     
  12. Gazebo

    Gazebo Lord of the Community Patch

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17,168
    Location:
    Aquidneck Island
    If you use the whoward mod.
     
  13. balinte

    balinte Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    63
    If its easy to code I don't see why not, in industrial or atomic.(if there already is a mod ?)
    And it could be only naturally acquired (or other cities) tiles so America doesnt get disgusting.

    +Much real
     
  14. tu_79

    tu_79 Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,227
    Location:
    Malaga (Spain)
    Because not everybody likes this feature, so it goes better as a modmod.
     
    Skidizzle and vyyt like this.
  15. balinte

    balinte Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    63
    k..

    Apart from not a single rational counterargument being in the thread(only yours maybe) so far,
    I can see that 20 ppl voted against it, also without commenting whats the problem with it.

    But the potential problems you presented are also, at least, very unlikely. (If you started getting the more radius in, for example industrial by a tech.)
    That I dont feel I really need to elaborate, its just soo minor impact realistically.

    The pros are mostly those that its a little bit more real.
    Allows a little bit more micromanaging between cities late game.
    In the tundra with your ****** city you can get that oil + Now Work it too.

    Or maybe im missing stg
    And again its just based on my experience and placing like 1/10 of your cities 1 tile away so you Can work like +1 tile starting in industrial really is

    ? Not a reason enough for what? To code?
     
  16. Gazebo

    Gazebo Lord of the Community Patch

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    17,168
    Location:
    Aquidneck Island
    Let me give you one big reason. Performance. Adding another ring of tiles around a city would be a massive performance hit.
     
  17. balinte

    balinte Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2016
    Messages:
    63
    That seems fair. Im okay with it now, so ty.
     
  18. Enginseer

    Enginseer Salientia of the Community Patch Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,202
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Somewhere in California
    That's why I prevented cities from expanding 5 tiles out of their tile, but only four.
     
  19. Boombar

    Boombar Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Mod is already included in VP. You just need to change the values in CustomModTables
    <Name>MAXIMUM_WORK_PLOT_DISTANCE</Name>
    <Value>3</Value> (maximum 5)

    I ve been playing with 4 rings per city and i didn't see any difference performance wise. Regarding balance, its a bit OP if you play america. Other than that , its fine.
     
  20. Moi Magnus

    Moi Magnus Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,798
    I am one of those "against without comment". It wasn't a strong disagreement, or any reason against. It was just a "not interested". I have no problems against having this mechanism given to a Civ, a tenet or policy, or anything, but I don't see any good reason to give it to everyone, since the current situation is good to me.
     
    tu_79 and vyyt like this.

Share This Page