1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

While you wait for Civ5...

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rhye's and Fall of Civilization' started by Rhye, Sep 18, 2010.

  1. corovanrobber

    corovanrobber King

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    619
    Location:
    Germany
    Well, as I see Civ5 structure is very similiar to Civ4, so new civs would be very easily to be added. Only two problems are leaderheads and voices for them, but who cares - static images IMO are ok for early placeholders, aren't they? Maybe RFC for civ5 would start already with Spain, Mongolia, Netherlands, Portugal, Scandinavia and even more, why not? ;)
     
  2. SalmonSoil

    SalmonSoil Prince

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    Kaels celts mod uses a Boudicia from civ 4. However he uses barbarian skins for the Uniqu Units so I don't know what you'd do there.
     
  3. SalmonSoil

    SalmonSoil Prince

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    Ok, I've started a game on the huge Earth map, I'm pretty sure it's the same size as the RFC map but it feels bigger. It also looks a lot more like Earth.
    I started in the middle of the Amazon so I havn't had a chance to see Europe yet. I'm expecting Europe will need to be enlarged.
    I feel I would be able to play RFC on this map.
     
  4. There will have to be more civ's otherwise it's just not gonna work.
     
  5. SalmonSoil

    SalmonSoil Prince

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    It worked in vanilla civ 4. But yes more civs is nice, but I don't think we need them right away when we have city states as placeholders.
     
  6. TimeShifter

    TimeShifter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
    Russia
    Vanilla civ4 had Spain :p
     
  7. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,488
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    But it didn't have Portugal and Netherlands, but they were still there.
     
  8. warhead66

    warhead66 Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Spain is the least of my worries... What about asia? with china only competing with Siam it will be big trouble in little siberia within the middle ages


    china was always the biggest problem in all earth maps in civ4 besides rhyes (cause rhye doesn't make crapmaps). Within 1300 China was HUGE, and had a military that could take out anyone. Spain can be replaced by a flag or something similar, as long as there is a unique unit and building the animation doesn't matter. but China has to have a roof.. and preferably a Yurt roof.. ;)
     
  9. Úmarth

    Úmarth Megalomaniac

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,184
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Of all the civs missing from Civ V I think Mongolia is the one to be least worried about. The Eurasian nomads have always been better represented as barbarians. Having this Mongol superpower occupying a third of Asia in 1900 AD is one of the biggest absurdities of RFC. Waves of steppe invaders should pop up around their historical dates (Huns, Turks, Mongols, Manchus), pose a severe risk of collapsing nearby civs, then disappear.
     
  10. LuKo

    LuKo The Royal Guard

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Poland
    Missing civilizations is the last thing to be worried about. In Rhye we trust.
     
  11. Leoreth

    Leoreth Prince of Blood Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34,488
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    House of Hades
    The Rhye giveth, the Rhye taketh away :crazyeye:
     
  12. Úmarth

    Úmarth Megalomaniac

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,184
    Location:
    United Kingdom
  13. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,580
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    can't say the same about vanilla Civ5 though.
     
  14. 2phunkey4u

    2phunkey4u West-Eastern Divan

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    way out west
    About the cities again: have one in North America this time to spice up play as Aztecs and colonizers, possibly Cahokia (700AD or 1000AD)
     
  15. SalmonSoil

    SalmonSoil Prince

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    Correct me if I'm wrong but didn't the Mississipi culture die out due to European plagues with out ever meeting any of the civs that would be featured in RFC?
    Mayan cities are about all we can get for the Aztecs.
     
  16. haleu

    haleu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    I would like to see a Siam surrounded by city states so that they can put their unique power to use. Aside from the obvious Pagan and Singapore, maybe a Jakarta city state?

    Same goes for Greece. Maybe include a Cretan city state so that the Greek expansion routes are not too clogged up.
     
  17. Úmarth

    Úmarth Megalomaniac

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,184
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Yes. More importantly, they weren't a civilization. If you were to represent every archaeologically-attested chiefdom as a civ/city state, the actual civilizations would have nowhere to expand. Europe would be literally full of them from before the game even starts. Besides, what do you call the cities, units, leaders, etc. of cultures that there are no written records of? "Cahokia" is the name of a 17th century Illiniwek clan that happened to live in the general area of the mound. Having a city called that in the 10th century would be like calling Carthage "Banu Hilal".
     
  18. killerkebab

    killerkebab Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    We could always change the UPs....
     
  19. SalmonSoil

    SalmonSoil Prince

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    358
    Agreed, changing or at least modifying UPs would allow us to control how certain civs excel at certain things. But the AI coding would need to be changed to deal with it (The AIs are coded to make use of their UPs, arn't they?)
     
  20. haleu

    haleu Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Let me rephrase then: Greece should have lots of city states because it's Greece.
     

Share This Page