1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Whole Empire challenge

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Rhye's and Fall of Civilization' started by Lokolus, Nov 11, 2007.

  1. killerkebab

    killerkebab Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    571
    I always thought the UHVs were designed in a way that you had to take your civ to slightly greater heights than it really achieved in history - i.e: As Germany take all of Europe.

    Has anyone managed a full USSR empire?
     
  2. AnotherPacifist

    AnotherPacifist Deity

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,878
  3. BurnEmDown

    BurnEmDown Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718
    Sorry, he didn't get enough Polish lands, doesn't count ;)
     
  4. Tibur753

    Tibur753 Leigonary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    513
    Here is alexander's empire minus india in turn 119 (325BC). I got pretty unlucky with Persia and was losing a lot of battles at good odds (I don't reload.). If I try again, I might be able to get it about ten turns earlier and take part of India, too.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. blizzrd

    blizzrd Micromanager

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,738
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    What did you do with your second settler? Did it found Alexandraeia? Why not Chalkedon (personal favourite), or at least Byzantion?
     
  6. Tibur753

    Tibur753 Leigonary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    513
    I was playing a game as Greece and not going for the UHV so I didn't found Chalkedon because it would flip to the the Turks before I had a chance to take them out as soon as they spawn. Otherwise, I normally would have founded it as it is an excellent production city. Now that you mention that I might try another with Chalkedon and see how early I can get it. I expect that it should almost double the amount of phalanxes I could use against Persia.
     
  7. Tibur753

    Tibur753 Leigonary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    513
    I just finished another game for Alexander the Great's Empire. This time I used Chalkedon and was able to conquer Persia on turn 102(580BC) and pushed on to India, taking Harrapa (Talkshashila) in turn 114(400BC) and thus reaching the banks of the Indus river as Alexander did. I don't think that I was particularly lucky in this game either. With the help of Chalkedon, I had a modest stack of ten phalanxes before Persia had the time to amass much of a defense other then their starting units and they only had three cities. I healed my army for a few turns and sent a stack of about ten phalanxes (reinforcements arrive every other turn or so.) to attack Harrapa. The RNG really screwed me here because they only had 2 archers and a warrior and they beat my whole stack. I eventually was able to take the city with the few reinforcements that I could get there as my units were on strike and Rome had declared war near the end.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. BurnEmDown

    BurnEmDown Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718
    Funny tho, that in both games you didn't settle Macedon :).
     
  9. Hangly Man

    Hangly Man Warlord

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    247
    You mean attack Ethiopia and lose?
     
  10. Rhye

    Rhye 's and Fall creator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Messages:
    9,468
    Location:
    Japan / South America
  11. ezinter

    ezinter Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Another thing with the Mongol empire is razing or vassalizing SE Asia, sacking of Delhi, and controlling Damascus, vassalizing or controling Ottoman Turkey (Timur saved Byzantium by capturing Ottoman Sultan) also invasions towards Egypt and Vienna
     
  12. kairob

    kairob Biohazard

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Messages:
    3,082
    Location:
    The North
    I still think Mongols would be best represented, in the west, at least as a huge horde of barbs followed by a code x turns later flipping all barb units and cities to the Mongol civ. As at least the barbs are violent enough...
     
  13. Cethegus

    Cethegus King

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    922
    Location:
    Finland
    I agree.
     
  14. xcrissxcrossx

    xcrissxcrossx Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    314
    Location:
    Indiana
    I've gotten close with portugal. I colonized most of the empire except for the two spots by thailand and the smaller islands, and newfoundland. I wasn't actually going for this challenge though so i quit after i got 15 colonies.
     
  15. CivFanaticMan

    CivFanaticMan Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    249
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    I would like to see some one achieve a historical Rome size by 200 A.D. This means all the area from the UHV and Egypt, Greece, Anatolia, and Mesopotamia. First person to do it gets... I guess a lot of pride. When i get BTS in a few days I'm going to try it.
     
  16. BurnEmDown

    BurnEmDown Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,718
    I think it's been done in the BC's already.
     
  17. lumpthing

    lumpthing generic lump

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2004
    Messages:
    781
    Location:
    Lumpinium, England
    Been talking about that very subject myself

    I've been trying to get the 14 AD historical Roman empire size by 14 AD. Pretty much impossible, but you can close enough to make you keep trying, and trying, and trying. I've now realized it was an addiction which was destroying my life so I've given up.
     
  18. Zagoroth

    Zagoroth Prince

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    552
    It depends on what you are trying to do. If you want to control all their land it is quite easy and I have numerous times written the strategy on this forum. If you want to have your cultural borders cover all the land they historically owned, it is much harder (and possibly impossible).
     
  19. BakingTheArt

    BakingTheArt His Evening Coat

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    845
    Location:
    A two-story box
    I played a game a few days ago as England where I settled:
    South Canada: Montreal, Halifax, Vancouver, and something somewhere in Manitoba - possibly Winnipeg.
    South Africa: Durban, Cape Town, and East London
    Australia: I settled it, but not filled it out - Sydney, Perth, Darwin (I think), and Hobart
    Most of India: All I can really remember is Madras, sorry. I did conquer Bombay, though. Redcoats just marched in the undefended city
    Parts of South China: I brought too many redcoats to just protect Australia, and the French were tired of supporting me, so I needed some quick pillaging cash. I razed a city in the south and captured Hangzhou (My income actually went up with it due to a grocer, market, and a bank miraculously surviving).

    At this point I was planning on invading Egypt to finish it off, but my troops began to go on strike around 1850 so I called it off to grant independence to everything but South Africa and Australia, which brought me back up to running a profit at 30%. So, I was close.
     
  20. ICNP

    ICNP The Third Superpower

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    772
    Location:
    Missile Silo
    My Ottoman Empire (Monarch) contained Berlin, Rome, Brest Litovsk, Kilia, Athens, Parsa, a city NE of Parsa, Mecca, Trebizond, and I USED to own Egypt until they respawned. Plus Inca as a vassal.

    And I STILL didn't get the UHV (I have no idea which one they faulted me on, I had Montenegro and Budapest in Balkans, 3 cities bordering the Black Sea, and there wasn't any other cities outside of southern Arabia that I didn't own in the Near East. Although I wasn't looking forward to getting 3 vassals with all of the good ones picked up.
     

Share This Page