1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Why are Huge maps so SMALL?

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - General Discussions' started by VladTepes, Nov 8, 2008.

  1. VladTepes

    VladTepes Clown Prince of Wallachia

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    452
    It seems to me that Huge maps in Col seem to be the size of Standard in regular Civ4, I'd hate to see what Tiny looks like.... :eek:
     
  2. Onionsoilder

    Onionsoilder Reaver

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,173
    Try the Faireweather mapscript. Download it in the mod files section(though it itself is not a mod)
     
  3. dalgo

    dalgo Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,425
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
  4. AsnoT

    AsnoT Mostly Civilized

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    227
    Location:
    Austria
    because fireaxis decided to make civ4 in 3d, which costs so much cpu power und ram space that maps had to be shrunk. civ3 could do huge maps, civ4 can't. there were quite a few discussions of this when civ4 came out, in which people critisizing the small maps were basically told they were a) wrong and b) idiots by the map designer for fireaxis.

    i gave up discussing problems with civ4 after that.
     
  5. dalgo

    dalgo Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,425
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand

    I initially thought the reason for the small maps might be because of some system restrictions, and perhaps it does for the minimum requirements, but my PC just meets the stated 'recommended system requirements' and I have had no problems playing on the enlarged map so far (although I haven't invited the REF over to play yet).
     
  6. i_diavolorosso

    i_diavolorosso Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    446
    Honestly, it's big enough for me.Because in col i don't need to much space.Just about 6 or 7 colonies is what i need.Not like CIV where i expand my empire all over the map
     
  7. Buligo

    Buligo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    I agree. In Colonization the player is not encouraged to develop a huge empire, on the contrary: the Rebel Sentiment % formula is a wicked bastard that plants a bug in your head saying 'keep small! keep small!' :)
    And why bother with huge empires at all? The time (turns) is limited (can be made unlimited easily tho), the whole issue with the rampaging size of the REF says clearly: keep small, build fast or else...
    I tried once to build one 12-cities colony, and all i got was a headache because the transport automation stopped working and i was literally swamped with useless colonial goods i had no use of, being my tax rate at like 95% or something. And, when the REF landed, the only ones that actually died on my side were the pressed petty criminals and indentured servants, since they were enough to stop the REF. So, it felt really weird: huge pression to build Liberty Bells superfast to keep the REF as small as possible, and at the end, the huge REF itself failed to annihilate me because my bigott ex-king failed to send his whole force at once at me. He had 20+ mOW's of which only 2 or 3 were actually landing troops per each turn.
    So, what the heck: stay small, build fast and live your short lifespan in high spirits. Everything else is considered by the game an 'unwanted deviation' :)
     
  8. dalgo

    dalgo Emperor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,425
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    It just depends how you like to play the game. I really enjoy exploration, trading and colony management so a huge map suits me best. I usually have 8-10 colonies fully developed by independence around 1710.
     
  9. vsipinen

    vsipinen Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    233
    However because the maps are so small, the entire map is usually explored much before the game ends. Wouldn't it be more interesting, if the would still be totally unexplored land (with unvisited villages and ancient ruins) even, when the game ends ? That way the scouts would not become useless after the beginning of the game and excitement of the exploration would last until the end of the game.
     
  10. Jeckel

    Jeckel Great Reverend

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,637
    Location:
    Peoria, IL
    I generally play on 128 by 80 sized maps and usually don't make more then 3 colonies. If you like exploration and meeting Natives, then it is a huge blast.
     
  11. i_diavolorosso

    i_diavolorosso Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    446
    :p
    I tell you my secret
    In col, i never explore my map(the land especially).There are much more importing thing to do.If i got scout from Europe, i always change it profession:lol:
     
  12. Supr49er

    Supr49er 2011 Thunderfall Cup

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,603
    Location:
    Bear Flag Republic
    Wow. You're missing out on a lot of :gold:, treasure, and exploration points. :eek:
     
  13. Buligo

    Buligo Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    29

    True, but, raking in huge numbers of treasures on a huge continent with a couple explorers is a bit cheesy, since the AI is usually rather inept at gathering treasures. :)
     
  14. Antilogic

    Antilogic --

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    15,602
    It's just like the HRE when BtS came out. Every single Civ incarnation has had an acrimonious point amongst the old players (except, of course, the first one). Fortunately, this is one of those problems that can be fixed in a half-hour or so (turn on single-unit graphics, lower the aliasing, and make a custom giant size).

    Of course, guys like me (who have RL from hell) only get to play a few hours a week...in that case, small maps work just fine. ;)
     
  15. i_diavolorosso

    i_diavolorosso Prince

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    446
    Yeah i guess it's the reason why does i never got a FF with exploration trait:lol:
     
  16. onedreamer

    onedreamer Dragon

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,580
    Location:
    Torino - Italia
    because it's not Civ, your cities have 8 workable tiles and therefore huge maps are really HUGE because you will end up having several cities that you actually didn't even need to have; or end up having a lot of unsettled space.
     
  17. Bluetooth

    Bluetooth King

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    379
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Sweden
    I’ve only played for a couple of weeks but always on the Western Hemisphere Huge map and it’s certainly big enough.
     
  18. vsipinen

    vsipinen Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    233
    Why should all space be settled at the end of the game ? I would prefer that the unexplored land would not ever run out.
     

Share This Page