Why not the best of every game?

One hit poster

Chieftain
Oh hi.

Since this is my 1st post, allow me to introduce myself: I'm fairly new to this. Started with CIV4. Tried CIV5. Switched back to 4 and added BTS and the Varietas Delectat mod. I still play on the easier levels (and I still find them challenging); I'm an awful planner, but I enjoy the game. I come here for advice/explanations every now and then. I always find answers, so kudos to you all.

I don't want to trigger the nth discussion here about how much CIV5 sucks (or doesn't); I just thought it was a different game and decided I liked CIV4 better. But it was a hard choice.

That said, I wanted to bring this up, just for the sake of argument. Seeing how the CIV4 gamestyle is preferred by so many but how CIV5 was all slick and cool (I LOVED the looks) and had some uncontroversial features (I've read few if any complaints over the hexes)... I was wondering, how difficult/cool would it be to have a CIV4.5 game? Like, a CIV5 mod downgraded to CIV4 rules?

By 'how difficult' I mean compared to some complex mods I've seen around. I think that adding new units and leaders that require art and animation is difficult and time-consuming. On the other hand, adding civ4 civics to civ5, to name one thing, is a major change in the rules requiring mostly coding and playtesting. I don't mean to underestimate how difficult and time-consuming coding is (please don't be offended); I am clearly no programmer. I just wonder, how hard it would be? Has it been attempted? Just asking.